Canada and Iraq relations

Canada and Iraq have a strong relationship, as shown by Canada’s commitment to Iraq’s security, stability and prosperity. Canada supports the Government of Iraq’s efforts to restore stability, heal sectarian divisions, build inclusive and effective governance, and encourage economic growth. We are an active member of the Global Coalition against Daesh and contribute to all of the Coalition’s military and civilian lines of effort.

In 2016, Canada announced a new strategy to address the crises in Iraq and Syria and their impacts on the region. Canada is contributing more than $2 billion over three years towards security, stabilization, humanitarian and development assistance, a significant portion of which is focused on Iraq.

As part of this strategy, Canada increased its presence in Iraq. The Canadian embassy in Baghdad and its office in Erbil work with the Iraqi government and other local and international partners to:

Canada-funded projects

For the period 2016 to 2019, Canada has committed over $240 million to Iraq, including:

For more information, see Canada’s Middle East engagement strategy.

Resettlement of refugees

Working with the United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR), Canada is resettling Iraqi refugees living in Syria, Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey. As of 2016, more than 23,000 Iraqi refugees have been resettled in Canada.

In 2017, Canada will resettle 1,200 particularly vulnerable victims of Daesh, many of whom are from the Yazidi community in Iraq.

Trade and investment

Trade between Canada and Iraq amounted to $180.4 million in 2015. Though our trade volume with Iraq has decreased somewhat since 2015, commercial opportunities exist in:

Related links

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et Irak

Le Canada et l’Irak entretiennent une relation étroite comme en témoigne l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de la sécurité, la stabilité et la prospérité en Irak. Le Canada appuie les efforts du gouvernement irakien en vue de rétablir la stabilité, d’apaiser les divisions sectaires, de mettre en place une gouvernance efficace et inclusive et de stimuler la croissance économique. Le Canada est membre actif de la Coalition mondiale contre Daech et contribue à tous les efforts militaires et civils de la coalition.

En 2016, le Canada a dévoilé une nouvelle stratégie pour faire face aux crises en Irak et en Syrie et à atténuer leurs répercussions sur la région.  Sur une période de trois ans, le Canada consacrera plus de 2 milliards de dollars à la sécurité, la stabilisation et l’aide humanitaire et au développement. Une bonne partie de cette somme sera affectée à l’Irak.

Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, le Canada a augmenté sa présence en Irak. L’ambassade du Canada à Bagdad et son bureau à Erbil travaillent avec le gouvernement irakien et d’autres partenaires locaux et internationaux afin de :

Projets financés par le Canada

Sur la période de 2016 à 2019, le Canada s’est engagé à verser plus de 240 millions de dollars en Irak, ce qui comprend :

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez La stratégie du Canada au Moyen-Orient.

La réinstallation des réfugiés

Le Canada est en train de réinstaller des réfugiés Irakiens qui vivent en Syrie, en Jordanie, au Liban et en Turquie en travaillant avec le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR). À compter de 2016, plus de 23 000 réfugiés irakiens ont quitté le Moyen-Orient pour s’installer au Canada.

En 2017, Le Canada réinstallera 1 200 victimes de Daech particulièrement vulnérables, dont un grand nombre sont membres à la communauté Yazidi en Irak.

Le commerce et l’investissement

En 2015, les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et l’Irak se chiffraient à 180,4 millions de dollars.

Bien que le volume des échanges ait diminué depuis 2015, des opportunités commerciales subsistent dans les secteurs :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: