Proliferation Security Initiative

The Proliferation Security Initiative (PSI) was launched in May 2003. This was in response to the growing challenge posed by the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (WMD), their delivery systems and related materials. Here is a list of States that have endorsed the Proliferation Security Initiative principles as of November 2017.

Participating nations agree to a Statement of Interdiction Principles that includes voluntary political commitments including:

The PSI is best characterized as an “activity” rather than an organization and remains a flexible, voluntary, and open mechanism.

Canadian position

Canada joined PSI in December 2003. Over 100 other states also participate in the initiative. Participation in PSI is consistent with, and supportive of, Canada’s efforts to strengthen counter-proliferation mechanisms to promote regional stability and international security. Canadian participation in PSI helps us to:

Participation in PSI is characterised by a multi-disciplinary, whole-of-government approach. Global Affairs Canada leads on policy issues, while the Department of National Defence leads on operational issues.

Canada has attended every PSI Operational Experts Group (OEG) meeting, in which specialists from 21 core PSI participant-states meet to share information on proliferation trends and potential responses. Canada has hosted OEG meetings in Ottawa (2004, 2015) and Montreal (2006).

We also actively participate in the PSI exercise programme, which allows states to test their operational capabilities for interdiction on land, at sea, and in the air. Through multinational exercises, PSI participants also clearly convey to would-be proliferators their collective determination to combat illicit trafficking in WMD, their means of delivery and related materials.

Capacity building and exercises

Canada takes part in capacity building exercises to help develop counter-proliferation capacities among PSI-participating countries.

The June 2017 edition of the annual Exercise TRADEWINDS, for example, includes a counter proliferation component simulating the interdiction of a merchant ship suspected of carrying illegal WMD-related materials. Exercise TRADEWINDS is a multinational exercise led by the U.S. Southern Command that promotes regional security cooperation in the Caribbean, including maritime interdiction and ground security.

Canada also hosts regular technical workshops and seminars to support counter-proliferation efforts in the Caribbean.  These events seek to build capacity in areas such as customs enforcement and commodity identification.

Operational Experts Group

The Operational Experts Group (OEG) of 21 countries, which includes Canada, provides an annual forum for members to share experiences and coordinate national responses to emerging threats.

The Group plays a vital role to make sure the PSI is effective by:

OEG members are:

Critical Capabilities and Practices

The Critical Capabilities and Practices effort began in 2010 to provide practical resources for the effective implementation of the PSI Statement of Interdiction Principles. The Review Team supports the effort. It maintains a library of tools and resources for participating countries to use. These include: model legislation; commodity identification guides; legal analysis of United Nations Security Council resolutions; and best practices for sharing information.

Canada serves as Review Team lead in 2016/2017. Other members of the Review Team are: Australia, France, Germany, Norway, Poland, Russia, and the United States.

For more information:

Date Modified:

Initiative de sécurité contre la prolifération

L’initiative de sécurité contre la prolifération (ISP) a été lancée en mai 2003 en réponse au défi croissant posé par la prolifération des armes de destruction massive (ADM), de leurs vecteurs et des matières connexes. Voici une liste des pays ayant entériné les principes de l’Initiative de sécurité contre la prolifération pour novembre 2017.

Les nations participantes ont adopté une Déclaration sur les principes d’interdiction qui comprennent des engagements politiques, consistant entre autres à :

L’ISP se distingue surtout comme une « activité » plus qu’une organisation et reste un mécanisme flexible, volontaire et ouvert.

La position canadienne

Canada a rejoint l’ISP en décembre 2003. Plus de 100 autres états participent également à cette initiative. La participation à l’ISP va dans le sens des efforts déployés par le Canada pour renforcer les mécanismes de lutte contre la prolifération en vue de promouvoir la stabilité régionale et la sécurité internationale. La participation du Canada à l’ISP nous aide à :

La participation à l’ISP est caractérisée par son approche multidisciplinaire pangouvernementale. Affaires mondiales Canada est le chef de file des questions d’ordre politique tandis que le Ministère de la Défense nationale est le chef de file des questions opérationnelles.

Le Canada a participé à toutes les réunions du Groupe d’experts opérationnels (GEO) au cours desquelles les spécialistes de 21 principaux états participants à l’ISP se rencontrent pour échanger des informations sur les tendances en matière de prolifération et les réponses possibles. Le Canada a été l’hôte de réunions du GEO à Ottawa (en 2004 et 2015) et à Montréal (en 2006).

Le Canada a aussi participé activement au programme d’exercices de l’ISP, permettant aux états de tester leurs capacités opérationnelles d’interception terrestre, marine et aérienne. En pratiquant des exercices multinationaux, les participants à l’ISP montrent clairement aux candidats-proliférateurs leur volonté collective de combattre le trafic illicite d’ADM, de leurs vecteurs et des matières connexes.

Renforcement des capacités et exercices

Le Canada participe aux exercices de renforcement des capacités afin d’aider les pays participants à l’ISP à développer des capacités de lutte contre la prolifération.

L’édition de juin 2017 de l’Exercice TRADEWINDS annuel, par exemple, comporte une composante de lutte contre la prolifération, simulant l’arraisonnement d’un navire marchand suspecté de transporter des matières connexes aux ADM. L’exercice TRADEWINDS est un exercice multinational mené par l’U.S. Southern Command qui promeut la coopération régionale en matière de sécurité et comprend l’interception maritime et la sécurité terrestre.

Le Canada est aussi l’hôte régulier d’ateliers et de séminaires techniques visant à appuyer la lutte contre la prolifération dans les Caraïbes. Ces évènements ont pour objectif le renforcement des capacités dans le secteur, notamment l’application des procédures douanières et l’identification des produits.

Le Groupe d’experts opérationnels

Le Groupe d’experts opérationnels (GEO) de 21 pays, dont le Canada, fournit à ses membres un cadre annuel de rencontre pour partager leurs expériences et coordonner leurs réponses nationales faces aux menaces émergentes.

Le Groupe joue un rôle vital pour garantir l’efficacité de l’ISP en:

Les pays membres du GEO sont :

Capacités et pratiques essentielles

Les efforts portant sur les capacités et pratiques essentielles ont commencé en 2010 afin de fournir des ressources concrètes pour la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration de l’ISP sur les principes d’interdiction. L’équipe d’examen appuie les efforts. Elle gère une bibliothèque d’outils et de ressources qui est mise à la disposition des pays participants. Celle-ci comprend des lois-type, des guides d’identification des produits, des analyses juridiques des résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU et des pratiques exemplaires de partage d’information.

Le Canada dirige l’équipe d’examen en 2016-2017. Les autres membres de l’équipe d’examen sont : l’Australie, la France, l’Allemagne, la Norvège, la Pologne, la Russie et les États-Unis.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification: