Summary Report of the Discussion on the Government of Canada’s Post-2015 Development Priorities

Background

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) convened a half-day discussion on the Post-2015 Development Agenda in partnership with the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) and the Canadian Association of International Development Professionals (CAIDP) before their annual International Cooperation Days conference. This event was held on May 12, 2015 in Gatineau, Quebec, and brought together representatives from civil society, the private sector and academia to discuss Canada’s role in, and priorities for, the Post-2015 Development Agenda. Following a keynote address by the Minister of International Development and Minister for La Francophonie, the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Strategic Policy Branch set the context for the dialogue. Participants then divided into three breakout groups where they discussed: 1) prioritization in the Agenda; 2) accountability, monitoring and follow-up; and 3) implementation of the goals, including financing for development. Key points raised during the roundtable discussions were documented on flip chart papers that were placed throughout the room. Participants were invited to indicate their priority issue areas through a voting exercise by placing coloured dots next to specific themes on the flip chart papers. Below is a summary of participants’ comments that received broad support through the voting exercise. Together with the comments received through the online request for feedback on the government’s Post-2015 development priorities, this discussion has helped inform Canada’s approach to the negotiation and implementation of the Post-2015 Development Agenda. 

Priority Areas as Identified by Participants

Many of the most important issues appeared in several of the break-out groups. These are the recommendations that received the highest support across the three sessions through the voting exercise:

Priorities for the Post-2015 Development Agenda

Development Cooperation

The Role of Civil Society in the Post-2015 Development Agenda

Monitoring and review in the Post-2015 Development Agenda

The Private Sector in Development and Private Sector Accountability

Summary and Conclusions

This event provided a forum for participants and DFATD to exchange views on both the Post-2015 Development Agenda and the Financing for Development processes. Across the three breakout sessions, participants expressed their views about issue areas such as the importance of addressing climate change, increasing official development assistance, and the universal application of the Post-2015 Agenda. Discussions also recommended that DFATD take a human rights-based approach to development, wherein citizen participation (especially of vulnerable groups), local ownership and long-term commitment are important.

Comments also reflected that citizens need to be able to hold their governments to account for development outcomes, and that Canada can be a model for civil society participation. Providing support to the advocacy and capacity building work of CSOs was mentioned as critical in helping build accountability in developing countries – even when there is less recognition of this work and it does not fit into traditional planning models. Participants also expressed their desire to see a Post-2015 accountability framework that engages a diverse range of stakeholders, is participatory and beneficiary-focused, and allows failures and challenges to be reported on.

Though participants were open to the idea of working with the private sector, they expressed several concerns. The accountability of the private sector as a development actor was a leading concern, as were the limitations of the private sector as a development actor if its primary motive is profit. If CSOs are to be involved in supporting innovative financing, participants stressed their need for a clearer definition of the concept.

Government of Canada negotiators took many of these recommendations into account in negotiations. They highlighted areas such as: a rights-based approach; multi-stakeholder engagement, particularly around accountability mechanisms; the protection of civil society space; and a positive, rather than punitive approach to monitoring. DFATD would like to thank those who participated in this discussion and contributed to a constructive consultation process.

Date Modified:

Rapport sommaire de la discussion sur les priorités de développement du Canada pour l'après-2015

Contexte

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) a tenu une discussion d’une demi-journée sur le programme de développement pour l’après-2015, en partenariat avec le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI) et le Regroupement des professionnels canadiens en développement international (RPCDI) avant les Journées de la coopération internationale, leur conférence annuelle. Cet événement, qui s’est déroulé à Gatineau (Québec) le 12 mai 2015, a réuni des représentants de la société civile, du secteur privé et du milieu universitaire afin de discuter du rôle et des priorités du Canada dans le Programme de développement pour l’après-2015. À la suite de l’allocution du ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie, le sous-ministre adjoint de la Politique stratégique a mis la table en vue du dialogue. Les participants ont ensuite formé trois petits groupes, dans lesquels ils ont discuté : 1) des priorités du programme, 2) de la responsabilisation, de la surveillance et du suivi, 3) de la mise en œuvre des objectifs, y compris du financement du développement. Les principaux points soulevés au cours des tables rondes ont été consignés sur des tableaux de papier disposés dans la salle. Au moyen d’un vote, on a invité les participants à indiquer leurs enjeux prioritaires en apposant des points de couleurs à côté des différents thèmes inscrits sur les tableaux de papier. Ce qui suit est un résumé des commentaires des participants qui ont été les plus appuyés au cours du vote. Cette discussion, alliée aux commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la demande de rétroaction en ligne sur les priorités de développement du Canada pour l'après-2015, a permis d’éclairer l’approche du Canada en ce qui concerne la négociation et la mise en œuvre du Programme de développement pour l’après-2015.

Domaines prioritaires recensés par les participants

Plusieurs enjeux parmi les plus importants ont été recensés dans plus d’un petit groupe. Voici les recommandations qui ont été les plus appuyées, dans le cadre du vote, au cours des trois séances :

Priorités de développement pour l’après-2015

Coopération en matière de développement

Le rôle de la société civile dans le Programme de développement pour l’après-2015

Suivi et examen dans le Programme de développement pour l’après-2015

Rôle du secteur privé dans le développement et responsabilisation du secteur privé

Résumé et conclusions

L’événement a permis aux participants et au MAECD d’échanger leurs points de vue sur le Programme de développement pour l’après-2015 et sur le financement des processus de développement. Au cours des trois séances, les participants ont fait connaître leurs opinions sur des enjeux tels que le traitement des changements climatiques, l’augmentation de l’aide au développement officielle, et l’application universelle du Programme de développement pour l’après-2015. Dans les discussions, on a également recommandé que l’approche du MAECD vis-à-vis du développement en soit une axée sur les droits de la personne où la participation des citoyens (principalement des groupes vulnérables), la prise en charge locale et l’engagement local à long terme sont des aspects importants.

Les commentaires reflétaient également le besoin que les citoyens puissent tenir leurs gouvernements responsables des résultats en matière de développement, et que le Canada soit un modèle en matière de participation de la société civile. L&rsqrsquo;appui des activités de défense et de renforcement des capacités des OSC a été mentionné en tant qu’aspect important pour faciliter la responsabilisation dans les pays en développement – même là où ces activités sont moins reconnues et n’entrent pas dans les modèles de planification traditionnels. Les participants ont aussi exprimé le souhait qu’on adopte un modèle de responsabilisation pour l’après-2015 participatif, axé sur les bénéficiaires, mobilisant un éventail varié d’intervenants et permettant de faire état des échecs et des défis.

Bien que les participants fussent ouverts à l’idée de collaborer avec le secteur privé, ils ont exprimé quelques préoccupations. La principale de ces préoccupations était la responsabilisation du secteur privé en tant qu’acteur de développement, tout comme ses limites dans ce rôle si son motif central est la réalisation de profits. Si les OSC devaient participer aux modes de financement novateurs, les participants ont souligné le besoin de définir plus clairement ce concept.

Les négociateurs du gouvernement du Canada ont tenu compte d’un grand nombre de ces recommandations dans le cadre de leurs négociations. Ils ont fait ressortir différents points, comme une approche axée sur les droits, une participation plurilatérale (surtout en ce qui concerne les mécanismes de responsabilisation), la protection de l’espace de la société civile, et une approche positive – plutôt que punitive – de la surveillance. Le MAECD aimerait remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont participé à la discussion et qui ont contribué à rendre constructif ce processus de consultation.

Date de modification: