Elimination of violence against women

Violence against women and girls is pervasive and it takes many forms and affects every society.

At the UN (Commission on the Status of Women and the Human Rights Council) and in other fora, Canada supports resolutions calling for the elimination of violence against women and girls.

Canada’s work at the UN has contributed to the development of a strong Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women. It has also led to the establishment and renewal, via the annual Canadian-led Human Rights Council resolution on the elimination of violence against women, of the mandate for a UN Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, its Causes and Consequences.

Canada was also instrumental in ensuring sexual and gender-based crimes were included in the draft Statute for the International Criminal Court.

Canada will use its international assistance to help prevent sexual and gender-based violence, including harmful practices such as child, early and forced marriage and female genital mutilation. Canada is also committed to helping countries implement the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women.

Whether the context is rape used as a tool of war, sexual slavery, domestic abuse, or female genital mutilation, in all cases, violence against women violates and impairs or nullifies the human rights of women and girls and is an obstacle to the achievement of the objectives of equality, development, prosperity, peace and security.

For more information:

Projects

 

 

Date Modified:

Éliminer la violence contre les femmes

La violence contre les femmes et les filles est omniprésente, prend plusieurs formes et touche toutes les sociétés.

Aux Nations Unies (Commission de la condition de la femme et Conseil des droits de l’homme) et dans d’autres forums, le Canada appuie les résolutions qui réclament l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles.

Les travaux du Canada aux Nations Unies ont contribué à l’élaboration d’un document solide, la Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes. Ils ont également mené à l’établissement et au renouvellement, au moyen de la résolution annuelle présentée par le Canada sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes, du mandat du Rapporteur spécial de l’ONU sur la violence contre les femmes, ses causes et ses conséquences.

Le Canada a également joué un rôle déterminant quant à l’inclusion des crimes sexuels et sexistes dans l’ébauche du Statut de la Cour pénale internationale.

Le Canada va utiliser son aide internationale pour contribuer à prévenir la violence sexuelle et sexiste, y compris les pratiques préjudiciables telles que les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés, les mutilations génitales féminines. Le Canada s’est aussi engagé à aider les pays mettant en œuvre la Convention de l’ONU sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes.

Peu importe ses circonstances, qu’il s’agisse d’un viol utilisé comme arme de guerre, d’esclavage sexuel, de violence conjugale ou de mutilation génitale féminine, dans tous les cas, la violence contre les femmes viole et compromet ou annule les droits des femmes et des filles, et fait obstacle à la réalisation des objectifs d’égalité, de développement, de prospérité et de sécurité.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Les projets

Date de modification: