Nuclear Suppliers Group

Canada is a founding member of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) which was created in 1974 following the explosion of a nuclear device in India, a non-nuclear weapon state. The event in India demonstrated that nuclear technology was spreading and may not always be used for peaceful purposes.

The goal of the NSG is to support the effective implementation of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) by establishing clear rules on nuclear transfers.

Guidelines on nuclear trade for peaceful purposes

Through guidelines the NSG aims to ensure that nuclear trade for peaceful purposes does not contribute to the proliferation of nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices. These guidelines seek to control materials and technology that could make a significant contribution to an unsafeguarded nuclear fuel cycle or nuclear explosive activity.

The NSG also supports communication and information sharing amongst participating governments regarding possible nuclear proliferation issues.

Through these meetings, Canada and the NSG ensure that the most stringent nuclear and nuclear-related export controls are in place through the continual strengthening and revision of the NSG Guidelines.

Control lists for nuclear material, equipment, and technology

Global Affairs Canada implements the Group’s control lists for nuclear material, equipment, and technology. This requires a permit for the export of listed nuclear material, equipment, and technology or related goods.

In addition, a licence must be issued by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission following the provisions of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

A permit and licence are issued only when the responsible officials are satisfied that the proposed export meets all of Canada’s stringent nuclear non-proliferation requirements.

Related links

Date Modified:

Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires

Le Canada est l’un des membres fondateurs du Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires (GFN) qui a été créé en 1974 suite à l’explosion d’un dispositif nucléaire en Inde, un état non détenteur de l’arme nucléaire. Cet évènement en Inde a démontré que la technologie nucléaire avait été transmise et pouvait être utilisée à des fins autres que pacifiques.

Le but du GFN est d’appuyer la mise en œuvre efficace du Traité sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires (TNP) en établissant des règles claires sur le transfert nucléaire.

Lignes directrices sur le commerce nucléaire à des fins pacifiques

Au moyen de ses lignes directrices le GFN veille à ce que le commerce nucléaire à des fins pacifiques ne contribue pas à la prolifération des armes nucléaires ou d’autres dispositifs nucléaires explosifs. Ces lignes directrices visent à contrôler les transferts nucléaires et ainsi que l’équipement, les matières et les technologies nucléaires à double usage qui pourraient contribuer à des activités du cycle du combustible nucléaire ou de fabrication d’un dispositif nucléaire explosif non soumises à des garanties.

Le GFN appuie également les communications et l’échange de renseignements parmi les gouvernements participants à propos de questions relatives à la prolifération nucléaire potentielle.

Grâce à ces réunions, le Canada et le GFN s’assurent que les contrôles d’exportations nucléaires et liées au nucléaire les plus rigoureux sont en place par le renforcement et l’examen continu des lignes directrices du GFN.

Liste de contrôle des matières, de l’équipement et de la technologie nucléaires

Affaires mondiales Canada applique les listes de contrôle du GFN pour les matières, l’équipement et la technologie nucléaires. Ceci requiert la délivrance d’un permis pour l’exportation de matières, d’équipement et de technologies nucléaires ou de biens connexes.

De plus, une licence doit être délivrée par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Un permis et une licence sont délivrés seulement lorsque les autorités responsables estiment que l’exportation proposée respecte toutes les exigences rigoureuses de non-prolifération nucléaire du Canada.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: