Public financial management

Public financial management (PFM) is critical to basic economic governance and essential in establishing the performance, legitimacy and accountability of functional states.

Public financial management has to do with the effective administration of funds collected and spent by governments. It underlies all government activity and incorporates all components of a country's budget cycle including:

Ineffective public financial management systems hamper development and increase the risk of corruption. Unfortunately, weak systems still prevail in many developing countries.

Improving government efficiency

As societal needs are inevitably greater than the resources available to governments, all public resources must be used as efficiently as possible with a minimum of government waste.

Efficient public financial management is central to mutual trust and shared consensus between a government and the population. Improving the effectiveness of systems in developing countries allows governments to make best use of scarce resources.

This may generate widespread and long-lasting benefits, such as enabling the country to manage its own development, reducing poverty, achieving greater gender equality and realizing balanced growth.

Increased revenue, tax fairness, and transparency

In Mali, Canada is providing technical assistance to build the revenue mobilization capacity of the Malian tax and land administration. This is in order to help the government be less financially dependent on foreign aid.  In turn this will enable Mali to make progress in terms of increased revenue, tax fairness, and transparency in tax management.

Contributing to economic growth

In the Caribbean region, Canada is supporting an initiative that seeks to improve macroeconomic and public financial management capacity of targeted Caribbean countries. This is in the context of rising financial vulnerabilities as well as to increase regional cooperation/integration to foster economic growth in the Caribbean region.

Date Modified:

Gestion des finances publiques

La gestion des finances publiques (GFP) est essentielle à une gouvernance économique élémentaire et est vitale pour assurer la performance, la légitimité et la responsabilisation d’un état fonctionnel.

La gestion des finances publiques a à voir avec une gestion efficace des fonds collectés et dépensés par les gouvernements. Elle sous-tend toutes l’activité gouvernementale et englobe tous les éléments du cycle budgétaire d’un pays, y compris :

Les systèmes inefficaces de gestion des finances publiques entravent le développement et accroissent les risques de corruption. Malheureusement, les systèmes déficients prévalent toujours dans de nombreux pays en développement.

Améliorer l’efficacité des gouvernements

Alors que les besoins de la société sont inévitablement supérieurs aux ressources dont disposent les gouvernements, l’ensemble des ressources publiques doivent être employées le plus efficacement possible avec un minimum de gaspillage gouvernemental.

L’efficacité de la gestion des finances publiques est essentielle pour instaurer une confiance mutuelle et un consensus partagé entre un gouvernement et sa population. Améliorer l’efficacité des systèmes dans les pays en développement permet aux gouvernements d’employer au mieux les ressources limitées.

Celle-ci peut avoir un effet bénéfique général durable, comme permettre au pays de gérer son propre développement, réduire la pauvreté, parvenir à une meilleure égalité entre les sexes et assurer une croissance équilibrée. 

Augmentation des recettes, équité fiscale et transparence

Au Mali, le Canada fournit une assistance technique pour renforcer la capacité de mobilisation des recettes de l’administration fiscale et foncière malienne. Ceci a pour but d’aider le gouvernement à être moins dépendant de l’aide étrangère. Il en résulte que cela permet au Mali d’accomplir des progrès en termes d’augmentation des recettes, d’équité fiscale et de transparence en matière de fiscalité.

Contribuer à la croissance économique

Dans la région des Caraïbes, le Canada appuie une initiative qui vise à améliorer la capacité de gestion de gestion des finances publiques et la gestion macro-économique de pays ciblés des Caraïbes. Ceci s’inscrit à la fois dans un contexte d’augmentation des vulnérabilités financières et d’accroissement de la coopération/intégration au niveau régional afin de stimuler la croissance économique de la région des Caraïbes.

Date de modification: