Canadian international assistance in Colombia

Colombia is one of the oldest democracies in Latin America. It has a diversified and fast-growing economy and an active civil society.

It is also marked by significant income inequality, weak state presence in certain rural areas, and is recovering from a decades-long internal armed conflict between the government, guerrilla movements, and armed criminal groups.

This conflict subjected the civilian population to a range of human rights violations and threats to their security. Colombia has the world's largest population of internally displaced persons (at least 6.8 million) and one of the largest numbers of landmine victims.

In recent years, the Government of Colombia has succeeded in reducing extreme poverty and in improving basic services in some rural areas. In November 2016, the government and the FARC signed an historic peace agreement ending the last major guerrilla war in the Americas.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Colombia

The overall goal of Canada's international development program in Colombia is to improve human rights and reduce inequality and poverty for the most vulnerable in conflict-affected areas, particularly for women, children, and ethnic minorities.

The Government of Colombia has identified its development priorities in its National Development Plan 2014-2018. Canada's development program in Colombia supports these priorities. Canada also plays a leadership role in overall donor coordination, including by chairing the main Donor Coordination Group and the Donor Roundtable on Gender Equality.

Fostering a more inclusive and sustainable economy

Key anticipated results:

Education and protection of the rights of children and youth

Key anticipated results:

Supporting Colombia’s peace implementation

Canada’s international assistance also supports Colombia’s peacebuilding efforts. This includes being the lead donor to the United Nations Multi-Partner Trust Fund for Post Conflict in Colombia, supporting landmine clearance in 10 of the most mine-contaminated municipalities of the country, and working with the government to bring protection and compensation services for 140,000 hard-to-reach victims of armed conflict in three municipalities.

Related links:

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Colombie

La Colombie est l’une des plus anciennes démocraties d’Amérique latine. Elle jouit d’une économie diversifiée et en forte croissance et elle a une société civile dynamique.

La Colombie est également aux prises avec d’importantes inégalités de revenus, une faible présence de l’État dans certaines zones rurales, et se relève d’un conflit armé interne qui a perduré pendant des décennies entre le gouvernement, des guérilléros et des groupes criminels armés.

En raison de ce conflit, la population civile a subi diverses violations des droits de la personne en plus de voir sa sécurité menacée. La Colombie est le pays comptant le plus grand nombre de personnes déplacées à l’intérieur même du pays (au moins 6,8 millions), et est l’un des pays qui compte le plus grand nombre de victimes de mines terrestres.

Au cours des dernières années, le gouvernement de la Colombie a réussi à réduire la pauvreté extrême et à améliorer des services de base dans certaines zones rurales. En novembre 2016, le gouvernement et les FARC ont signé un accord de paix historique qui a mis fin à la dernière guérilla dans les Amériques.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Colombie.

L’objectif global du programme canadien de développement en Colombie est de faire progresser les droits de la personne et de réduire l’inégalité et la pauvreté au sein des populations les plus vulnérables, notamment les femmes, les jeunes et les minorités ethniques.

Le gouvernement de la Colombie a déterminé ses priorités en matière de développement dans son plan national de développement 2014-2018. Le programme du Canada en Colombie soutient les objectifs du gouvernement colombien en la matière. Le Canada joue aussi un rôle de chef de file, assurant la coordination générale entre donateurs, notamment en présidant le principal groupe de coordination des donateurs et la table ronde des donateurs pour l’égalité des sexes.

Promouvoir une économie durable plus inclusive

Principaux résultats escomptés

Éducation et protection des droits des enfants et des jeunes

Principaux résultats escomptés

Soutenir la mise en œuvre de la paix en Colombie

L’aide internationale du Canada appuie également les efforts en faveur de consolidation de la paix. Ceci comprend notamment être le principal donateur du Fonds fiduciaire multipartenaires des Nations unies pour le post-conflit en Colombie, appuyer les opérations de déminage des dix municipalités du pays comportant le plus de sites contaminés par des mines, et travailler avec le gouvernement pour offrir protection et services d’indemnisation aux 140 000 victimes, difficiles à atteindre, des conflits armés de trois municipalités.

Liens connexes :

Date de modification: