Finland

Session reviewed: 27th session of the Universal Periodic Review
Date reviewed: May 3, 2017

Recommendation

Check against delivery

Canada thanks Finland for its presentation, congratulates Finland on its 100th anniversary of independence this year, and applauds its continued commitment to strengthen and improve human rights both at home and abroad.

Canada recommends that Finland:

  1. Mobilize adequate resources to complete its Second National Action Plan on Fundamental and Human Rights.
  2. Establish a national coordination unit and provide adequate financial and other support for the implementation of the Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence.
  3. Remove the requirement of infertility or sterilisation before an individual may change their gender on legal documents.

Canada commends Finland for its continued commitment to improve respect for human rights in Finland, and its efforts to strive for the principles of non-discrimination, equal opportunities, and transparency.

Canada congratulates Finland on the number of recommendations accepted including the voluntary pledges made during its Second Universal Periodic Review (UPR) and encourages the full implementation of these recommendations.

Background

According to UPR Info, a non-profit, non-governmental organization (NGO) that tracks the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) process, in the first two cycles of the UPR, Finland received 104 recommendations, of which 99 were accepted (an acceptance rate of 95%).

Finland’s Second National Action Plan on Fundamental and Human Rights (2017-2019) aims to focus on fundamental and human rights education, equality and non-discrimination, the right of individuals and groups to self-determination, and fundamental rights and digitalisation. The Plan contains 43 projects to be delivered by several ministries. Independent supervisors such as the Finnish Human Rights Center, the Human Rights Delegation, special ombudspersons and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) will evaluate the Plan’s implementation.

In 2016, Finland was the seventh-largest donor to UN Women and the largest financial supporter of the Council of Europe fund for combating violence against women. However, according to a survey by the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (Spring 2014), Finland was one of three European Union (EU) Member States with the highest percentage (30%) of women who had experienced physical and/or sexual violence by a former or current partner. The EU average at that time was 22%. Finland was also one of three Member States with the highest percentage (53%) of women who had experienced psychological violence by a current or former partner.

At the end of 2014, the Finnish Parliament adopted legislation for gender-neutral marriage. However, the Ombudsman for Equality and Non-Discrimination has stated that the current Act on the Legal Recognition of the Gender of Transsexuals violated the right to self-determination of transgender persons and that the Act should be amended so that sterilization or infertility would no longer be required to change gender in official documents.

At the end of 2016, Finland, Norway and Sweden successfully agreed on a Nordic Sámi Convention addressing the Indigenous Sami people that live in Finland, Norway, Sweden, and Russia. The Convention, negotiated jointly with representatives of the Sámi Parliament from the three Nordic states (Finland, Norway, and Sweden) aims to enhance the status of the Sámi as an Indigenous people and to strengthen and consolidate their rights within and across borders.

Date Modified:

Finlande

Session examinée : 27e session de l’Examen périodique universel
Date de l’examen : 3 mai 2017

Recommandations

Le texte prononcé fait foi

Le Canada remercie la Finlande pour sa présentation et félicite la Finlande à l’occasion du 100e anniversaire de son indépendance cette année. De plus, le Canada la félicite de son engagement continue à l’égard du renforcement et de l’amélioration des droits de la personne sur son territoire et à l’étranger.

Le Canada recommande que la Finlande :

  1. Mobilise les ressources nécessaires pour élaborer son deuxième plan d’action national sur les droits fondamentaux et les droits de la personne.
  2. Établir une unité de coordination nationale et offrir un soutien financier et d’autres soutiens adéquats pour la mise en œuvre de la Convention d’Istanbul sur la prévention de la violence contre les femmes et la violence domestique et la lutte contre ces violences.
  3. Éliminer l’obligation pour une personne d’être infertile ou stérile avant qu’elle puisse changer sa mention de sexe dans les documents juridiques.

Le Canada félicite la Finlande pour son engagement continu à l’égard de l’amélioration du respect des droits de la personne sur son territoire et ses efforts visant à encourager les principes de non-discrimination, d’égalité des chances et de transparence.

Le Canada félicite également la Finlande pour le nombre de recommandations acceptées, y compris les engagements volontaires pris au cours de son deuxième EPU, et encourages la mise en œuvre complète de ces recommandations.

Contexte

Selon UPR Info, une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) sans but lucrative qui effectue un suivi du processus d’examen universel périodique (EPU), dans les deux premiers cycles, la Finlande a reçu 104 recommandations, dont 99 ont été acceptées (un taux d’acceptation de 95%).

Le deuxième plan d’actions de la Finlande sur les droits fondamentaux et de la personne (2017-2019) sera axé sur la sensibilisation aux droits fondamentaux et aux droits de la personne, l’égalité et la non‑discrimination, le droit des individus et des groupes à l’auto-détermination, ainsi que les droits fondamentaux et la numérisation. Le plan contient 43 projets qui seront exécutés par plusieurs ministères et évalués par des superviseurs indépendants de sa mise en œuvre, comme le centre finlandais des droits humains, la Délégation des droits humains, des protecteurs du citoyen spéciaux et des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG).

En 2016, la Finlande était le septième donateur en importance d’ONU Femmes et le plus important bailleur de fonds du Conseil de l’Europe pour combattre la violence contre les femmes. Cependant, selon un sondage effectué par l’Agence des droits fondamentaux de l’Union européenne (printemps 2014), la Finlande était l’un des trois États membres de l’Union européenne ayant le pourcentage le plus élevé (30 %) de femmes victimes de violence physique et/ou sexuelle de la part d’un ancien partenaire ou de leur partenaire actuel. La moyenne de l’UE à ce moment était de 22 %. La Finlande était aussi l’un des trois États membres ayant le pourcentage le plus élevé (53 %) de femmes victimes de violence psychologique exercée par leur partenaire actuel ou un ancien partenaire.

À la fin de 2014, le parlement finlandais a adopté une loi sur le mariage qui s’applique aux deux sexes. Cependant, l’ombudsman pour l’égalité et la non-discrimination a affirmé que la loi actuelle sur la reconnaissance juridique du sexe des transsexuels viole le droit à l’auto-détermination des personnes transgenres et que la loi devrait être modifiée afin que la stérilisation ou l’infertilité ne soit plus nécessaire pour changer la mention de sexe dans les documents officiels.

À la fin de 2016, la Finlande, la Norvège et la Suède ont élaboré une convention des États nordiques sur les droits du peuple Sami qui vit en Finlande, en Norvège, en Suède et en Russie. Les objectifs de la convention, négociée avec des représentants parlementaires du peuple Sami des trois États nordiques (Finlande, Norvège et Suède), sont d’améliorer le statut du peuple Sami ainsi que de renforcer et de consolider leurs droits à l’intérieur des frontières et par-delà les frontières.

Date de modification: