UN Security Council Resolution 1540

Resolution 1540 (UNSCR 1540), was adopted unanimously by the UN Security Council in 2004. It places legally binding obligations on States to prevent the proliferation of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons, their means of delivery, and related materials to non-state actors, including terrorists and traffickers of Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) and materials.

Binding obligations

Under UNSCR 1540, States are obliged to do three key things:

Offering assistance to other countries

Importantly, UNSCR 1540 encourages international cooperation and invites States to assist other countries who may need technical, legal, or capacity-building support to fulfil their obligations under the Resolution.

To assist with this, the Resolution established the 1540 Committee, which is supported by a Group of Experts appointed by the Secretary General.  The committee receives reports on 1540 implementation produced by States, and matches technical assistance requests and offers. It also raises awareness of the risk of WMD proliferation and conducts outreach.

Canada and UNSCR 1540

Canada supports the full and universal implementation of UNSCR 1540 as an important means to reduce WMD proliferation and security risks.

Canada works with its partners to advance implementation, including by encouraging the submission of reports and action plans by all UN Member States to the 1540 Committee. To date, Canada has submitted three national reports and two national action plans.

At the 2014 Nuclear Security Summit, Canada led a joint initiative with the Republic of Korea encouraging 1540 implementation. Following a Comprehensive Review of UNSCR 1540 in 2016, Canada co-sponsored UNSCR 2325 which urged States to intensify UNSCR 1540 implementation efforts.

Through its WMD Threat Reduction Program, Canada is providing capacity-building assistance which supports 1540 implementation in several regions worldwide.

Related links

Date Modified:

Résolution 1540 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU

La résolution 1540 (RC SNU 1540), a été adoptée à l’unanimité par le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU en 2004. Il impose des obligations légales aux États afin de prévenir la prolifération des armes nucléaires, chimiques, et biologiques, de leurs vecteurs, et des matières connexes parmi les acteurs non-étatiques, y compris les terroristes et les trafiquants d’armes de destruction massive (ADM) et de matières connexes.

Obligations contraignantes

En vertu de la RC SNU 1540, les États sont tenus de prendre trois mesures clés:

Apporter de l’aide aux autres pays

Il est important de noter que la RC SNU 1540 encourage la coopération internationale et invite les États à aider d’autres pays pouvant avoir besoin de soutien technique, juridique, ou d’une aide au renforcement des capacités pour remplir leurs obligations en vertu de la résolution.

À cet effet, la résolution a mis en place le Comité 1540, qui est appuyé par un groupe d’experts nommés par le Secrétaire général.  Le Comité reçoit des rapports rédigés par les États sur la mise en œuvre de la résolution 1540, et fait concorder l’offre et la demande d’aide technique. Il sensibilise aux risques associés à la prolifération des ADM et mène des activités d’information et de sensibilisation.

Le Canada et la RC SNU 1540

Le Canada appuie la mise en œuvre intégrale et universelle de la RC SNU 1540, comme un moyen important pour réduire la prolifération des AMD et atténuer les risques liés à la sécurité.

Le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires pour faire progresser sa mise en œuvre, y compris en encourageant la présentation, par tous les états membres de l’ONU, de rapports et de plans d’action au Comité 1540. À ce jour, le Canada a présenté trois rapports nationaux et deux plans d’action nationaux.

Lors du Sommet de 2014 sur la sécurité nucléaire, le Canada a codirigé avec la République de Corée, une initiative commune encourageant la mise en œuvre de la résolution 1540. Après une étude approfondie de la RC SNU 1540 en 2016, le Canada a coparrainé la RC SNU 2325 qui presse les États d’intensifier leurs efforts pour mettre en œuvre la RC SNU 1540.

Dans le cadre de son Programme de réduction de la menace des ADM, le Canada a apporté une aide au renforcement des capacités qui soutient la mise en œuvre de la résolution 1540 dans plusieurs régions du monde.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: