Water in developing countries

Clean, accessible water is critical to human health, a healthy environment, poverty reduction, a sustainable economy, and peace and security. Yet over 40% of the global population does not have access to sufficient clean water. By 2025, 1.8 billion people will be living in countries or regions with absolute water scarcity, according to UN-Water. The lack of water poses a major threat to several sectors, including food security. Agriculture uses about 70% of the world’s accessible freshwater.

Developing countries are most affected by water shortages, flooding and poor water quality. Up to 80% of illnesses in the developing world are linked to inadequate water and sanitation. In many countries, pollution or rising sea levels are contaminating trusted water sources. Water stress and lack of sanitation disproportionately affect women and girls. These factors can alter their health, safety and opportunity to engage in economic activities. Women and girls are often the primary managers of natural resources, particularly for household use and small-scale agriculture. They are key change agents in sustainable water management practices.

Global efforts to address water issues

Together, countries are working toward the goals of the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Water targets are included across the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. Goal 6 specifically aims to ensure access to water and sanitation for all, setting out the following objectives for joint action:

Our support for water initiatives in developing countries

Water directly affects many issues critical to promoting sustainable development, including the economy, agriculture, health, trade, energy, and peace and security. As part of its international assistance, Canada supports sustainable water resources management and governance in developing countries. It aids efforts to increase access to safe water and adequate sanitation, including menstrual hygiene. Canada’s water programming contributes to health, education, food security and economic growth outcomes for the poorest and most vulnerable. This programming particularly helps women and girls.

Here are just a few examples of water initiatives being supported by Canada.

Related links

Date Modified:

L’eau dans les pays en développement

Une eau propre et accessible est essentielle à la santé humaine, à un environnement sain, à une réduction de la pauvreté, à une économie durable, et à la paix et à la sécurité. Pourtant, plus de 40 % de la population mondiale n’a pas un accès suffisant à de l’eau propre. En 2025, d’après l’ONU-Eau, 1,8 milliard de personnes vivront dans des pays ou des régions où la pénurie d’eau sera totale. Le manque d’eau représente une grave menace pour de nombreux secteurs, notamment la sécurité alimentaire. L’agriculture consomme environ 70 % de l’eau douce accessible dans le monde.

Les pays en développement sont les plus touchés par les pénuries d’eau, les inondations et la mauvaise qualité de l’eau. Dans ces pays, près de 80 % des maladies sont liées à des services d’eau et d’assainissement inappropriés. Les sources d’eau fiables commencent à être contaminées par la pollution ou l’élévation du niveau de la mer dans de nombreux pays. Les femmes et les filles sont touchées de façon disproportionnée par le stress hydrique et le manque d’hygiène. Ces facteurs peuvent nuire à leur santé, à leur sécurité et à leurs chances de participer aux activités économiques. Les femmes et les filles assument souvent la principale responsabilité de la gestion des ressources naturelles, en particulier pour l’usage ménager et l’agriculture à petite échelle. Elles sont ainsi des agents clés du changement des pratiques de gestion durable de l’eau.

Efforts mondiaux pour s’attaquer à la question de l’eau

Les pays collaborent à la réalisation des objectifs du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 des Nations Unies. L’eau fait partie des 17 Objectifs de développement durable, dont le sixième vise spécifiquement à garantir à tous l’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement. Les objectifs suivants sont établis en vue d’une action commune :

Notre soutien aux initiatives sur l’eau dans les pays en développement

L’eau a une incidence directe sur de nombreuses questions essentielles à la promotion du développement durable, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’économie, à l’agriculture, à la santé, au commerce, à l’énergie ainsi qu’à la paix et à la sécurité. Dans le cadre de son aide internationale, le Canada appuie la gouvernance et la gestion durable des ressources en eau dans les pays en développement. Il soutient les efforts visant à améliorer l’accès à une eau saine et à des conditions sanitaires appropriées, y compris l’hygiène menstruelle. Le programme de l’eau du Canada contribue à des résultats en matière de santé, d’éducation, de sécurité alimentaire et de croissance économique pour les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes et les filles.

Voici quelques exemples parmi les initiatives sur l’eau appuyées par le Canada :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: