Increasing transparency of international assistance

When citizens, civil society and government officials have access to information on international assistance activities, they can plan more effectively against their priorities, monitor the implementation of projects and evaluate what this assistance is achieving. This leads to resources being used as effectively as possible to reduce poverty and improve people's lives. Access to information is the foundation for accountability.

This is why we are committed to transparency and accountability. As such, we publish increasing amounts of information and report regularly to Canadians on our international assistance plans, activities and results throughout the year.

Our efforts towards accountability and transparency

We became one of the first donor countries to offer an online project database featuring international assistance projects in 2004. At that time the former Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) created the first version of the Project Browser to complement information available through more traditional publications.

Commitments to transparency were also an important component of the declaration adopted at the second High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness in Paris, France (2005).

At the fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness in Busan, South Korea (2011), Canada and other donors further committed to increase the availability of public information on development activities by following a common, open standard for electronic publication of information on development cooperation.

In addition, Canada has joined a number of international initiatives and partnerships committed to transparency since 2011, including the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) and the Open Government Partnership.

Canada is among the world leaders in publishing open data on its international assistance. Users have access to the data through a range of products to meet various needs: 

In addition to open data, Global Affairs Canada also publishes a range of narrative information and more formal reports on a regular basis, including:

Canada is continuously working on improving the quality, quantity, accessibility and usability of the information it makes available to the public on its international assistance activities.

Canada and the International Aid Transparency Initiative

The International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) aims to improve the transparency, accountability, and effectiveness of international aid by making aid-related information easier to find, use and compare.

Donor countries, developing country governments and non-governmental organizations who sign on to IATI commit to publishing more timely, comprehensive, and forward-looking information on international assistance. IATI has developed an international standard for publishing this information and offers access to all IATI data through its Registry and various tools.

Canada joined IATI in November 2011, through the former CIDA, and started publishing data in 2012 in accordance with its implementation schedule. The range and quality of the data is improving continuously, as demonstrated by independent assessments. For example, Global Affairs Canada scored 76.3%, in the 2016 Aid Transparency Index, making the “good” category and placing fourth among bilateral donor agencies. Its overall score has increased since 2012.

Finance Canada and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) released their first IATI data sets in 2015. As a result, about 90% of Canada’s official development assistance is now available in the IATI standard.

In 2016, Canada was elected Chair of the IATI Governing board for a two-year term. In 2017, Global Affairs Canada released a new version of Project Browser which provides direct access to its IATI data in a user-friendly interface.

Related links

Date Modified:

Accroissement de la transparence de l’aide internationale

Lorsque les citoyens, la société civile et les fonctionnaires ont accès à l’information au sujet des activités relatives à l’aide internationale, ils peuvent établir leur planification efficacement en fonction de leurs priorités, suivre la réalisation des projets et évaluer les résultats obtenus. Cela permet également d’utiliser les ressources de la façon la plus efficace possible pour réduire la pauvreté et améliorer la qualité de vie des populations. L’accès à l’information est la pierre d’assise de la reddition de comptes.

Pour cette raison, nous nous engageons à faire preuve de transparence et à rendre des comptes. Ainsi, nous publions régulièrement et tout au long de l’année de plus en plus d’information et de comptes rendus à l’intention des Canadiens au sujet de nos plans et de nos activités en matière d’aide internationale ainsi que des résultats que nous obtenons.

Nos efforts pour la reddition de comptes et la transparence

En 2004, nous sommes devenus l’un des premiers pays donateurs à offrir une banque de données en ligne qui répertorie les projets d’aide internationale. L’ancienne Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) avait alors créé la première version de la Banque de projets afin de compléter l’information disponible dans les publications traditionnelles.

Les engagements à l’égard de la transparence constituaient aussi un volet important de la déclaration adoptée au second Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide, à Paris, en France (2005).

Lors du quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide, tenu à Busan, en Corée du Sud (2011), le Canada et d’autres donateurs se sont engagés de nouveau à accroître la disponibilité de l’information publique sur les activités de développement en suivant une norme commune et ouverte pour la publication par voie électronique de l’information sur la coopération en matière de développement.

En outre, le Canada participe depuis 2011 à d’autres initiatives et partenariats internationaux en faveur de la transparence, dont l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l’aide (IITA) et le Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert.

Sur la scène internationale, le Canada fait partie des chefs de file en ce qui concerne la publication de données ouvertes sur l’aide internationale. Les utilisateurs ont accès aux données au moyen de divers outils, qui répondent à différents besoins :

En plus des données ouvertes, Affaires mondiales Canada publie régulièrement une panoplie de renseignements descriptifs ainsi que des rapports officiels, notamment :

Le Canada travaille continuellement à améliorer la qualité, la quantité, l’accessibilité et la convivialité de l’information qu’il rend publique au sujet de ses activités d’aide internationale.

Le Canada et l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l’aide

L’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l’aide (IITA) vise à améliorer la transparence et l’efficacité de l’aide internationale ainsi que la reddition de comptes à son sujet en rendant l’information à cet égard plus facile à trouver, à consulter et à comparer.

Les pays donateurs, les gouvernements des pays en développement et les organisations non gouvernementales qui participent à l’IITA se sont engagés de ce fait à publier en temps voulu des renseignements détaillés et prévisionnels sur l’aide internationale. L’IITA a donné lieu à une norme internationale sur la publication de cette information et l’IITA donne accès à toutes ses données par le biais de son registre et d’autres outils.

Le Canada s’est joint à l’IITA en novembre 2011 par l’intermédiaire de l’ancienne ACDI et a commencé à publier des données en 2012 conformément à son plan de mise en oeuvre. La gamme et la qualité des données s’améliorent continuellement, comme des évaluations indépendantes le montrent. Par exemple, Affaires mondiales Canada a obtenu la note de 76,3 % selon l’Indice de la transparence de l’aide 2016, note qualifiée de « bonne »; le Canada s’est ainsi classé au quatrième rang des donateurs d’aide bilatérale. Par ailleurs, la note globale du Canada augmente depuis 2012.  

Finances Canada et le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) ont publié leurs premiers ensembles de données rattachés à l’IITA en 2015. À l'heure actuelle, environ 90 % de l’information sur l’aide publique au développement du Canada est disponible conformément à la norme de l’IITA.

En 2016, le Canada a été élu à la présidence du conseil d’administration de l’IITA. En 2017, Affaires mondiales Canada a lancé une nouvelle version de la Banque de projets, qui donne directement accès à ses données rattachées à l’IITA grâce à une interface conviviale.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: