Canadian international assistance in Bangladesh

Bangladesh is one of the world's most densely populated countries. With about 169 million people (2015) living in a country about twice the size of New Brunswick, the resulting population pressures are huge.

If you are living in Bangladesh, you are likely to be poor and very vulnerable to natural disasters. You may also be part of the rapidly expanding youth segment of the population—some 34 % of the population is under the age of 15. Bangladesh ranks 139 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2016 Human Development Index.

Bangladesh is also very vulnerable to natural disasters, such as cyclones and severe flooding, which occur with regular frequency, causing damage, disease and loss of food crops.

Yet Bangladesh continues to make important development gains. Both population growth and the incidence of poverty have steadily declined, while the GDP growth rate has averaged 6 percent per year. The proportion of the population living below the international poverty line of US$1.25 per day has fallen: from 70.2 percent in 1992 to 43.3 percent in 2010. Efforts have been made toward achieving The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Bangladesh's many development challenges include:

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see how Canada supports development in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh has been one of Canada's largest development assistance recipients for the last four decades. Continuous dialogue and consultation among development partners (government, non-.    government and donors) guides Canada’s investment choices with respect to international development. Programming has focused on basic education, skills for employment, primary health care, improving governance

In the field of education and skills development, Canada supports efforts to:

In the field of health, Canada supports efforts to:

In the field of human rights and governance, Canada supports efforts to:

Key anticipated results

Progress on aid effectiveness

Since 2009, Canada has participated in Bangladesh’s multi-donor, sector-wide approaches for primary education and health, which are making tangible progress. Canada is an active participant in the Local Consultative Group and its working groups, which is made up of Government of Bangladesh officials, traditional donors and United Nations Agencies.

Date Modified:

Aide internationale du Canada au Bangladesh

Le Bangladesh est un des pays le plus densément peuplé du monde. Avec une population de 169 millions d’habitants (2015) vivant dans un pays faisant deux fois la superficie du Nouveau-Brunswick, la pression démographique est énorme.

Si vous vivez au Bangladesh, la probabilité est forte que vous soyez pauvre et très vulnérables aux catastrophes naturelles. Vous pouvez également faire partie du segment jeune de population en croissance rapide – environ 34 % de la population a moins de 15 ans. Le Bangladesh est classé au 139e rangs sur 188 pays classés en fonction des Données sur le développement humain (2016).

Le pays est aussi très vulnérable aux catastrophes naturelles comme les cyclones ou les graves inondations qui frappent régulièrement et causent des dégâts, des épidémies et des pertes de récoltes.

Bangladesh continue malgré tout de réaliser des gains importants sur le plan du développement. La croissance de la population et l’incidence de la pauvreté ont diminué de façon constante et le taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut s’est chiffré à 6 % par année en moyenne. La proportion de la population vivant sous le seuil de pauvreté de 1,25 dollars par jour a diminué passant de 70,2% en 1992 à 43,3% en 2010. Des efforts ont été accomplis afin d’atteindre les objectifs du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030.

Parmi les nombreux défis de développement durable auquel est confronté le Bangladesh, il y a:

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Bangladesh.

Au cours des quatre dernières décennies, le Bangladesh a été l’un des plus importants récipiendaires de l’aide au développement du Canada.

Le dialogue et les consultations permanentes entre les partenaires de développement (gouvernement, interlocuteur non-gouvernemental et donateurs) contribuent à guider les choix d’investissement du Canada en matière de développement international. Les programmes sont axés sur l’éducation de base, les compétences pour l’emploi, les soins de santé élémentaires, l’amélioration de la gouvernance

Dans le domaine de l’éducation et du développement des compétences, le Canada appuie les efforts visant à:

Dans le domaine de la santé, le Canada appuie les efforts visant à:

Dans le domaine des droits de la personne et de la gouvernance, le Canada appuie les efforts visant à:

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

Depuis 2009, le Canada aux approches multisectorielles, à plusieurs donateurs, de l’éducation primaire et de la santé, celles-ci ayant apportées des progrès concrets. Le Canada participe activement au Conseil consultative local et à ses groupes de travail composés de fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Bangladesh, de donateurs traditionnels et des agences des Nations-Unies.

Date de modification: