Canada and the Pacific Alliance

The Pacific Alliance is a regional initiative created in 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru that seeks the free movement of goods, services, capital and people. The purpose of the Alliance is to promote greater competitiveness and economic growth for member countries, as well as to expand economic relations with the Asia-Pacific region.

Canada has been actively deepening its engagement with the Alliance since becoming an observer in 2012. This spans the June 2016 Canada-Pacific Alliance Joint Declaration on Partnership and three cooperation projects worth more than $21 million over five years.

In June 2017, Canada was among the first countries invited, along with Australia, New Zealand and Singapore, to become an Associate Member of the Pacific Alliance.

The Pacific Alliance

The Pacific Alliance is not only a platform of commercial integration, but also develops common objectives and shares best practices in a number of areas, such as:

The four members have opened joint trade promotion offices, and participate together in trade shows around the world. In 2015, all four countries’ stock exchanges were integrated into a common market known as MILA.

With a combined GDP of almost $2.3 trillion, and more than 220 million inhabitants, the Pacific Alliance constitutes an important market for Canada.

Of the 52 observers of the Pacific Alliance, Canada is considered one of the most active in developing dynamic and productive ties with the Pacific Alliance.

Canada-Pacific Alliance Joint Declaration on Partnership

The Joint Declaration identifies six areas for increased cooperation:

Canada-Pacific Alliance cooperation projects

In June 2016, Canada announced three cooperation projects with the Pacific Alliance to support the Joint Declaration. Valued at more than $21 million over five years, these projects focus on:

Canada-Pacific Alliance commercial relations

Canada has comprehensive and ambitious free trade agreements with all four Pacific Alliance members. Canada also has an important presence in these countries with $49.6 billion of Canadian direct investment abroad (CDIA) in 2016. That is approximately 19% of the total investment abroad for the Latin American and Caribbean region.

Canada’s total merchandise trade with Pacific Alliance countries reached $48 billion in 2016, representing more than 75% of Canada’s two-way trade with this region.

The extractive sector represents a particularly important sector for Canadian companies in Pacific Alliance countries, with $49.0 billion of Canadian mining assets in 2015 (28.7% of all Canadian mining assets abroad). In 2015, Canada hosted a delegation of government officials from Pacific Alliance countries for an extractive sector study tour, to support the development and maintenance of their regulatory frameworks. The tour also promoted Canada as a partner of choice in responsible mineral development and demonstrated Canada’s commitment to deepening its ties with the Pacific Alliance in this sector.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Alliance du Pacifique

L’Alliance du Pacifique est une initiative régionale créée en 2011 par le Chili, la Colombie, le Mexique et le Pérou visant la libre circulation des biens, des services, des capitaux et des personnes. L’objectif de l’Alliance est d’accroître la compétitivité et la croissance économique de ses pays membres, ainsi que d’élargir ses relations commerciales avec la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Le Canada renforce activement son engagement auprès de l’Alliance du Pacifique depuis qu’il en est devenu un observateur en 2012. Ceci comprend la Déclaration conjointe sur un partenariat entre le Canada et l’Alliance du Pacifique en juin 2016 et trois projets de coopération d’une valeur supérieure à 21 millions de dollars sur cinq ans.

En juin 2017, le Canada a été parmi les premiers pays invités à devenir état associé de l’Alliance du Pacifique, aux côtés de l’Australie, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et de Singapour.

Alliance du Pacifique

L’Alliance du Pacifique n’est pas seulement une plateforme d’intégration commerciale. Elle permet également d’établir des objectifs communs et de partager des pratiques exemplaires dans un certain nombre de domaines tels que :

Les quatre membres ont ouvert des bureaux commerciaux conjoints et participent ensemble à des foires commerciales à travers le monde. En 2015, les marchés boursiers des quatre pays ont été regroupés dans un marché commun, désigné sous le nom de MILA.

Grâce à un produit intérieur brut combiné de près de 2,3 billions de dollars et plus de 220 millions d’habitants, l’Alliance du Pacifique constitue un marché important pour le Canada.

Parmi les 52 pays observateurs de l’Alliance du Pacifique, le Canada est considéré comme l’un des pays les plus actifs à tisser des liens dynamiques et productifs avec l’Alliance du Pacifique.

Déclaration conjointe sur un partenariat entre le Canada et l’Alliance du Pacifique

La déclaration conjointe définit six domaines de collaboration accrue :

Projets de coopération du Canada avec l’Alliance du Pacifique

En juin 2016, le Canada a annoncé trois projets de coopération avec l’Alliance du Pacifique pour appuyer la Déclaration conjointe. Évalués à plus de 21 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, les projets portent sur :

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Alliance du Pacifique

Le Canada a conclu des accords de libre-échange ambitieux et exhaustifs avec les quatre membres de l’Alliance du Pacifique. Le Canada a aussi une présence importante dans ces pays avec en 2016 49,6 milliards de dollars d’investissement direct canadien à l’étranger (IDCE). Ceci représente environ 19 % de l’ensemble des investissements à l’étranger pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes.

Le commerce de marchandises du Canada avec les pays de l’Alliance du Pacifique totalisait 48 milliards de dollars en 2016, représentant plus de 75 % des échanges bilatéraux du Canada avec la région de l’ALC.

Le secteur de l’extraction constitue un secteur particulièrement important pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les pays de l’Alliance du Pacifique, avec 49 milliards de dollars d’actifs miniers canadiens en 2015 (28,7 % de tous les actifs miniers du Canada à l’étranger). En 2015, le Canada a accueilli une délégation de représentants gouvernementaux des pays de l’Alliance du Pacifique dans le cadre d’un voyage d’études consacré au secteur de l’extraction, visant à soutenir l’élaboration et la tenue à jour de leurs cadres de réglementation. La tournée a aussi assuré la promotion du Canada comme un partenaire de choix pour l’exploitation responsable des ressources et a démontré l’engagement du Canada à intensifier ses liens avec l’Alliance du Pacifique dans ce secteur.

Date de modification: