Understanding food assistance

One in nine people around the world have too little to eat or are malnourished. That adds up to almost 800 million people.

Hunger and malnutrition degrade health and reduce resiliency to disease and shock. This means the world’s poorest people struggle the most to live long and healthy lives.  

Our steps to reduce world hunger

Emergency food assistance is a short-term response to address the immediate needs of populations, particularly refugees and displaced people. Getting aid to people affected by natural disasters, crises or conflicts can take many forms:

Emergency food assistance can be provided through different ways, such as food, cash or vouchers. Cash and vouchers give greater dignity to beneficiaries as they can choose what food they wish to buy. A cash economy must be in place, with functioning local markets that can keep up with demand in order to support the use of cash and vouchers. Where these conditions cannot be met, direct distribution of food is more appropriate.

Ensuring humanitarian partners have the flexibility to shift between modalities enables them to tailor a response according to beneficiary need as well as the often-fluid context in which they are operating.

Development food assistance is a medium-to-long-term response to help vulnerable people develop and enhance their own income and become self-reliant. This aid is essential for sustainable development including:

Our partners to reduce hunger

We support the efforts of world’s largest humanitarian agency the UN World Food Program (WFP) to wipe out hunger and poverty. With Canadian help the WFP has reached 97.2 million people in 80 countries. They also provided school meals to 24.7 million children in 60 countries.

The Canadian Foodgrains Bank provides food assistance like grains, agricultural supplies and cash. It also provides development assistance to people in need on behalf of 15 Canadian church-based member agencies. The Foodgrains Bank is Canada’s primary non-governmental organization involved in food assistance and is a recognized centre of expertise in food assistance and food security.

As a founding partner of the Nutrition international, Canada promotes supplements such as Vitamin A and iodine. Each year the Micronutrient Initiative reaches 500 million people in over 70 countries to ensure vulnerable populations get the vitamins and minerals they need to survive.

Cost effective and efficient food assistance

Canada has fully untied its food assistance budget. Before 2009 more than half of Canadian food assistance to developing countries from programming partners had to be bought in Canada. Untying food aid opens 100 % of our food assistance budget to international procurement. Purchasing food locally or regionally gets help to those who need it quickly, ensures food is culturally appropriate, and supports the functioning of local and regional economic markets.

The role of food assistance and nutrition

Our nutrition programming aims to save lives and improve overall health.

We support strategies to:

Agriculture is an effective tool in poverty reduction

In many developing countries, particularly in Africa and Asia, small-scale farmers produce 80 % of the food consumed. The majority of these farmers are women. If women can grow enough sustainable crops to feed families and sell surplus they can in turn afford to educate their children.

Sustainable agriculture has a positive effect on the peace and security of families, communities and villages in the developing world. It is one of the most effective investments in reducing poverty and improving food security in a country. This includes support to:

Research and development

Estimates state global food production must increase as much as 70 % by 2050. Investments in agricultural research and development are essential if production is to keep pace with the increasing demand.

Canada is putting its considerable experience in agricultural research and development to use on a global scale by sharing knowledge and resources with developing countries:

These measures will give farmers in partner countries better access to the new technologies and specialized expertise. Farming operations will be in a better position to keep pace with the growing demand for food.

Related Links

Date Modified:

Comprendre l’assistance alimentaire

Une personne sur neuf dans le monde n’a pas assez à manger ou est mal nourrie. Au total, cela fait presque 800 millions de personnes.

La faim et la malnutrition détériorent la santé et réduisent la capacité de résilience face aux maladies et aux traumatismes. Cela signifie que les populations les plus pauvres du monde sont celles qui ont le plus de difficultés  à vivre longtemps et en santé.

Nos mesures pour réduire la faim dans le monde

L’aide alimentaire d’urgence est une intervention à court terme pour répondre aux besoins immédiats des populations, en particulier les réfugiés et les personnes déplacées. Venir en aide aux populations touchées par des catastrophes naturelles, des crises ou des conflits peut prendre diverses formes :

L’aide alimentaire d’urgence peut être fournie sous différentes formes : nourriture, argent liquide ou  bons d’alimentation.  L’argent et les bons préservent mieux la dignité des bénéficiaires puisqu’ils peuvent choisir les aliments qu’ils veulent acheter. Une économie monétaire doit être mise en place, avec des marchés locaux opérationnels qui peuvent faire face à la demande afin d’appuyer l’utilisation d’argent et de bons. Lorsque ces conditions ne peuvent être remplies, la distribution directe de nourriture est plus appropriée.

S’assurer que les partenaires  humanitaires aient la souplesse de choisir les modalités qui leur permettent d’adapter leur intervention en fonction des besoins des bénéficiaires et du contexte  changeant dans lequel ils fonctionnent.

L’aide alimentaire au développement est une réponse à moyen et long termes pour aider les populations vulnérables à se développer, à améliorer leurs propres revenus et à devenir autosuffisantes. Cette aide est essentielle au développement durable, elle consiste notamment à :

Nos partenaires pour réduire la faim

Nous appuyons les actions de la plus grande agence humanitaire au monde, le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) des Nations Unies pour éradiquer la faim et la pauvreté. Avec l’aide du Canada, le PAM a  pu atteindre 97,2 millions de personnes dans 80 pays. Il a aussi fourni des repas à l’école à 24,7 millions d’enfants dans 60 pays.

La Banque canadienne de grains apporte une aide alimentaire sous forme de  grains, de fournitures agricoles et d’aide en espèces. Elle offre aussi une aide au développement aux personnes dans le besoin, au nom des 15 agences membres du réseau des églises canadiennes. La Banque canadienne de grains est la première organisation non-gouvernementale canadienne qui intervient dans l’aide alimentaire et est un centre d’expertise reconnu en aide et en sécurité alimentaires. 

À titre de partenaire fondateur de l’Nutrition international, le Canada encourage les compléments alimentaires tels que la vitamine A et l’iode. Chaque année, l’Initiative pour les micronutriments atteint 500 millions de personnes dans plus de 70 pays pour veiller à ce que les populations vulnérables reçoivent les vitamines et minéraux dont elles ont besoin pour survivre.

Aide alimentaire efficace et rentable

Le Canada a entièrement délié son budget d’aide alimentaire. Avant 2009 plus de la moitié de l’aide alimentaire canadienne aux pays en développement provenant des partenaires de programmes devait être achetée au Canada. Le déliement de l’aide alimentaire a ouvert 100 % du budget de l’aide alimentaire à l’approvisionnement international. L’achat d’aliments produits localement ou régionalement apporte de l’aide à ceux qui en ont besoin rapidement, garanti une alimentation dans le respect des cultures, et appuie le fonctionnement économique des marchés locaux et régionaux.

Rôle du programme d’aide alimentaire et nutrition

Notre programmation en matière de  nutrition a pour objectif de sauver des vies et d’améliorer la santé en général.

Nous appuyons les stratégies pour:

Agriculture : instrument efficace de réduction de la pauvreté

Dans de nombreux pays en développement, en particulier en Afrique et en Asie, les petits exploitants agricoles produisent 80 % des aliments consommés. La majorité de ces agriculteurs sont des femmes. Si les femmes peuvent produire assez de récoltes durables pour leurs familles et vendre le surplus, cela peut ensuite leur permettre de faire éduquer leurs enfants.

L’agriculture durable a des effets positifs sur la paix et la sécurité des familles, des collectivités et des villages des pays en développement. C’est un des investissements les plus efficaces pour réduire la pauvreté et améliorer la sécurité alimentaire d’un pays. Cela comprend de l’aide pour:

Recherche et développement

Selon les estimations, la production alimentaire mondiale doit augmenter jusqu’à 70 % avant 2050. Les investissements en recherche et développement agricoles sont vitaux pour satisfaire la demande croissante.

Canada apporte son expérience considérable en recherche et développement agricoles pour l’utiliser à l’échelle mondiale en diffusant ses connaissances et ses ressources auprès des pays en développement pour:

Ces mesures donneront aux exploitants agricoles des pays partenaires un meilleur accès aux nouvelles technologies et savoir-faire spécialisé. Les exploitations agricoles seront en mesure de mieux faire face à la demande alimentaire croissante.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: