Canadian international assistance in Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso remains one of the world’s poorest countries, ranking 185 out of 188 on the United Nations Development Programme’s 2016 Human Development Index. In 2015, more than 55% of the population lived below the national poverty line.

The average actual growth rate of Burkina Faso’s gross domestic product (GDP) has been approximately 5.4% per year over the last decade (2006-2015).

Agriculture and other industries

The primary sector—particularly agriculture—which employs more than 80% of the labour force, makes up approximately 39% of the country’s GDP. It is vulnerable to climatic conditions, to a limited supply of water resources in the country’s Sahel region, and to fluctuations in global food and petroleum product markets.

Revenues from gold exports have surpassed those from cotton exports since 2009. In 2015, gold accounted for approximately 61.7% of exports of Burkina Faso, and cotton for 13.1%. The service sector is not strong enough to develop an inclusive economy, and the processing sector, which could potentially stimulate the economy, accounts for only 25% of GDP.

Significant progress has been made in the areas of basic education, access to drinking water and combating HIV/AIDS. The primary school enrolment rate rose from 44.4% in 2000 to 84% in 2014, and  the HIV/AIDS prevalence rate in adults aged 15 to 49 decreased from 2,2% in 2001 to 0.8% in 2015.

Political shift

From 1987 to 2014, the political landscape of Burkina Faso was dominated by President Blaise Compaoré. In 2014, a significant popular uprising led to his resignation and a transitional government was appointed with a mandate to organize presidential and legislative elections.

Despite an attempted coup that failed in September 2015, elections were held in November 2015, after which Mr. Roch Marc Christian Kaboré was elected President in the first round. His political party, the “Mouvement du peuple pour le progrès (MPP)”, achieved the highest results in the legislative elections, with 55 members elected out of a total of 127.

Some efforts in the area of good governance have been undertaken, including the adoption of legislative frameworks and ratification in 2006 of the United Nations Convention against Corruption. Despite this, Burkina Faso ranks 76th out of 168 countries on Transparency International’s 2015 Corruption Perceptions Index.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Burkina Faso.

Canada’s international development programming in Burkina Faso supports their National Economic and Social Development Plan 2016-2020, which focuses on three main objectives:

Projects supported by Canada in Burkina Faso are aligned with these areas and aim to reduce poverty.

We deliver assistance in Burkina Faso through several programs and channels covering a wide range of sectors, including governance, health and agriculture.

Other federal institutions, including the Department of Finance and the International Development Research Centre, also contribute to Canada’s development efforts in Burkina Faso.

Increasing opportunities for young people

The country has a high proportion of children and youth, with approximately seven million people under the age of 14. This segment of the population is particularly vulnerable to violence, and economic and sexual exploitation.

Although Burkina Faso has ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1990) and the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (1992), the application of these treaties is hindered by factors such as:

For over fifteen years, Canada has been supporting the Government of Burkina Faso’s initiatives in the education sector. Since 2012, Canada has supported the Government of Burkina Faso’s ten year plan for the development of the basic education sector (2012–2021). This plan aims to improve educational services, make them more accessible, and to develop a skills for employment training program for youth.

Canada finances a project to strengthen the capacity of professionals to ensure the protection of children in the justice system, police stations and community centers. Canada also supports the implementation of Burkina Faso's national gender policy which aims to make educational services more accessible to girls.

Key anticipated results

Agri-food sector

Canada continues its support to the development of the agri-food sector and skills for employment in Burkina Faso. We do this by focusing on the socio-economic strengthening of women and youth and their integration into the job market.

Key anticipated results

Progress on aid effectiveness

Burkina Faso signed the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness in 2005 and the Busan Partnership Agreement for effective development cooperation in 2011.

Based on the Busan agreement, Burkina Faso adopted a national action plan for development cooperation effectiveness (PANED) in 2014. One purpose of the plan is to strengthen the role of the private sector and civil society in the country’s development and build good governance, particularly by implementing anti-corruption measures and strengthening the decentralization process.

Burkina Faso is a model for best practices in public financial management in Africa, which is why 9 out of 10 of

Burkina Faso's main donors provide it with general budgetary support. Canada is a member of the donor coordination group in education and microfinance.

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Burkina Faso

Le Burkina Faso est l’un des pays les plus pauvres de la planète, se classant au 185e rang sur 188 selon l’indice de développement humain 2016 établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. En 2015, plus de 55 % de la population vivait sous le seuil de pauvreté national.

Le taux moyen de croissance réelle du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Burkina Faso est estimé à 5,4 % par an depuis la dernière décennie (2006-2015).

L’agriculture et les autres secteurs

Le secteur primaire, surtout agricole, qui emploie plus de 80 % de la population active, a contribué à environ 39 % du PIB du pays. Il demeure vulnérable aux conditions climatiques, à l’approvisionnement limité en ressources hydriques dans la région sahélienne du pays et aux variations des cours mondiaux des denrées alimentaires et des produits pétroliers.

Depuis 2009, l’exportation des produits d’or a dépassé ceux générés par le coton. En 2015, l’or a représenté 61,7 % des exportations mondiales de Burkina Faso tandis que le coton représentait 13,1 %. Le secteur des services ne permet pas de stimuler une économie inclusive et le secteur de la transformation, potentiellement générateur de valeur ajoutée, ne représente que 25 % du PIB.

D’importants progrès ont été réalisés dans l’éducation de base, l’accès à l’eau potable et la lutte contre le VIH/sida. Le taux brut de scolarisation au primaire est passé de 44,4 % en 2000 à 84 % en 2014, alors que le taux de prévalence du VIH/sida chez les adultes de 15 à 49 ans est passé de 2,2% en 2001 à 0,8 % en 2015.

Changement politique

De 1987 à 2014, le paysage politique du Burkina Faso a été marqué par la présidence de Blaise Compaoré. En 2014, un soulèvement populaire important a entraîné sa démission, et un gouvernement de transition a été nommé avec pour mandat d’organiser des élections présidentielles et législatives.

Malgré une tentative de coup d’État avortée en septembre 2015, des élections ont eu lieu en novembre 2015, au terme desquelles M. Roch Marc Christian Kaboré a été élu président au premier tour. Le parti qu’il a fondé, le Mouvement du peuple pour le progrès (MPP), est arrivé en tête des législatives avec 55 députés sur un total de 127.

Des efforts ont été déployés sur le plan de la bonne gouvernance, notamment la ratification de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption, en 2006. Malgré cela, le Burkina Faso occupe le 76e rang sur 168 pays selon l’indice de perception de la corruption 2015 établi par Transparency International.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Burkina Faso.

La programmation de développement international du Canada au Burkina Faso soutient le Plan national de développement économique et social (PNDES 2016-2020) du gouvernement burkinabé, qui se déploie autour de trois axes principaux :

Les projets du Canada au Burkina Faso concordent avec ces axes et visent à réduire la pauvreté.

Nous acheminons de l’aide au Burkina Faso par le biais de plusieurs programmes et canaux qui touchent une variété de secteurs, dont la gouvernance, la santé et l’agriculture.

D’autres institutions fédérales, dont le ministère des Finances et le Centre de recherche en développement international, contribuent également aux efforts de développement du Canada au Burkina Faso.

Augmenter les opportunités pour les jeunes

Le pays a une grande proportion d’enfants et de jeunes, avec environ 7 millions de personnes qui ont moins de 14 ans. Ces derniers forment un segment de la population particulièrement vulnérable à la violence et à l’exploitation économique et sexuelle.

Le Burkina Faso a ratifié la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant (1990) et la Charte africaine des droits et du bien-être de l’enfant (1992). La mise en application de ces traités est entravée en raison de facteurs tels que :

Depuis plus de quinze ans, le Canada appuie les initiatives du gouvernement du Burkina Faso dans le secteur de l’éducation. Depuis 2012, le Canada appuie le nouveau plan décennal du gouvernement, appelé le Plan de développement stratégique de l’éducation de base 2012-2021. Ce plan vise à améliorer les services éducatifs et à les rendre plus accessibles, ainsi qu’à élaborer un programme de formation axé sur les compétences en emploi à l’intention des jeunes.

Le Canada finance par exemple un projet ayant pour objectif principal de renforcer les capacités des professionnels chargés d’assurer la protection des enfants au sein du système de justice, des commissariats de police et des centres sociaux. Le Canada appuie également la mise en œuvre de la Politique nationale genre du Burkina Faso afin d’augmenter l’accès aux services d’éducation pour les filles.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Le secteur agroalimentaire

Le Canada maintient son appui au développement du secteur agroalimentaire et des compétences vers l’emploi au Burkina Faso. Nous le faisons en mettant l’accent sur le renforcement socio- économique des femmes et des jeunes et leur insertion sur le marché de l’emploi.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

Le Burkina Faso a adhéré à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide en 2005 et à l’Accord de partenariat de Busan pour une coopération efficace au service du développement en 2011.

Sur la base de l’accord de Busan, le Burkina Faso a adopté un Plan d’action national pour l’efficacité de la coopération au développement (PANED, en 2014). Ce plan vise entre autres à renforcer le rôle du secteur privé et de la société civile dans le développement du pays et à consolider la bonne gouvernance, notamment en mettant en œuvre les mesures de lutte contre la corruption et en renforçant le processus de décentralisation.

Le Burkina Faso fait figure d’exemple en matière de meilleures pratiques de gestion des finances publiques en Afrique, c’est pourquoi neuf des dix principaux donateurs lui accordent des appuis budgétaires généraux. Le Canada est membre du groupe de coordination des donateurs en matière d’éducation et de microfinance.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: