Canada’s engagement in Afghanistan

Afghanistan remains a country devastated by more than three decades of conflict. During the period from 2001 and 2016, the Government of Canada has invested approximately $2.8 billion in reconstruction and stabilisation efforts in Afghanistan, of which close to $2.2 billion has been disbursed for development assistance. Canada is also the 9th largest single-country donor providing humanitarian assistance to Afghanistan. While important progress has been made on a number of social, development and economic indicators, Afghanistan remains one of the world’s least developed, poorest and most fragile states, and continues to be characterized by pervasive human rights abuses, conflict and violence. Canada recognizes that in Afghanistan, time is needed for societal changes that result in protecting and upholding human rights, particularly for women and girls, and understands that given Afghanistan’s low level of development and the ongoing conflict, realizing sustainable development results is a long-term endeavor.

In July 2016, at the NATO summit in Warsaw, the Prime Minister pledged $465 million to Afghanistan, including $270 million for development assistance and $195 million for security support from 2017-2020. This funding, referred to as the Warsaw commitment, will be used to sustain the Afghan National Defense and Security Forces (ANDSF), to support women’s and girls’ rights and empowerment, and to help meet the basic needs of Afghans.

Security programming

Canada has invested in peace and security programming in Afghanistan through support for the sustainment of the ANDSF since 2005. This concerted investment has built the capacity of the Afghan National Army and the Afghan National Police and supported complementary efforts in justice and corrections as part of Canada’s whole-of-government effort. The Warsaw commitment of $195 million for security will help to sustain the ANDSF and contribute to building its capacity, including the recruitment, training and retention of women in Afghanistan’s security sector, ensuring respect for international humanitarian law, and the better protection of civilians.

International development assistance

Canada has had an active development presence in Afghanistan for decades, and is committed to helping Afghanistan achieve its development goals, including building the self-reliance of the Afghan government to deliver basic services to its people and to empowering Afghan women and girls through targeted activities. Canada’s funding will be critical to sustaining the progress already made in the country and contributing to a secure and stable Afghanistan.

How does Women’s and Girls’ Rights First apply to Afghanistan?

Afghan women face huge challenges and violence against women is pervasive, yet men and women have equal rights under the Afghan constitution. For the vast majority of Afghan women, life is controlled under a strictly patriarchal society resulting in restricted freedom of movement, and limited access to education, healthcare, justice and employment. Achieving gender equality in Afghanistan will require a long-term response.

The overarching focus on women’s and girls’ rights and empowerment integrated in all Canadian programming in Afghanistan is in line with Canada’s position as a global champion for the Sustainable Development Goals, particularly Goal 5 which seeks to achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls. Through a “Women’s and Girls’ Rights First” approach in its international assistance programming, Canada supports programming that empowers and promotes women’s rights; increases their economic opportunities; reduces their vulnerability to climate change; improves their health and that of their newborns and children; promotes reproductive rights and increases their access to quality basic education.

Humanitarian relief and recovery

Humanitarian assistance is an important component of Canada’s international assistance in Afghanistan. It helps to save lives, alleviate suffering and maintain the human dignity of those affected by humanitarian crises. Our assistance is delivered on the basis of need, and targets the most vulnerable, including Afghan women, men, boys and girls affected by natural disasters and conflict.

Since 2014, Canada has provided $45 million in humanitarian assistance to Afghanistan, including $15 million in 2016/17. In addition to the delivery of humanitarian assistance in Afghanistan, Canada also prioritizes bridging the humanitarian and development divide through discrete programming initiatives. Two main objectives of our humanitarian funding are to build the capacity of Afghan humanitarian actors to plan for and manage natural and conflict-related hazards and disasters, with a focus on the needs and priorities of women and girls; and to enhance the ability of vulnerable communities to protect themselves and recover from natural and man-made disasters and hazards, including mines and explosive remnants of war.

Supporting Afghanistan’s Transformation Decade

Canada is committed to working with the international community to help increase the ability of the Afghan government to deliver basic services to its people. At the London Conference in December 2014 the new Government of Afghanistan set out an ambitious reform agenda covering seven priorities: (i) improving security and political stability, (ii) tackling the underlying drivers of corruption, (iii) building better governance, (iv) restoring fiscal sustainability, (v) reforming development planning and management, (vi) bolstering private sector confidence, and (vii) ensuring citizen development and securing human rights. Underlying these priorities is a strong commitment to improve aid effectiveness in order to increase the impact of development programs on the lives of Afghans.

Canada supports this reform agenda by contributing around half of its bilateral development assistance to the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund (ARTF) and through targeted security support for the Law and Order Trust Fund of Afghanistan (LOTFA) and the Afghan National Army Trust Fund (ANA-TF). Through these trust funds, Canada and international donors work together to strengthen the Government of Afghanistan’s security and development objectives.

For more information on what Canada is doing to support development in Afghanistan, please search the Project Browser.

Examples of results to date

Canada has made substantial contributions through development and humanitarian assistance, military support, police training, rule of law reform, demining, public financial management and reform, human rights and diplomatic engagement with Afghan leaders and the international community. These contributions, along with those of other donors, have helped Afghanistan make significant achievements including the establishment of democratic institutions, improvements in health care and immunization, a major expansion of primary education, the construction of roads and infrastructure, and the formation and strengthening of state security forces. Canadian funds have supported polio vaccination campaigns, training of teachers and health professionals, and invested in the construction of schools and health facilities. With other donors, Canada has contributed to more health clinics and hospitals being available to Afghans, including the 2017-inaugurated Bamyan Provincial Hospital which is the provincial center for MNCH services. Donor-funded demining operations have uncovered and destroyed over 18 million unexploded ordnances, 1.2 million anti-personnel land mines and 60,000 anti-tank mines, resulting in clearing 2,200 square kilometers of hazardous areas which is approximately 78 percent of the total contaminated area in Afghanistan. And finally, Canada’s support to the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission has helped it to exercise its key functions to promote, protect and monitor human rights, especially by addressing violence against women and promoting their full participation in Afghan society.

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan

L’Afghanistan demeure un pays dévasté par plus de trente ans de conflit. Au cours de la période entre 2001 et 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a investi environ 2,8 milliards de dollars en fonds pour la reconstruction et la stabilisation de l’Afghanistan, dont 2,2 milliards ont été déboursés pour de l’aide au développement. Le Canada est également le 9e pays donateur en importance au chapitre de l’aide humanitaire en Afghanistan. Bien que des progrès importants aient été réalisés pour certains indicateurs sociaux, économiques et relatifs au développement, l’Afghanistan demeure un des États le moins développé, le plus pauvre et le plus fragile et continue d’être caractérisé par des violations fréquentes des droits de la personne, des conflits et de la violence. Le Canada reconnaît que l’Afghanistan a besoin de temps pour la mise en place des changements sociaux nécessaires pour la protection et le maintien des droits de la personne, en particulier pour les femmes et les filles, et comprend qu’en raison du faible niveau de développement et des conflits qui perdurent en Afghanistan, l’atteinte de résultats en matière de développement durable est un travail de longue haleine.

Lors du Sommet de l’OTAN à Varsovie en juillet 2016, le premier ministre a promis une aide financière de 465 millions de dollars à l’Afghanistan, dont 270 millions de dollars en aide au développement et 195 millions de dollars pour le soutien à la sécurité pour 2017-2020. Cette aide financière, appelée l’engagement de Varsovie, sera utilisée pour soutenir les Forces de défense et de sécurité nationale afghanes et pour soutenir les droits et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles ainsi que pour aider à combler les besoins de base des Afghans.

Programmes de sécurité

En soutenant les Forces de défense et de sécurité nationale afghanes depuis 2005, le Canada a investi dans les programmes de paix et de sécurité de l’Afghanistan. Cet investissement concerté a renforcé les capacités de l’Armée nationale afghane et de la Police nationale afghane en plus de soutenir les efforts complémentaires en justice et en criminologie dans le cadre de l’effort pangouvernemental canadien. L’engagement de Varsovie de 195 millions de dollars pour la sécurité permettra de soutenir les Forces de défense et de sécurité nationale afghanes et contribuera à renforcer ses capacités, y compris pour le recrutement, la formation et la rétention des femmes dans le domaine de la sécurité en Afghanistan afin de s’assurer du respect du droit humanitaire international et d’une protection accrue des civils.

Aide au développement international

Le Canada a une présence active en matière de développement en Afghanistan depuis des décennies et s’est engagé à aider l’Afghanistan à atteindre ses objectifs de développement, dont l’établissement de l’autonomie gouvernementale afin d’offrir des services de base à la population et de permettre l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles à l’aide d’activités ciblées. Le financement du Canada sera essentiel pour appuyer les progrès déjà réalisés et pour contribuer à la sécurité et à la stabilité de l’Afghanistan.

Pourquoi le projet « les droits des femmes et des filles d’abord » s’applique-t-il à l’Afghanistan?

Même si les hommes et les femmes ont les mêmes droits en vertu de la constitution afghane, les femmes afghanes éprouvent d’énormes difficultés et doivent composer avec une violence sexiste omniprésente. La vie d’une grande majorité des femmes afghanes est contrôlée par une société strictement patriarcale, ce qui signifie une liberté de mouvement restreinte et un accès limité à l’éducation, aux soins de santé, à la justice et à l’emploi. L’atteinte de l’égalité entre les sexes en Afghanistan demandera des efforts à long terme.

Tous les programmes du Canada en Afghanistan mettent l’accent sur les droits des femmes et des filles et sur leur autonomisation, ce qui cadre avec la position du Canada en tant que champion mondial pour l’atteinte du développement durable, en particulier avec l’objectif 5 qui vise à atteindre l’égalité des sexes et à permettre aux femmes et aux filles de se prendre en main. Par son approche « les droits des femmes et des filles d’abord » de l’aide internationale, le Canada soutient des programmes qui encouragent l’autonomie des femmes et font la promotion de leurs droits; qui améliorent leurs possibilités économiques; qui réduisent la vulnérabilité aux changements climatiques ; qui améliorent leur santé et celles des nouveau-nés et des enfants; qui font la promotion des droits liés à la procréation et qui améliorent l’accès à une éducation de qualité.

Secours humanitaire et aide aux sinistrés

L’aide humanitaire est une partie importante de l’aide humanitaire internationale du Canada en Afghanistan. Le Canada vise à sauver des vies, à alléger la souffrance et à maintenir la dignité des personnes touchées par des crises humanitaires. L’aide du Canada est offerte selon les besoins et cible les plus vulnérables, incluant les femmes, les hommes, les garçons et les filles afghans touchés par les catastrophes naturelles et les conflits.

Depuis 2014, le Canada a offert 45 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire à l’Afghanistan, dont 15 millions de dollars en 2016-2017. En plus d’offrir de l’aide humanitaire en Afghanistan, le Canada a également priorisé le fossé de l’aide humanitaire et du développement par des initiatives de programmes discrètes. Les deux principaux objectifs du financement humanitaire sont la construction de la capacité des intervenants de l’aide humanitaire afghans de planifier et de gérer les risques des catastrophes naturelles et des conflits en mettant l’accent sur les besoins et les priorités des femmes et des filles et d’augmenter la visibilité des collectivités vulnérables et leur capacité à se protéger et à récupérer des catastrophes naturelles et celles causées par l’homme, dont les mines et les débris de guerre explosifs.

Soutien à la transformation en Afghanistan sur un horizon de dix ans

Le Canada est déterminé à travailler avec la communauté internationale pour l’amélioration de la capacité du gouvernement à fournir les services de base à sa population. À la Conférence de Londres en décembre 2014, le nouveau gouvernement afghan a mis en place un programme de réforme ambitieux comprenant sept priorités : (i) renforcer la sécurité et la stabilité politique, (ii) s’attaquer aux moteurs sous-jacents de la corruption, (iii) améliorer la gouvernance, (iv) restaurer la viabilité des finances, (v) réformer la planification et la gestion du développement, (vi) améliorer la confiance du secteur privé et (vii) s’assurer du développement citoyen et du respect des droits de la personne. Un engagement fort à améliorer l’efficacité de l’aide sous-tend ses priorités afin d’augmenter les effets des programmes de développement sur la vie des Afghans.

Le Canada soutient le programme de réforme en contribuant pour environ la moitié de l’aide bilatérale en développement au Fonds fiduciaire pour la reconstruction de l’Afghanistan et par un appui ciblé à la sécurité pour le Fonds d’affectation spéciale pour l’ordre public en Afghanistan et le Fonds en fiducie de l’Armée nationale afghane. Grâce à ces fonds, le Canada et des donateurs internationaux travaillent ensemble au renforcement des objectifs du gouvernement de l’Afghanistan en matière de sécurité et de développement.

Pour plus d’information sur les actions du Canada pour soutenir le développement en Afghanistan, visitez la Banque de projets.

Exemple de résultats à ce jour

Le Canada a contribué de manière importante par le développement et à l’aide humanitaire, le soutien militaire, la formation policière, la réforme de la primauté du droit, le déminage, la gestion des finances publiques et sa réforme, les droits de la personne et la mobilisation diplomatique avec les chefs afghans et la communauté internationale. Ces contributions, ainsi que celles d’autres donateurs, ont aidé l’Afghanistan à réaliser des réussites importantes dont la mise en place d’institutions démocratiques, des améliorations aux soins de santé et à l’immunisation, un élargissement majeur de l’éducation primaire, la construction de routes et d’infrastructures et la formation ainsi que le renforcement des forces de sécurité de l’État. Le financement canadien a permis de soutenir des campagnes de vaccination contre la polio, la formation d’enseignants et de professionnels de la santé en plus de permettre des investissements dans la construction d’écoles et d’installations médicales. Le Canada, ainsi que d’autres donateurs, a contribué à augmenter le nombre de cliniques et d’hôpitaux accessibles pour les Afghans, dont l’hôpital provincial de Bamyan qui a été inauguré en 2017 et qui est le centre provincial pour les services de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. Les opérations de déminage financées par des donateurs ont permis de détecter et de détruire plus de 18 millions de munitions explosives non détonées, 1,2 million de mines terrestres antipersonnel et 60 000 mines antichars, ce qui a permis de nettoyer plus de 2 200 km carrés de zones dangereuses, représentant environ 78 pour cent de la zone contaminée totale en Afghanistan. Enfin, le soutien du Canada envers la Commission afghane indépendante des droits de l’homme lui a permis d’exercer des rôles clés dans la promotion, la protection et la surveillance des droits de la personne, en particulier en s’attaquant à la question de la violence faite aux femmes et en faisant la promotion d’une entière participation à la société afghane.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: