Ending violence against children and youth

Violence against children is pervasive and destructive. It compromises children’s development and threatens their survival.

UNICEF figures put the number of children who suffer from violence every year between 500-million and 1.5 billion.  More than one in four girls and one in seven boys experience sexual violence before the age of 18.

Consistently in most countries surveyed with the Violence Against Children Surveys half of girls and boys report having experienced physical violence.

International human rights standards are essential to end violence against children. This is why these rights are protected under international human rights conventions to which Canada is a party.

One of the United Nation’s 2030 Sustainable Development Goals is to “end abuse, exploitation, trafficking and all forms of violence against, and torture of, children.”

Canada is committed to the survival, protection and healthy development of children around the world. This commitment includes support to help galvanize action to end violence, exploitation and abuse against children.

The long-lasting effects of violence

This violence is afflicted in many different settings including homes, communities, schools, workplaces and institutions. Girls and young women are particularly vulnerable, including to harmful practices, such as child, early and forced marriage.
Along with risk of death, children subjected to violence in its many forms are at increased risk of:

How we protect vulnerable children and youth

Working closely with trusted partners, Canada supports the implementation of a country-owned child protection systems approach in developing countries to:

Working with partners to improve accountability

Canada also works in collaboration with our international partners, including other donors, UNICEF and the International Labour Organisation to end violence against children.

We want to improve the quality of child protection programs and use evidence-based national planning.

This effort includes support for Together for Girls, a global public-private partnership that advocates for children to be safe, empowered and free. The goal is to end the human rights violations, public health impacts and long-term consequences associated with violence against children, especially sexual violence against girls.

To address gaps in accountability and reporting we have provided support both the:

We also work directly with individual countries build national plans of action and strengthen child protection systems.

These national strategies and action plans will help prevent and respond to all forms of violence, and promote national systems of data collection, analysis and dissemination.

Minimum standards for child protection in humanitarian situations

Canada has supported the release of the Minimum Standards for Child Protection in Humanitarian Action.

We also encourage Canadian and international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) seeking international humanitarian assistance funding to aspire to these standards.

Combatting child trafficking

Children and women account for the vast majority of those exploited for labour and sexual purposes. Canada’s targeted activities include commitments to child protection under the National Action Plan to Combat Human Trafficking,
We support programming to prevent the trafficking of children, capacity-building exercises for government and non-governmental actors, education and training programs.

The Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons Especially Women and Children seeks to combat transnational organized crime. The Protocol works to:

Child protection activities achieving results

Colombia

The project Protecting Children's Education in South-West Colombia is implemented by a consortium made up of Save the Children Canada and the Norwegian Refugee Council. It aims to improve the quality of education that approximately 80,800 in-school children and youth are receiving. It also seeks to reintegrate 38,800 out-of-school children and youth in formal schools or in Flexible Education Models.

Ghana

Support for the Child Protection Programme seeks to protect children from violence, exploitation, abuse, and discrimination. Some of the ways it will tackle this is by seeking the support of traditional and religious leaders for child protection, developing a social work curriculum and implementing a national birth registry.  The project is estimated to help 4.5 million children.

Honduras

The Canadian Support for Child Protection and Juvenile Justice Reform project enhances the protective environment of 870,000 boys, girls and adolescents in 35 municipalities of Honduras. It does this by increasing the capacity and coordination of municipal actors involved in promoting, protecting and restoring the rights of children.

South Africa

We support the Child Protection Surveillance Project, helping to increase the capacity of the South African Department of Social Development, as well as provincial and civil society partners, to provide child protection services across South Africa. The study will provide the framework and foundation for the development of a national surveillance system on child abuse, neglect and exploitation.

Ukraine

We provide additional funding to the ongoing Juvenile Justice Reform project. Originally started in 2007, this project is helping establish a more effective and responsive juvenile justice system, and bring it in line with international standards.

Check out our International development project browser for more examples of action.

Related links

Date Modified:

Mettre fin aux violences faites aux enfants et aux jeunes

La violence envers les enfants est omniprésente et destructrice. Elle compromet le développement des enfants et menace leur survie.

Les chiffres de l’UNICEF indiquent qu’il y a chaque année entre 500 millions et 1,5 milliard d’enfants victimes de la violence. Plus d’une fille sur quatre et un garçon sur sept sont victimes de violences sexuelles avant l’âge de 18 ans.

Invariablement, dans la plupart des pays objets des Enquêtes sur la violence contre les enfants la moitié des enfants ont été confrontés à de la violence.

Les normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne sont nécessaires pour mettre fin à la violence contre les enfants. C’est la raison pour laquelle ces droits sont protégés par les conventions internationales des droits de la personne auxquelles le Canada est partie.

L’un des objectifs de l’Agenda 2030 de développement durable consiste à « mettre un terme à la maltraitance, à l’exploitation et à la traite, et à toutes les formes de violence et de torture dont sont victimes les enfants ».

Le Canada s’est engagé en vue de la survie, la protection et le développement sain des enfants, partout dans le monde. Cet engagement comprend une aide à la mobilisation visant à mettre fin à la violence, à l’exploitation et la maltraitance des enfants.

Les effets durables de la violence

La violence s’exprime dans des contextes variés, notamment à la maison, dans les collectivités, les écoles, les lieux de travail et les institutions. Les filles et les jeunes femmes sont particulièrement vulnérables. La maltraitance prend des formes diverses et compromet les investissements en matière de survie infantile, de santé et d’éducation.

Outre le risque de perdre la vie, les enfants victimes de violences sont exposés à un risque accru de :

Comment nous protégeons les enfants et le jeunes vulnérables

Travaillant étroitement avec des partenaires de confiance, le Canada appuie la mise en œuvre, dans les pays en développement, d’une approche des systèmes de protection des enfants sous la responsabilité du pays afin de :

Travailler avec nos partenaires pour améliorer la reddition des comptes

Le Canada collabore aussi avec ses partenaires internationaux, y compris les autres donateurs, l’UNICEF et l’Organisation international du travail pour mettre fin aux violences envers les enfants.

Nous souhaitons améliorer la qualité des programmes de protection des enfants et recourir aux processus nationaux de planification.

Cet effort inclut aussi l’appui à Together for Girls, un partenariat mondial public-privé qui plaide pour les enfants afin qu’ils soient en sécurité, autonomisés et libres. Le but est de mettre fin aux violations des droits de la personne, d’atténuer les répercussions sur la santé publique et les conséquences à long terme de la violence infligée aux enfants, en particulier les violences sexuelles à l’égard des filles.

Pour combler les lacunes en matière d’obligation de rendre compte et d’établir des rapports nous avons apporté simultanément notre appui à:

Nous collaborons aussi directement avec chaque pays qui établit des plans nationaux d’action  et renforce ses systèmes de protection de l’enfance.

De telles stratégies au niveau national aideront à prévenir et à répondre à toutes les formes de violence, à assurer la promotion de systèmes nationaux de collecte, d’analyse et de diffusion de données probantes.

Normes minimales de protection de l’enfant en situation de crises humanitaires

Le Canada a appuyé le lancement des Standards Minimums de la Protection de l’Enfant (SMPE).

Nous encourageons aussi les organisations non-gouvernementales (ONG) canadiennes et internationales qui recherchent un financement pour de l’aide humanitaire internationale de s’inspirer de ces normes.

Lutter contre la traite des enfants

Les femmes et les enfants représentent la grande majorité des personnes exploitées à des fins sexuelles ou en vue d’un travail. Nos activités ciblées comprennent des engagements en matière de protection des enfants dans le cadre de Plan d'action national de lutte contre la traite de personnes.

Nous appuyons les programmes œuvrant à prévenir la traite des enfants, à renforcer les capacités des gouvernements et des acteurs non-gouvernementaux, à favoriser les programmes d’éducation et de formation.

Le Protocole (des Nations unies) visant à prévenir, réprimer et punir la traite des personnes, en particulier des femmes et des enfants cherche à lutter contre la criminalité transnationale organisée. Le Protocol s’emploie à

Activités de protection de l’enfant produisant des résultats

Colombie

Le projet Protection de l'éducation des enfants dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie  est mis en œuvre par un consortium comprenant l’Aide à l'enfance et le Conseil norvégien pour les réfugiés. Il a pour but d’améliorer la qualité de l’enseignement dispensé à environ 80 800 enfants et jeunes. Il cherche aussi à réintégrer 38 800 enfants et jeunes non-scolarisés dans des écoles officielles ou dans celles offrants des modèles flexibles d’éducation.

Ghana

L’appui au Programme pour la protection des enfants vise à protéger les enfants de la violence, de l’exploitation, de la maltraitance et de la discrimination. Quelques-unes des moyens employés à cet effet consistent à rechercher l’appui des chefs traditionnels et religieux pour la  protection des enfants, élaborer un programme d’études en travail social, et mettre en œuvre un registre national des naissances. On estime que le projet aide 4,5 millions d’enfants.

Honduras

Le projet d’Appui canadien pour la protection des enfants et réformes en justice vise à améliorer l'environnement protecteur de 870 000 garçons, filles et adolescents dans 35 municipalités du Honduras. Il y parvient en augmentant la capacité et la coordination des acteurs municipaux impliqués dans la promotion, la protection et le rétablissement des droits des enfants.

Afrique du Sud

Nous appuyons le Projet Surveillance pour la protection des enfants qui aide à accroitre la capacité du Ministère du Développement social sud-africain, ainsi que celle des partenaires provinciaux et la société civile à offrir des services sociaux pour la protection des enfants dans toute l’Afrique du Sud. Cette étude fournira un cadre et jettera les bases d’un système de surveillance nationale de la maltraitance, de la négligence et de l’exploitation des enfants.

Ukraine

Nous fournissons des fonds additionnels au projet en cours de Réforme judiciaire pour les jeunes. Ce projet, qui remonte à 2007, aide à la réalisation d’un système judiciaire pour les jeunes plus efficace et mieux adapté, et à le rendre conforme aux normes internationales.

Consultez notre Banque de projets de développement international pour découvrir d’autres exemples d’action.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: