Canadian international assistance in Bolivia

Bolivia is the poorest country in South America and is also one of the poorest in the western hemisphere. Although classified as a middle income country, it is at the lower end of that scale.  Indigenous people represent approximately 65% of the country’s 10 million people. The country’s diverse and fragile ecosystems are extremely vulnerable to climate change.

Since 2006, the Government of Bolivia has introduced economic and social reforms designed to meet the basic needs of the poorest people. As a result, moderate poverty has dropped from 59% to 39%, and extreme poverty (under US $1.90 a day) has dropped from 39% to 17% since 2005 (Government of Bolivia). Women and girls have not benefitted as much as men from the country’s economic growth. They are often marginalized, suffer violence, and have limited access to and control over productive resources.

Bolivia ranks 118th out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2016 human development index. Expanding and diversifying the economy (which relies heavily on mining and gas) and creating jobs while reducing inequality are fundamental priorities for the Government of Bolivia. The reduction of maternal and infant mortality rates, among the highest in the hemisphere, is a priority.

Adolescent pregnancies account for a high proportion of maternal deaths. Malnutrition is a contributing factor in the deaths of mothers and children, along with:

Bolivia has maintained a fairly peaceful democracy since 1982, although work remains to be done to improve the professionalism, accountability, and transparency of its democratic processes and institutions and to strengthen the rule of law.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Bolivia.

Canadian development assistance has been active in Bolivia since 1977. Its development program received a strongly positive evaluation for its 2005-2010 results by the Global Affairs Canada's External Evaluation Committee in 2013.

Canada's international development program in Bolivia is closely aligned with the principles of Bolivia's national development plan, which promotes the Government of Bolivia's goals of constructing a new, equitable, more just, and economically vigorous society by addressing the social, democratic, and economic dimensions of development.

The overall goal of the program is to support a more equitable society in which poverty is reduced and the quality of life of vulnerable and marginalized populations is improved. Through its projects, Canada is working to promote women’s rights, increase their access to economic resources, to employment and their participation in decision-making in all areas of society.

Creating a more diverse, sustainable and inclusive economy

Key anticipated results:

Improving the lives of women and girls

Key anticipated results:

Related links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Bolivie

La Bolivie, le pays le plus pauvre de l'Amérique du Sud, est aussi l’un des plus pauvres de l’hémisphère occidental. Bien que classé comme pays à revenu intermédiaire, il se trouve au bas de cette échelle Environ 65% de la population du pays, qui compte 10 millions d’habitants, est autochtone. Les écosystèmes de la Bolivie sont variés, fragiles, et extrêmement vulnérables aux changements climatiques.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement de la Bolivie a adopté des réformes économiques et sociales pour répondre aux besoins fondamentaux des plus démunis. Ceci a permis une réduction de la pauvreté modérée de 59% à 39%, et de la pauvreté extrême (moins de 1,90$/jour) de 39% à 17% (source : le Gouvernement bolivien). Toutefois, les femmes et les filles n’ont pas bénéficié autant que les hommes de la croissance économique du pays. Elles sont souvent marginalisées, souffrent de violence et ont un accès et contrôle limité quant aux ressources productives.

En 2016, la Bolivie occupait le 118e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. La diversification économique (qui s'appuie fortement sur l’industrie minière et gazière), la création d’emplois et la réduction des inégalités, sont des priorités fondamentales pour le gouvernement de la Bolivie. La réduction de la mortalité maternelle et infantile, dont les taux sont parmi les plus élevés de l’hémisphère, est une priorité.

Une proportion importante de la mortalité maternelle est liée aux grossesses chez les adolescentes. La malnutrition, contribue également aux décès des mères et des enfants ainsi que

La Bolivie a maintenu une démocratie plutôt pacifique depuis 1982. La primauté du droit et le professionnalisme, la responsabilisation et la transparence de ses processus et de ses institutions démocratiques doivent toutefois continuer d’être renforcées.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Bolivie.

L’aide canadienne au développement est active en Bolivie depuis 1977. En 2013, le Comité d’évaluation externe d’Affaires Mondiales Canada a émis une appréciation fortement positive au regard de ses réalisations pour 2005-2010.

Le programme canadien de développement international en Bolivie s’harmonise étroitement avec les principes du plan national de développement bolivien. Il assure la promotion des objectifs du gouvernement bolivien visant façonner une nouvelle société plus équitable, plus juste et économiquement dynamique en tenant compte de la dimension sociale, démocratique et économique du développement.

L’objectif global du programme consiste à soutenir une société plus équitable, où la pauvreté est moindre et où la qualité de vie des personnes vulnérables et marginalisées est améliorée. Grâce à ses projets, le Canada travaille à promouvoir les droits des femmes, à améliorer leur accès aux ressources économiques, à l'emploi et à augmenter leur participation aux prises de décision dans tous les domaines de la société.

Créer une économie plus diversifiée, durable et inclusive

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Améliorer la vie des femmes et des filles

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Liens connexes

Date de modification: