Getting involved in international development

There are many ways to get involved in international development–you can write a cheque, volunteer a few hours a week or find work overseas. This section can help you get started.

There are many ways to contribute. Depending on your interests and skillsets, you could:

If you want to learn more about what you can do to help during major natural disasters and other emergency situations, please consult How you can help during a disaster abroad.

Several organizations specialize in reducing global poverty and improving standard of living in developing countries. If you would like to help by donating money to one of these organizations, here are a couple of things to consider:

Volunteer your time or expertise in Canada

Many Canadian organizations rely on volunteers in Canada to help them achieve their goals. The first step is to find an organization that you would like to support and that can benefit from your skills.

Most provinces or regions have a council which brings together all of the organizations in the area. Visiting their websites can help you identify an organization to work with:

Once you have identified an organization, if it is a Canadian organization, you may want to verify its status with the Canada Revenue Agency and find out more about its activities and financial status.

Study international development

International development intersects with a variety of occupations and endeavours. In order to get a job in this field, you could pursue an international development degree, or specialize in a sector such as:

Become an international volunteer

Volunteering overseas can be an incredibly rewarding experience, but it can also be quite challenging. Be ready to face the reality of field work, and do extensive research to find an opportunity that suits your interests and experiences.

Several reputable organizations use international volunteer programs to further their work on the ground in developing countries. Professionals with skills in fields such as business, information technology, health, education, communications, community development and natural resources management can be of great asset to these organizations.

The Government of Canada provides funding to several Canadians organizations to help send highly skilled and qualified volunteers to developing countries to work with local partners. Consult the Project browser to see where funding is going.

You can also look for internship programs and volunteer organizations operating in Canada and abroad Volunteering and internship opportunities.

You can search online databases for opportunities:

Once you have identified an organization, if it is a Canadian organization, you may want to verify its status with the Canada Revenue Agency and find out more about its activities and financial status.

Volunteering to be an election observer

If you are interested in being an international election observer, you can find out more at CANADEM — International Election Observation Project. This organization maintains a roster of Canadian election observers. You will need to register on their website.

A career in international development with the Government of Canada

Global Affairs Canada provides opportunities for a career that is global in scale, offering a wealth of international perspectives that increase professional skills and expand cultural perceptions. Global Affairs Canada recruits employees from outside the public service through the services of the Public Service Commission (PSC), which lists job opportunities open to the public on their Careers in the federal public service website.

Here are some other options:

Work as a consultant for international development initiatives

Global Affairs Canada, like its counterparts in other countries, works with consultants and companies based in Canada and around the world to advance its international objectives and reduce poverty in developing countries. Consult buyandsell.gc.ca, the Government of Canada's electronic tendering service to view active Request for proposals.

Organizations

Related links

Date Modified:

Participer au développement international

Il existe de nombreuses façons de participer au développement international : vous pouvez envoyer un chèque, faire du bénévolat quelques heures par semaine ou trouver un travail à l’étranger. La présente section peut vous aider à vous lancer.

Il existe de nombreuses façons de participer. En fonction de vos centres d’intérêt et de vos compétences, vous pouvez :

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour aider en cas de catastrophe naturelle majeure ou autres situations d’urgence, veuillez consulter Comment vous pouvez aider en cas de catastrophe à l’étranger.

Il existe de nombreuses organisations spécialisées dans la réduction de la pauvreté mondiale et l’amélioration du niveau de vie dans les pays en développement. Si vous désirez aider en donnant de l’argent à une de ces organisations, voici plusieurs éléments à prendre en compte :

Faire don de votre temps ou transmettre vos connaissances au Canada

Au Canada, de nombreuses organisations de développement international comptent sur des bénévoles canadiens pour les aider à atteindre leurs objectifs. Vous devez tout d'abord trouver une organisation que vous aimeriez soutenir et qui pourrait tirer profit de vos compétences.

La plupart des provinces et des régions ont un conseil qui regroupe toutes les organisations d'une région. Consultez leur site Web afin de trouver une organisation avec laquelle vous souhaitez travailler.

Une fois que vous aurez trouvé une organisation, et si celle-ci est canadienne, assurez-vous de vérifier son statut d'organisme de bienfaisance auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et chercher de l'information sur ses activités et sa situation financière.

Étudier le développement international

Le développement international couvre une grande diversité de professions et d’entreprises. Pour trouver du travail dans ce domaine, vous pouvez cibler un diplôme de développement international, ou vous spécialiser dans des secteurs comme :

Devenir un bénévole international

Faire du bénévolat ou travailler à l'étranger peut être une expérience extrêmement enrichissante, mais aussi passablement exigeante. Préparez-vous à faire face à la réalité sur le terrain et effectuez des recherches approfondies pour trouver quelque chose qui correspond à vos intérêts et à votre expérience.

Plusieurs organisations connues utilisent les programmes de bénévolat internationaux pour faire progresser leur action dans les pays en développement. Les personnes ayant des compétences professionnelles dans des domaines tels que les affaires, la technologie de l’information, la santé, l’éducation, les communications, le développement communautaire et la gestion des ressources naturelles peuvent être d’une grande utilité pour ces organisations.

Le Gouvernement du Canada fournit du financement à plusieurs organisations canadiennes afin de les aider à envoyer des bénévoles hautement compétents et qualifiés dans les pays en développement pour travailler avec des partenaires locaux. Consultez la Banque de projet pour découvrir où va le financement.

Vous pouvez aussi rechercher des programmes de stage et faire du bénévolat auprès d’organisations opérant au Canada et à l’étranger dans Possibilités de stages et de bénévolat.

Vous pouvez rechercher des opportunités dans les bases de données en ligne :

Une fois que vous aurez trouvé une organisation, et si celle-ci est canadienne, assurez-vous de vérifier son statut d'organisme de bienfaisance auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et chercher de l'information sur ses activités et sa situation financière.

Faire du bénévolat en tant qu'observateur électoral

Si vous souhaitez agir à titre d'observateur électoral, vous trouverez des renseignements sur le site Web de CANADEM — Programme d'assistance électorale internationale. Cette organisation détient un répertoire canadien d'observateurs électoraux. Vous devez vous inscrire sur leur site Web.

Faire carrière en développement international avec le Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires mondiales Canada propose des occasions de carrière à l’échelle mondiale, offrant un grand nombre de perspectives internationales qui enrichissent les compétences professionnelles et élargissent les perceptions culturelles. Affaires mondiales Canada recrute en dehors de la fonction publique à partir des services de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada (CFP) qui dresse la liste des occasions d’emploi sur le site Web Emplois à la fonction publique.

Voici quelques options alternatives:

Travailler comme consultant sur des initiatives de développement international

Affaires mondiales Canada, comme ses homologues des autres pays, travaille avec des consultants et des compagnies situées au Canada et dans le monde entier pour promouvoir ses objectifs internationaux et réduire la pauvreté dans les pays en développement. Consultez Achatsetventes.gc.ca, le service électronique d’appel d’offre du Gouvernement du Canada pour visualiser les demandes de propositions en cours.

Organisations

Liens connexes

Date de modification: