Canada and the World Bank

The World Bank Group's (WBG) mission is two-fold; (i) to end extreme poverty at the global level within a generation and (ii) promote what may be called “shared prosperity”: a sustainable increase in the well-being of the poorer segments of society. The WBG is made up of five institutions that collectively operate as One World Bank Group. They are:

Together, these organizations provide low-interest loans, interest-free credits and grants to developing countries for investments in education, health, public administration, infrastructure, financial and private sector development, agriculture, and environmental and natural resource management.

In addition to general management and regional divisions, the World Bank is structured with 14 Global Practices and 5 Cross-Cutting Solutions Areas in order to best address issues and find solutions in specific sectors.

Global Practices include Agriculture; Education; Energy and Extractives; Environment and Natural Resources; Finance and Markets; Governance; Health, Nutrition and Population; Macroeconomics and Fiscal Management; Poverty; Social Protection and Labour; Social, Urban, Rural and Resilience; Trade and Competitiveness; Transportation and Information and Communication Technologies; and Water.

Cross-Cutting Solutions Areas include Climate Change; Fragility; Conflict and Violence; Gender; Jobs; and Public-Private Partnerships.

Canada's support for the World Bank Group

Canada is a founding member of the WBG, which has 188 member countries. Canada is the seventh largest shareholder in the WBG and holds a permanent seat on the 25-member Board of Directors. The Canadian Executive Director represents a constituency that includes, in addition to Canada, Ireland and the Commonwealth Caribbean countries. Canada provides significant funding for joint donor programs with the WBG, often in fragile or conflict-affected states.


From 2011 to 2013, with the support of Canada and other donors, the WBG helped:

Related links

Date Modified: