Export control regimes

Canada tightly regulates the export of material, equipment and technology in the nuclear, chemical, and biological fields. Export controls also apply to conventional weapons, as well as related dual-use goods and a number of additional strategic goods and technologies.

These regulations ensure that such exports are consistent with our foreign and defence policies, and that controlled materials, goods, and technologies are exported only to entities in countries that meet Canada’s stringent export control requirements regarding:

Sensitive exports are assessed for proliferation and arms control considerations by determining whether the export:

Export permits

Such exports often require the issuance of an export permit pursuant to the provisions of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA).

Most items on Canada’s Export Control List (ECL) reflect Canada’s obligations under relevant multilateral international agreements. The ECL is divided into seven Groups, from the common control lists of the export control regimes (except Group 5, Miscellaneous Goods and Technology).

Canada participates in export control regimes and multilateral initiatives created in response to concern about the proliferation of:

Each export control regime addresses a different category of goods and technologies and maintains current lists of controlled equipment, technology, and materials.

Related links

Date Modified:

Régimes de contrôle des exportations

Le gouvernement du Canada réglemente strictement l’exportation de matières, d’équipement et de technologies dans les domaines nucléaire, chimique et biologique, et les armes conventionnelles, ainsi que les biens à double usage connexes et d’autres biens et technologies stratégiques.

Cette règlementation stricte vise à s’assurer que de telles exportations respectent les politiques étrangères et de défense du Canada, notamment que les matières, les biens et les technologies pertinents sont exportés uniquement vers des pays qui respectent les exigences rigoureuses du Canada, en ce qui concerne :

Les exportations sensibles sont évaluées afin de tenir compte des considérations liées à la prolifération et au contrôle des armes, en déterminant si l’exportation :

Permis d’exportation

Ces exportations exigent souvent la délivrance d’un permis d’exportation conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI).

 La plupart des articles sur la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (LMEC) du Canada découlent des engagements du Canada dans le cadre des régimes multilatéraux de contrôle des exportations ou de ses obligations en sa qualité d’État partie aux ententes multilatérales ou bilatérales internationales. La LMEC est divisée en sept groupes, lesquels proviennent des listes communes des régimes de contrôle des exportations (sauf le groupe 5, Marchandises et technologies diverses).

Le Canada souscrit aux régimes de contrôle des exportations et à des initiatives multilatérales créées pour répondre aux préoccupations soulevées par la prolifération :

Chaque régime aborde une catégorie différente de marchandises et de technologies et tient à jour une liste de l’équipement, des technologies et des matières pertinents.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: