Canadian engagement in the Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights Initiative

Canada has participated in the Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights Initiative  since 2010. 

The Voluntary Principles Initiative is a multi-stakeholder initiative that promotes the Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights. These guidelines help mining and oil and gas companies anticipate and mitigate risks so they can protect their operations without excessive force or human rights abuses. 

Other participants in the Voluntary Principles Initiative

The Initiative includes 10 governments (Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Ghana, the Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States), 28 extractive companies and 10 civil society organizations. 

A number of Canadian companies are participants in the Initiative, including:

Partnership Africa Canada, a non-governmental organization, is a participant as well.

Chairmanship of the Voluntary Principles Initiative

Canada chaired the Initiative in the 2011 to 2012 and 2016 to 2017 fiscal years, as part of the country’s work to improve responsible governance of natural resources, including promoting and protecting human rights. 

Key achievements of Canada’s chairmanship during its 2016 to 2017 term include:

Canada’s chairmanship culminated in a successful annual plenary meeting held in Ottawa on March 2 and 3, 2017.

Guidelines for companies operating internationally

Created in 2000, the Voluntary Principles are one of the widely recognized international guidelines the government promotes to Canadian companies operating abroad, as part of its  Enhanced Corporate Social Responsibility Strategy to Strengthen Canada’s Extractive Sector Abroad.

Canadian companies are expected to integrate responsible business practices into all aspects of their operations. The Principles have been helpful to corporations operating around the world, including in high-risk zones.

Related link

Canada’s Corporate Social Responsibility Strategy for the Extractive Sector

Date Modified:

Engagement canadien dans l’Initiative des Principes volontaires sur la sécurité et les droits de l’homme

Depuis 2010, le Canada participe à l’Initiative des Principes volontaires sur la sécurité et les droits de l’homme.

Il s’agit d’une initiative multipartite qui fait la promotion des Principes volontaires sur la sécurité et les droits de l’homme. Ces lignes directrices aident les intervenants des secteurs miniers, pétroliers et gaziers à prévoir et à atténuer les risques, afin que leurs activités puissent être protégées sans violation des droits de la personne ni recours à la force excessive.

Autres participants à l’Initiative des Principes volontaires

L’Initiative regroupe 10 gouvernements (Argentine, Australie, Canada, Colombie, États-Unis, Ghana, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Suisse, Royaume-Uni), 28 entreprises extractives et 10 organisations de la société civile.

Un certain nombre d’entreprises privées canadiennes participent à l’Initiative, notamment les suivantes :

L’organisation non gouvernementale canadienne Partenariat Afrique Canada compte également au nombre des participants.

Présidence de l’Initiative des Principes volontaires

Le Canada a assumé la présidence de l’Initiative au cours des exercices 2011-2012 et 2016-2017, dans le cadre de sa contribution à l’amélioration de la gouvernance responsable des ressources naturelles, incluant la promotion et la protection des droits de la personne.

Les principales réalisations de la présidence du Canada au cours du mandat de 2016-2017 comprennent :

Le mandat de présidence du Canada a culminé avec une rencontre plénière annuelle réussie, qui s’est tenue à Ottawa les 2 et 3 mars 2017.

Lignes directrices à l’intention des entreprises présentes à l’étranger

Créés en 2000, les Principes volontaires font partie des lignes directrices internationales largement reconnues dont le gouvernement du Canada fait la promotion auprès des entreprises canadiennes présentes à l’étranger, dans le cadre de la Stratégie améliorée du Canada relative à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, visant à renforcer les industries extractives du Canada à l’étranger.

Nous attendons des entreprises canadiennes qu’elles intègrent des pratiques opérationnelles responsables à tous les aspects de leurs activités. Les Principes volontaires se sont avérés utiles pour les entreprises menant des activités dans le monde entier, y compris dans les zones à haut risque.

Lien connexe

 

Date de modification: