Information Brochure on the Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program

PDF Version (769 KB)

Introduction

Regional context

Asia is undergoing a rapid economic transformation that involves sustained economic growth, industrialization, urbanization and more complex ways of moving products to market. Developing Asian economies are experiencing significant social changes as workers move from agriculture jobs into manufacturing. This transition is boosting economic growth, labour productivity and incomes, and helping to move the most vulnerable people out of poverty. Between 1990 and 2011, 950 million people were lifted out of extreme poverty in Asia.

Despite these achievements, poverty and inequality persist. More than 1.6 billion people live on less than US$2 a day in Asia; two thirds of them are women. Rapid economic development and urbanization have contributed to critical infrastructure deficits, environmental degradation, increased greenhouse gas emissions and unequal distribution of wealth. In addition, trade barriers, lack of infrastructure financing and poor regulatory frameworks are limiting economic growth in developing Asian countries and threaten the region’s overall productivity and competitiveness.

About the TRIGR Program

Launched in 2013 by what is now Global Affairs Canada, the Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth (TRIGR) Program contributes to poverty reduction and sustainable economic growth in Asia through building capacity for trade and investment-related economic activities. The TRIGR Program supports initiatives using official development assistance (ODA) funds which, by definition, must contribute to poverty reduction.

TRIGR programming concentrates on three interrelated areas: building capacity for infrastructure through public-private partnerships (PPPs); connecting businesses to regional and global markets; and supporting small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Facilitating the private sector’s contribution to achieving development results permeates these three areas of work.

How TRIGR works

To achieve its expected development results, TRIGR funds multi-country development assistance projects that vary in scope, budget and duration. TRIGR has the capacity to work on regional and country-specific programming, including in ODA-eligible countries where a Canadian bilateral development assistance program does not exist. Indeed, it seeks to complement development assistance provided through other programming channels.

Figure 1: Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program

 Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program Chart

Figure 1: Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program – Details

TRIGR works with Canadian civil society organizations, the private sector, international organizations and multilateral institutions. Its Asia-wide mandate facilitates strategic partnerships with organizations in the region. TRIGR has also developed responsive programming that allows for the rapid deployment of Canadian technical expertise to respond to requests from developing country partners in areas related to TRIGR’s mandate.

The Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program (TRIGR) provides funding to implementing organizations for:

These activities help engage the private sector in development through:

Overall, TRIGR contributes to poverty reduction through sustainable economic growth. It is aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including goals 1 (no poverty), 5 (gender equality), 8 (decent work and economic growth), 9 (industry, innovation and infrastructure), 12 (responsible consumption and production), 13 (climate action) and 17 (partnerships for the goals).

For more information, visit the Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program.

Engaging and Supporting the Private Sector in Development

Eradicating poverty in all its forms and dimensions is central to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, but the challenges to meeting its goals are enormous. In the Asia-Pacific region alone, closing the infrastructure gap, providing universal access to social protection, health and education, and implementing climate change mitigation and adaptation measures will cost an estimated US$2.1 trillion to $2.5 trillion per year. Footnote 1

Figure 2: Estimated investment needs in key SDG sectors

 Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program - Infographic 2

Figure 2: Estimated investment needs in key SDG sectors – Details

Public investors will need trillions of dollars annually to achieve the sustainable development goals. There is a US$2.6 trillion annual shortfall in funding worldwide for the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development across health, education, food security, climate change and infrastructure.

Source: Adapted from United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, “World Investment Report 2014.” Current annual investment includes both public and private investments, defined as capital expenditures. Estimated annual gap based on average between low and high estimates. Note slight variations due to rounding.

Official development assistance (ODA) is just one part of financing the Agenda for Sustainable Development. Facilitating private sector investment for development is essential.

Businesses are central to the development process: they provide jobs and income, and pay taxes that support a viable public sector. In order to succeed, however, the private sector needs stable, predictable and transparent public institutions, as well as an enabling environment that provides access to markets, finance, technology and human capital.

TRIGR uses ODA to encourage private sector investments that address development challenges in Asia and around the world. It helps create trade and investment opportunities for the private sector to expand its footprint in developing countries in ways that promote sustainable economic growth and poverty reduction.

Examples of how TRIGR works with the private sector

TRIGR helps to build the capacity of national governments in Asia to develop public-private partnership projects in infrastructure projects that are ready for private sector investment.

Through projects that help lower the risk of investing in frontier markets, TRIGR also encourages private investment in developing markets that lack access to capital.

Infrastructure Financing through Public-Private Partnerships

Efficient and resilient infrastructure is critical to driving and sustaining economic growth. Sound infrastructure attracts foreign direct investment and positions countries to improve productivity and expand employment and prosperity. In Asia, building strong urban infrastructure is particularly important: the region is home to 12 of the world’s 23 biggest cities and more than 56 percent of the region’s population is expected to live in urban areas by 2030.

However, infrastructure development in Asia has not kept pace with economic growth and urbanization. The Asian Development Bank (ADB) estimates that the region needs to invest US$8 trillion in infrastructure between 2010 and 2020 to maintain current levels of economic growth and poverty reduction. Infrastructure shortages not only hold back inclusive growth and competitiveness, but affect access to basic services. Throughout the region, 1.7 billion people lack access to sanitation and 680 million are without access to electricity.

Despite the urgent need for investment in infrastructure, governments alone cannot provide the funding. Many countries have identified public-private partnerships (PPPs)—which are essentially long-term contracts between governments and private sector entities to build and maintain public infrastructure—as a way to address this challenge. A lack of PPP projects in Asia is, in part, due to the limited public sector capacity to bring projects to market and a weak enabling environment to attract financing. By partnering with the private sector, governments can access private capital and expertise to achieve public benefits.

Did You Know?

TRIGR supports a number of PPP initiatives in Asia. One such initiative is the Asia-Pacific Project Preparation Facility (AP3F), a multi-donor facility managed by the ADB. The AP3F supports poverty reduction by building the capacity of developing Asian governments to prepare, structure and place bankable PPP projects in the market. The facility prioritizes PPP infrastructure projects with regional cooperation, sustainable development and climate change elements.

Developing ADB member countries can initiate proposals for funding to the ADB’s Office of Public-Private Partnership. Assistance from the AP3F may be available to central and local governments, government agencies and other entities eligible to receive assistance from the ADB.

For more information, contact the ADB country office closest to the market under consideration.

A leader in developing PPPs, Canada has a long history of using this approach to build a wide range of infrastructure, including public transit, hospitals and airports. A number of TRIGR projects support Asian countries to develop commercially viable infrastructure projects and establish PPP national policy frameworks. TRIGR has the opportunity to promote Canada’s PPP expertise to the region’s decision makers, mobilize increased Canadian investment in these emerging markets and provide opportunities for the private sector to increase its participation in infrastructure and social service provision in support of greater economic growth and poverty reduction.

Connecting Businesses to Regional and Global Markets

The relationship between trade and poverty reduction is complex. While increased trade can lead to economic growth, it is not sufficient to ensure poverty reduction. Supporting vulnerable groups to benefit from trade liberalization is vital to ensuring that increased openness leads to sustained poverty reduction.

Figure 3: Time to export and import by region, 2013

 Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Program - Infographic 3

Figure 3: Time to export and import by region, 2013 – Details

East Asia and Pacific

South Asia

Europe and Central Asia

High Income: OECD

Latin America and Caribbean

Middle East and North Africa

Sub-Saharan Africa

Source: World Bank. Doing Business Database.

Border procedures need to be sufficiently predictable and transparent to allow producers and consumers to secure the greatest possible benefit from international trade. Furthermore, non-tariff barriers, such as unnecessarily complex licensing and product standards, inhibit international trade. Tackling such non-tariff barriers to trade is essential to improving the flow of goods across borders, boosting competitiveness and sustaining regional economic growth.

TRIGR seeks to improve trade outcomes where development challenges are the most complex. Projects supported by TRIGR work to facilitate the integration of micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs) into global value chains, find practical solutions that reduce costs and delays at the border, and support policy and regulatory reforms that address non-tariff barriers. TRIGR projects also support the Government of Canada’s efforts to champion open trade through bilateral trade agreements by helping targeted sectors adapt to increased trade flows with Canada in a manner that supports poverty reduction.

Encouraging MSMEs to expand into global and regional markets

The TRIGR Program’s $4.74-million APEC-Canada Growing Business Partnership project supports a diverse range of capacity-building activities and helps address the challenges that MSMEs in developing Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) economies face when trying to integrate with regional and global markets.

An MSME sub-fund managed by the APEC Secretariat supports small-scale projects and helps MSMEs in developing APEC economies to expand their businesses, create poverty-reducing employment and integrate into the broader APEC market. A second project component, implemented by the Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada, supports complementary MSME workshops, training sessions, conferences and research. Canada’s support helps to fund studies, surveys, conferences and training focused on business and entrepreneurship skills, access to markets for products and services, and technological innovation.

Access to Finance and Supporting Small and Medium-sized Enterprises

Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are an important engine for economic growth in developing countries in the Asia-Pacific region. SMEs account for an average of 96 percent of all enterprises and 62 percent of the national labor forces in the region, but contribute an average of only 42 percent of GDP.Footnote 2

INFRONT

The TRIGR Program’s $19.95-million New Partnership for Sustainable Impact Investing in Frontier Markets (INFRONT) supported the launch of a US$150 million private equity fund that mobilized more than US$85 million from private investors.

The fund is designed to encourage private investment to support the growth of up to 250 of the most promising SMEs in frontier markets, thereby creating poverty-reducing employment.

INFRONT also supports socially responsible business practices and provides complementary technical assistance to maximize development benefits.

One of the greatest impediments to growth among SMEs in Asian developing countries is a lack of access to financing. SMEs are generally a higher risk than larger businesses and have limited collateral to secure credit. They also struggle to navigate complex border procedures and regulatory requirements, which hamper their potential to expand and benefit from increased trade.

A recent Asian Development Bank study shows that trade finance proposals from SMEs are rejected three times more often than those from larger firms.Footnote 3 Additional studies indicate that 45-55 percent of formal SMEs in emerging markets lack access to formal institutional loans or overdrafts.Footnote 4

TRIGR projects leverage private investment in SMEs, assist governments to strengthen the business enabling environment and provide technical assistance to SMEs to support the development of human capital, management and operational skills and entrepreneurial capacity.

For more information, visit the Canada-Asia Trade and Investment for Growth Regional Program.

Date Modified:

Brochure d'information sur le programme Croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie

Version PDF (945 ko)

Introduction

Contexte régional

L’Asie vit une transformation économique rapide qui se traduit par une croissance économique soutenue, par l’industrialisation, par l’urbanisation et par une plus grande complexité de la mise en marché des produits. Les pays en développement de l’Asie connaissent des changements sociaux importants, car les travailleurs quittent les emplois agricoles pour trouver du travail dans le secteur manufacturier. Cette transition stimule la croissance économique et augmente la productivité de la main d’œuvre ainsi que les revenus, ce qui aide les personnes les plus vulnérables à échapper à la pauvreté. En Asie, 950 millions de personnes sont sorties de l’extrême pauvreté entre 1990 et 2011.

Malgré ces progrès, la pauvreté et les inégalités persistent. Plus de 1,6 milliard de personnes en Asie vivent avec moins de deux dollars américains par jour, et les deux tiers de ces gens sont des femmes. La rapidité du développement économique et de l’urbanisation a conduit à d’importants déficits infrastructurels, à la dégradation de l’environnement, à l’augmentation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et à une répartition inégale de la richesse. De plus, les barrières commerciales, le manque de financement des infrastructures et la faiblesse des cadres réglementaires restreignent la croissance économique dans les pays en développement de l’Asie et menacent la productivité et la compétitivité à l’échelle de la région.

À propos du programme

Lancé en 2013 par le ministère aujourd’hui devenu Affaires mondiales Canada, le programme Croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie (CRIC) contribue à la réduction de la pauvreté et à la croissance économique durable en Asie. Pour ce faire, il mise sur le renforcement des capacités en vue d’accroître l’activité économique liée au commerce et à l’investissement. Les fonds fournis par le programme CRIC proviennent de l’aide publique au développement (APD) qui, par définition, doit contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté.

Le programme CRIC s’appuie sur trois axes d’intervention interdépendants : renforcer les capacités en matière d’infrastructure au moyen de partenariats public-privé (PPP); tisser des liens entre les entreprises et les marchés régionaux et mondiaux; appuyer les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Ces trois axes d’intervention ont en commun la mise à contribution du secteur privé pour obtenir des résultats en matière de développement.

Fonctionnement du programme

Pour atteindre les résultats escomptés sur le plan du développement, le programme CRIC finance des projets multinationaux d’aide au développement dont la taille, le budget et la durée varient. Le programme CRIC a recours à des approches régionales et nationales, notamment dans des pays admissibles à l’APD pour lesquels le Canada n’a pas de programme d’aide bilatérale au développement. Ce programme vise donc à compléter l’aide au développement fournie par d’autres programmes.

Figure 1 : Diagramme du Programme Croissance par l'investissement et le commerce en Asie

Figure 1 : Diagramme du Programme Croissance par l'investissement et le commerce en Asie

Figure 1: Diagramme du Programme Croissance par l'investissement et le commerce en Asie – Détails

Le programme CRIC collabore avec les organisations de la société civile canadienne, le secteur privé, les organisations internationales et les institutions multilatérales. Son mandat, qui s’étend à toute l’Asie, lui permet d’établir des partenariats stratégiques avec des organismes de la région. Grâce à sa souplesse, il peut déployer rapidement des équipes techniques canadiennes pour répondre aux demandes provenant des partenaires des pays en développement dans des secteurs qui relèvent de son mandat.

Le programme Croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie (CRIC) fournit des fonds à des organismes d'exécution pour :

Ces activités contribuent à engager le secteur privé dans le développement à travers :

Dans l'ensemble, le programme CRIC contribue à la réduction de la pauvreté par la croissance économique durable. Le programme est aligné aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD), y compris les objectifs 1 (pas de pauvreté), 5 (égalité entre les sexes), 8 (travail décent et croissance économique), 9 (industrie, innovation et infrastructure), 12 (consommation et production responsables), 13 (action pour le climat) et 17 (partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs).

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site du Programme croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie.

Mobiliser et appuyer la participation du secteur privé au développement

L’élimination de la pauvreté sous toutes ses formes et dans toutes ses dimensions est un thème central du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030, mais d’immenses obstacles nuisent à l’atteinte de cet objectif. On estime que, dans la seule région de l’Asie Pacifique, il en coûtera entre 2,1 et 2,5 billions de dollars américains par année pour combler le déficit d’infrastructure, fournir l’accès universel aux mesures de protection sociale, aux services de santé et à l’éducation, et mettre en œuvre les mesures nécessaires pour s’adapter aux changements climatiques et en atténuer les effets. Note de bas de page 1

Figure 2 : Besoins d'investissements estimés dans les secteurs clés de l'ODD

Figure 2 : Besoins d'investissements estimés dans les secteurs clés de l'ODD

Figure 2: Besoins d'investissements estimés dans les secteurs clés de l'ODD – Détails

Les investisseurs publics auront besoin de billions de dollars annuellement pour atteindre les objectifs de développement durable. Il y a un déficit de 2,6 billions de dollars américains de financement annuel dans le monde pour le programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 pour la santé, l’éducation, la sécurité alimentaire, les changements climatiques et l’infrastructure.

Source : Adapté de Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement, « Rapport sur l’investissement dans le monde 2014. » Investment actuel annuel incluant les investissements publics et privés, définies comme les investissements de capitaux. Le déficit d’investissement annuel estimé basé sur la moyenne entre les estimations faibles et élevées. Notez de légères variations en raison des arrondissements.

L’aide publique au développement (APD) ne constitue qu’une partie du financement du Programme de développement durable. Faciliter les investissements du secteur privé pour le développement est essentiel.

Les entreprises occupent une place centrale dans le processus de développement : elles créent des emplois et des revenus, et les impôts qu’elles paient soutiennent un secteur public viable. Toutefois, pour réussir, les entreprises privées ont besoin d’institutions publiques stables, prévisibles et transparentes, ainsi que d’un climat commercial leur permettant d’accéder aux marchés, au financement, à la technologie et au capital humain.

Le programme CRIC utilise l’APD pour encourager les investisseurs du secteur privé qui répondent aux défis du développement en Asie et ailleurs dans le monde (encadré 1). Il aide à créer des possibilités de commerce et d’investissement pour que le secteur privé puisse intensifier sa présence dans les pays en développement par des moyens qui favorisent de façon durable la croissance économique et la réduction de la pauvreté.

Encadré 1 : Des exemples de comment le programme CRIC collabore avec le secteur privé

Le programme CRIC contribue à renforcer les capacités des gouvernements nationaux d’Asie à élaborer des partenariats public-privé pour mener à bien des projets d’infrastructure susceptibles d’attirer des investissements du secteur privé.

Par le truchement de projets qui atténuent le risque d’investir dans les marchés frontières, le programme CRIC encourage également l’investissement privé dans les pays en développement qui ont peu accès au capital.

Financer l’infrastructure au moyen de partenariats public-privé

Une infrastructure efficiente et résiliente est cruciale pour stimuler et maintenir la croissance économique. Les pays qui ont une infrastructure solide attirent l’investissement direct étranger et sont en bonne position pour améliorer leur productivité et pour augmenter l’emploi et la prospérité. En Asie, l’édification d’une infrastructure urbaine solide revêt une importance particulière : la région compte 12 des 23 plus grandes villes du monde et, d’ici 2030, plus de 56 % de la population de la région devrait habiter dans les régions urbaines.

Toutefois, le développement de l’infrastructure en Asie n’a pas suivi le rythme de la croissance économique et de l’urbanisation. La Banque asiatique de développement (BAD) estime que la région devra investir huit billions de dollars américains dans l’infrastructure entre 2010 et 2020 pour soutenir le niveau actuel de croissance économique et de réduction de la pauvreté. Les carences dans l’infrastructure freinent non seulement la croissance inclusive et la compétitivité, mais aussi l’accès aux services de base. Dans l’ensemble de la région, 1,7 milliard de personnes n’ont pas accès à des installations sanitaires, et 680 millions sont sans électricité.

Malgré le besoin urgent d’investir dans l’infrastructure, les gouvernements ne peuvent à eux seuls pourvoir au financement nécessaire. Pour relever ce défi, de nombreux pays se sont tournés vers les partenariats public-privé (PPP), qui sont essentiellement des marchés à long terme passés entre des gouvernements et des entitéacute;s du secteur privé pour la construction et l’entretien de l’infrastructure publique. Peu de projets en PPP voient le jour en Asie, en partie parce que le secteur public a une capacité restreinte de mener à bien de tels projets et parce qu’il existe un climat peu propice à l’investissement. En s’alliant au secteur privé, les gouvernements peuvent accéder au capital et au savoir-faire des entreprises pour le plus grand bien de la population.

Encadré 2 : Saviez-vous que…

Le programme CRIC appuie diverses initiatives de PPP en Asie. Une de ces initiatives est le mécanisme de préparation de projet Asie Pacifique (AP3F). Ce mécanisme à donateurs multiples géré par la BAD vise à réduire la pauvreté en renforçant les capacités des gouvernements des pays en développement d’Asie à concevoir, à structurer et à réaliser des projets prometteurs de PPP. La priorité est accordée à des projets d’infrastructure qui comportent des éléments de coopération régionale, de développement durable et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

Les pays en développement membres de la BAD peuvent présenter des demandes de financement au bureau des partenariats public-privé. L’aide fournie par le mécanisme AP3F peut être accordée aux gouvernements centraux et aux administrations locales, aux organismes gouvernementaux et aux autres entités admissibles à l’aide de la BAD.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de la BAD le plus près du marché qui vous intéresse.

Chef de file dans l’élaboration de PPP, le Canada a recours de longue date à cette approche pour la construction de diverses infrastructures, allant des transports en commun aux hôpitaux et aux aéroports. Le programme CRIC appuie notamment des pays asiatiques pour qu’ils conçoivent des projets d’infrastructure viables sur le plan commercial et qu’ils établissent des cadres stratégiques nationaux sur les PPP. Le programme CRIC permet de diffuser le savoir-faire du Canada en matière de PPP auprès des décideurs de la région et de mobiliser des investissements canadiens accrus dans ces marchés émergents. Il fournit aussi l’occasion au secteur privé de participer davantage à la mise en place d’infrastructures et à la prestation de services sociaux en vue de stimuler la croissance économique et de réduire la pauvreté (encadré 2).

Tisser des liens entre les entreprises et les marchés régionaux et mondiaux

Le lien entre le commerce et la réduction de la pauvreté est complexe. Bien que l’augmentation des échanges commerciaux puisse mener à la croissance économique, cela ne suffit pas à assurer la réduction de la pauvreté. Pour faire en sorte que l’ouverture accrue des marchés mène à une réduction durable de la pauvreté, il est essentiel d’appuyer les groupes vulnérables afin qu’ils puissent profiter de la libéralisation du commerce.

Figure 3 : Délai nécessaire à l’importation et l’exportation, par région, 2013

Figure 3 : Délai nécessaire à l’importation et l’exportation, par région, 2013

Figure 3: Délai nécessaire à l’importation et l’exportation, par région, 2013 – Détails

Asie de l’est et Pacifique

Asie du Sud

Europe et Asie centrale

Revenu élevé : OCDE

Amérique latine et Caraïbes

Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord

Afrique du Sud du Sahara

Source : Banque Mondiale. Doing Business Database.

Les formalités frontalières doivent être suffisamment prévisibles et transparentes pour permettre aux fabricants et aux consommateurs de tirer le plus d’avantages possible du commerce international. En outre, les barrières non tarifaires, comme les normes indûment complexes en matière de délivrance de permis et de normalisation des produits, nuisent au commerce international. Il est essentiel de s’attaquer à ces mesures non tarifaires pour améliorer la circulation transfrontalière des marchandises, pour stimuler la compétitivité et pour maintenir la croissance économique régionale.

Le programme CRIC vise à améliorer les résultats en matière de commerce là où se posent les défis les plus complexes sur le plan du développement. Les projets appuyés par le programme CRIC visent à faciliter l’intégration des micros, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) dans les chaînes de valeur mondiales, à trouver des solutions concrètes pour réduire les coûts et les retards aux frontières et à appuyer des réformes touchant les politiques et les règlements qui régissent les barrières non tarifaires (encadré 3). Le programme CRIC appuie également les efforts que déploie le gouvernement du Canada pour promouvoir l’ouverture des marchés au moyen d’accords commerciaux bilatéraux. À cet égard, le programme aide les secteurs ciblés à s’adapter au flux accru des échanges avec le Canada d’une manière qui contribue à réduire la pauvreté.

Encadré 3 : Encourager les MPME à prendre de l’expansion sur les marchés mondiaux et régionaux

Le programme CRIC appuie à hauteur de 4,74 millions de dollars le projet APEC-Canada de partenariat pour l’expansion des entreprises. Ce projet soutient toutes sortes d’activités de renforcement des capacités et aide les MPME des pays en développement de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) à relever les défis auxquels elles doivent faire face pour s’intégrer aux marchés régionaux et mondiaux.

Un fonds d’affectation secondaire pour les MPME, géré par le secrétariat de l’APEC, appuie de petits projets et aide les MPME des pays en développement de l’APEC à prendre de l’expansion, à créer des emplois qui permettent de réduire la pauvreté et à se tailler une place sur le marché plus vaste de l’APEC. Le deuxième volet du projet, confié à la Fondation Asie-Pacifique du Canada, sert à financer des activités complémentaires destinées aux MPME : des ateliers, des séances de formation, des conférences et de la recherche. Le soutien du Canada sert à financer des études, des enquêtes, des conférences et de la formation axée sur les compétences en gestion et en entrepreneuriat, sur l’accès des biens et services aux marchés et sur l’innovation technologique.

Accès au financement et appui aux petites et moyennes entreprises

Les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) sont un moteur important de la croissance économique dans les pays en développement de l’Asie-Pacifique. Dans ces pays, les PME représentent en moyenne 96 % des entreprises et 62 % de la main-d’œuvre nationale, mais ne comptent que pour 42 % du PIB.Note de bas de page 2

Encadré 4 : Nouveau partenariat

Le programme CRIC appuie le projet Nouveau partenariat pour l’investissement d’impact durable dans les marchés frontières. Ce projet de 19,95 millions a soutenu la création d’un fonds d’investissement de 150 millions de dollars américains qui a mobilisé plus de 85 millions de dollars américains en capitaux privés.

Ce fonds encourage l’investissement privé visant à stimuler la croissance de quelque 250 PME parmi les plus prometteuses dans les marchés frontières, ce qui permet de créer des emplois et de réduire la pauvreté.

Le projet favorise aussi les pratiques commerciales socialement responsables et fournit une assistance technique complémentaire en vue d’optimiser les retombées du développement.

Une des entraves principales à la croissance des PME dans les pays en développement d’Asie est le manque d’accès au financement. Les PME représentent en règle générale un risque plus élevé que les entreprises de plus grande taille et ont moins de biens à offrir en garantie pour obtenir du crédit. Elles ont également de la difficulté à se retrouver dans les formalités frontalières et les exigences réglementaires complexes, ce qui freine leurs possibilités de prendre de l’expansion et de tirer profit de l’accroissement du commerce.

Selon une étude récente de la Banque asiatique de développement, les demandes que présentent des PME pour obtenir du financement au chapitre du commerce extérieur sont refusées trois fois plus souvent que celles qui proviennent de grandes entreprises.Note de bas de page 3 D’autres études démontrent que, dans les pays émergents, 45 % à 55 % des PME de l’économie officielle n’ont pas accès aux prêts institutionnels ni aux découverts bancaires.Note de bas de page 4

Les projets du programme CRIC mobilisent l’investissement privé dans les PME (encadré 4), aident les gouvernements à promouvoir un environnement propice aux affaires et fournissent une assistance technique aux PME de manière à favoriser le développement du capital humain, le perfectionnement des compétences administratives et opérationnelles et le renforcement des capacités en entrepreneuriat.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site du Programme croissance par l’investissement et le commerce en Asie.

Date de modification: