Wassenaar Arrangement

The Wassenaar Arrangement’s goal is to contribute to security and stability by promoting transparency and responsibility in transfers of conventional arms and dual-use goods and technology.

It is named after a suburb of The Hague where an agreement was reached to start a new type of multilateral cooperation. The Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-use Goods and Technologies was established in 1996.

Preventing the accumulation of weapons

Through transparency and responsibility the Wassenaar Arrangement seeks to ensure that transfers of controlled items do not contribute to the development or enhancement of military capabilities that can undermine regional and international security and stability.

Canada, together with 32 other countries, was a founding member of this organization. There are now 41 Participating States.

Enhancing cooperation

The Wassenaar Arrangement is intended to enhance co-operation to prevent the acquisition of armaments and sensitive dual-use items for military end-uses.

The Wassenaar Arrangement is not directed against any state or group of states and does not seek to impede legitimate civil transactions. It also complements and reinforces, with minimal duplication, the other export control regimes for weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems.

Through its membership in the Wassenaar Arrangement, Canada has committed to control:

These items can be found under Groups 1 and 2 of the Export Control List.

Related links

Date Modified:

L’Accord de Wassenaar

L’objectif de l’Accord de Wassenaar est de contribuer à la sécurité et à la stabilité en encourageant la transparence et la responsabilité lors des transferts d’armes conventionnels et et des produits et technologies à double usage.

Son nom est celui d’une banlieue de La Haye où l’accord a été atteint pour engager une nouvelle forme de coopération multilatérale. Les contrôles à l’exportation des armes conventionnelles et des produits et technologies à double usage ont été instaurés en 1996.

Prévenir les accumulations d’armes

En s’appuyant sur la transparence et la responsabilité, l’Accord de Wassenaar s’efforce de veiller à ce que les transferts des produits contrôlés ne contribuent pas au développement ou à l’accroissement des capacités militaires susceptibles de nuire à la stabilité et la sécurité régionale et internationale.

Le Canada, ainsi que 32 autres pays, est un membre fondateur de cette organisation. Celle-ci compte à présent 41 États participants.

Une coopération renforcée

L’objectif de l’Accord de Wassenaar consiste à renforcer la coopération afin d’empêcher l’acquisition d’armements et d’autres produits délicats à double usage à des fins militaires.

L’Accord de Wassenaar ne vise pas un État ou un groupe d’États en particulier et n’entend pas empêcher les transactions civiles menées de bonne foi. Il complète et renforce, avec un minimum de chevauchements, les autres mécanismes existants de contrôle des armes de destruction massive et de leurs systèmes de lancement.

Dans le cadre de son adhésion à l’Accord de Wassenaar, le Canada s’est engagé à contrôler :

Ces articles sont compris dans les groupes 1 et 2 de la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (LMEC).

Liens connexes

Date de modification: