Sexual exploitation of children

The commercial sexual exploitation of children is a heinous form of child abuse which takes many forms, including child prostitution, child pornography and trafficking in children. Canada is committed to ending the commercial sexual exploitation of children.

Canada's efforts

Canada was instrumental in the drafting of the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography. This protocol requires nations who sign the convention to criminalize these activities. It also adds measures for protecting child victims. Canada signed the Optional Protocol in November 2001.

Canadian law includes a number of measures to combat the sexual exploitation of children and allows Canadian citizens and permanent residents to be prosecuted for engaging in commercial sexual activities with children while abroad.

Addressing sexual exploitation

Canada provides funding for initiatives in the developing world to prevent and respond to sexual exploitation, including helping children and families. Canada supports projects that promote children's rights, provide protection and education, and assist the victims of the sex trade.

Many Canadian non-governmental organizations are also actively involved in efforts to end child sexual exploitation.

International agreements

Canada has ratified the Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption. This agreement strengthens cooperation among nations to prevent the abduction, sale or trafficking of children. Canada has ratified the Transnational Organized Crime Convention and both of its protocols including the Optional Protocol Against Migrant Smuggling and Trafficking.

Related links

Date Modified:

Exploitation sexuelle des enfants

L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales est une manifestation abominable des maltraitances infantiles dont il existe maintes formes, entre autres la prostitution des enfants, la pédopornographie et le trafic des enfants. Le Canada s’est engagé à éliminer l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales.

Efforts du Canada

Le Canada a contribué pour beaucoup dans la rédaction du Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, concernant la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants. Ce protocole contraint les États qui sont signatoires à la convention à criminaliser ces activités. Il ajoute aussi des mesures pour protéger les enfants qui en sont victimes. Le Canada a signé le Protocole facultatif en novembre 2001.

Les lois canadiens comprennent des diverses mesures visant à combattre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et permettent la poursuite des citoyens et des résidents permanents du Canada qui se livrent à des activités sexuelles illicites avec des enfants à l’étranger.

S'attaquer à l'exploitation sexuelle

Le Canada verse des fonds aux mesures dans les pays en développement afin de prévenir et de combattre l’exploitation sexuelle, y compris le soutien aux enfants et familles. Le Canada soutient les projets qui favorisent les droits de l’enfant, qui fournissent de la protection et de l’éducation, et qui offrent de l’aide aux victimes du commerce sexuel.

Maintes organisations non gouvermentales canadiennes participent également aux efforts visant à éliminer l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants.

Accords internationaux

Le Canada a ratifié la Convention de La Haye sur la protection des enfants et la coopération en matière d’adoption internationale. Cet accord renforce la coopération entre les nations afin d'éviter l’enlèvement, la vente ou le trafic des enfants. Le Canada a ratifié la Convention sur la criminalité transnationale organisée (en anglais seulement) et ses deux protocoles, dont le Protocole facultatif contre la contrebande des migrants (en anglais seulement).

Liens connexes

Date de modification: