Canada’s National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security

On November 1, 2017, the Government of Canada launched Canada’s National Action Plan for the Implementation of the United Nations Security Council Resolutions on Women, Peace and Security 2017-2022.  It is our second action plan, building on the first plan that existed from 2011-2016.

Read the 2017-2022 action plan

The vision

Violent conflict affects women, girls, men and boys in different ways. Canada believes that it is important that these consequences are recognized and addressed, as urged by the United Nations Security Council women, peace and security agenda.

The action plan provides a framework for a cohesive whole-of-government approach to implement this important agenda and ensures that our activities in fragile and conflict-affected states align with our broader commitments such as:

As part of the action plan, Canada will work to advance the women, peace and security agenda through all of its diplomatic and programming efforts. We make a specific commitment to ensure that gender perspectives are integrated in all peace and security efforts.

This action plan will be implemented by six federal departments and one agency.

Working together for inclusive peace

Canada will take a leadership role to implement global objectives that will support the integration of the women, peace and security agenda in initiatives related to fragile and conflict--affected states.

As part of the plan, gender perspectives will continue to be integrated into Canada’s contributions to peace operations, peacebuilding, development and humanitarian assistance, and prevention and resolution of conflicts. 

In addition, Canada will use gender-based analysis plus tools to strengthen our capacity to integrate more targeted gender equality objectives into our activities around the world. We will also:

Monitoring and Reporting

Each of the implementing partners have developed individual implementation plans to guide their activities. The plans will be updated to adapt to new challenges and changing situations on the ground.

An annual progress report on the implementation of the action planwill be tabled in Parliament.

Cooperation with civil society

The action plan was developed in collaboration with civil society. A new advisory group, made up of civil society representatives and government officials, will meet to monitor progress and discuss emerging issues.

Related links

Date Modified:

Plan national d’action du Canada consacré aux femmes, à la paix et à la sécurité

Le 1er novembre 2017, le Gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Plan national d’action du Canada pour la mise en œuvre des résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité pour 2017-2022. C’est notre second plan d’action, établi à partir du premier plan qui prévalait entre 2011 et 2016.

Lire le Plan d’action 2017-2022

La vision

Les conflits violents touchent différemment les femmes, les hommes, les filles et les garçons. Le Canada estime qu’il est important que leurs répercussions soient reconnues et prises en charge, comme le Programme sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité le recommande.

Le Plan d’action offre un cadre pour une méthode pangouvernementale cohérente afin de mettre en œuvre de cet important Programme et veille à ce que nos activités dans les États fragiles et touchés par des conflits soient conformes à nos engagements plus larges, tels que :

Dans le cadre de son plan d’action, le Canada s’emploiera à faire progresser le Programme sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité dans l’ensemble de sa diplomatie et ses programmes. Nous nous engageons particulièrement à garantir que les perspectives de genre soient incluses dans tous les efforts de paix et de sécurité.

Ce plan d’action sera mis en œuvre par un organisme et six ministères fédéraux

Travailler ensemble pour une paix inclusive

Le Canada assumera un rôle de chef de file afin de mettre en œuvre les objectifs mondiaux qui appuieront l’intégration du Programme sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité aux initiatives relatives aux États fragiles et touchés par des conflits.

Dans le cadre du plan, les perspectives fondées sur le genre continueront d’être intégrées aux contributions du Canada aux opérations de maintien de la paix et de réconciliation, à l’aide au développement et à l’aide humanitaire, et à la prévention et la résolution des conflits.

En outre, le Canada utilisera les outils d’Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus pour renforcer notre capacité d’intégrer des objectifs ciblant mieux les objectifs d’égalité entre les sexes à nos activités dans le monde entier . Nous allons aussi :

Suivi et rapport

Chacun des partenaires de mise en œuvre a élaboré des plans spécifiques de réalisation afin d’orienter leurs activités. Ces plans seront mis à jour afin de s’adapter aux nouveaux défis et à l’évolution de la situation sur le terrain.

Un rapport annuel d’étape informera de la mise en œuvre du plan d’action, et sera déposé au Parlement.

Coopération avec la société civile

Le plan d’action plan a été élaboré en collaboration avec la société civile. Un nouveau groupe consultatif composé de représentants de la société civile et de fonctionnaires gouvernementaux se réunira pour effectuer un suivi des progrès et discuter des enjeux émergeants

Liens connexes

Date de modification: