Canadian international assistance in the Democratic Republic of Congo

Rich in natural resources, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has enormous economic and social potential. Nevertheless, little has been done to develop this potential for the benefit of the Congolese people, and so extreme poverty persists throughout the country. The current state of the world’s economy, the decline in demand and prices for minerals, combined with political instability in the country, has had negative repercussions on the economy and democratic space.

According to the United Nations Development Program’s 2016 Human Development Index, the DRC ranked 176 out of 188 countries, and approximately 87.7% of the Congolese were living on less than US$1.90 per day.

The population of the DRC includes a significant number of children and youth: 28% of the people of the DRC are younger than 15 years old. This is a particularly vulnerable segment of the population given the high level of poverty and the lack of basic health care.

Protecting children from violence

In 2001 the DRC ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Some progress has been noted, particularly with the adoption of the Code de protection de l’enfant, which prohibits the drafting and hiring of children younger than 18 years of age by the armed forces, armed groups and the police.

Despite a commitment of the Government of the DRC to prevent child recruitment and sexual violence, the country has limited capacity to ensure the security of its citizens and provide them with health, education, protection, and potable water and sanitation services.

The mortality rate for children younger than five years old (98 individuals per 1,000 live births in 2016) and the maternal mortality rate (693 per 100,000 live births in 2016) remain among the highest in the world. Health care reform is underway to decentralize the administrative structures and improve people’s access to basic services.

Threats from armed groups

The security situation in the DRC remains a matter of concern with several armed groups active in different regions of the country. People continue to be displaced and sexual violence against women and girls remains a problem. According to the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, as of May 2017, there were more than 3,700,000 internally displaced persons in the DRC.

In 2006, after a decade of war and 32 years of dictatorship that demolished its institutions, the DRC held its first democratic presidential elections. The next elections were held in 2011. However, the lack of credibility and transparency of the elections was criticized by the international community and the results were widely disputed. According to the constitution, elections were to be held in 2016, but they have been delayed until 2018.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in the Democratic Republic of Congo

Strengthening the capacity of public institutions is central to Canada's strategy to help establish a more democratic, prosperous, and equitable state. We also provide considerable humanitarian assistance to communities affected by conflict.

Canada is working to strengthen the DRC’s health system, focusing on the most urgent needs of poor communities—particularly mothers, children and youth.

Programs are designed to give these groups better access to quality primary health care. They are also aimed at building the management skills of decision makers in the health sector to make the system more effective.

Canada is supporting the capacities of government officials, local authorities and civil society to help the tens of thousands of women and girls who are survivors of sexual violence. This work is focused on the eastern provinces of the DRC to help combat such crimes by confronting the impunity of the perpetrators.

Canadian programming in the DRC seeks new ways of fighting against and preventing the exploitation and abuse of children, and supports civic education to promote pluralism and respect for human rights and democracy.

Progress on aid effectiveness

The DRC adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness as well as the New Deal for Engagement in Fragile States. This is an international dialogue that aims to support development in fragile and conflict-affected states particularly. It does this by focusing on peacebuilding and state-building goals, including promoting inclusive policies and fighting injustice.

In the health care sector, in the interest of coordinating Canadian assistance with that of other donors, and as requested by the Government of the DRC, Canada mainly focuses its efforts in Kinshasa province.

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en République démocratique du Congo

Dotée d’abondantes richesses naturelles, la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) a un potentiel de développement économique et social énorme. Toutefois, ce potentiel est peu exploité au bénéfice de la population congolaise, et la pauvreté demeure extrême sur tout le territoire. L’état actuel de l’économie mondiale, la diminution de la demande et la chute des prix des minéraux conjugués avec une instabilité politique dans le pays a des répercussions négatives sur l’économie et l’espace démocratique.

En 2016, la RDC occupait le 176e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l’indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, et environ 87,7 % de sa population vivait avec moins de 1,90 $US par jour.

La population de la RDC comprend un grand nombre d’enfants et de jeunes : 28% des Congolais sont âgés de moins de 15 ans. Ils forment un segment de la population particulièrement vulnérable, étant donné le niveau de pauvreté élevé et l’insuffisance des soins de santé de base.

Protéger les enfants contre la violence

En 2001, la RDC a ratifié la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant et quelques avancées ont été enregistrées, notamment l’adoption du Code de protection de l’enfant qui interdit l’enrôlement et l’embauche d’enfants de moins de 18 ans par les forces armées, les groupes armés et la police.

Même si le gouvernement de la RDC s’est engagé à prévenir le recrutement d’enfants et la violence sexuelle, l’État ne dispose que de faibles capacités pour assurer la sécurité de ses citoyens et leur offrir des services de santé, d’éducation, de protection, d’assainissement et d’accès à l’eau potable.

Le taux de mortalité des enfants de moins de cinq ans (98 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes en 2016) et le taux de mortalité maternelle (693 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes en 2016) demeurent parmi les plus élevés au monde. Une réforme du secteur de la santé est en cours afin de décentraliser les structures administratives et améliorer l’accès des populations aux services de base.

Menaces des groupes armés

La situation sécuritaire en RDC demeure préoccupante en raison de nombreux groupes armés actifs dans différentes régions du pays. Les déplacements de population et les violences contre les femmes et les filles persistent. D’après le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires, en mai 2017 il y a plus de 3 700 000 de personnes déplacées en RDC.

En 2006, après 10 ans de guerre et 32 ans de dictature ayant complètement mis à plat les institutions du pays, les premières élections présidentielles démocratiques ont eu lieu. Les élections suivantes ont eu lieu en 2011. Toutefois, la communauté internationale a critiqué leur manque de crédibilité et de transparence et les résultats ont été largement contestés. Selon la constitution, les élections qui devaient avoir lieu en 2016 ont été repoussées jusqu’à 2018.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC).

Le renforcement des capacités des institutions publiques est au cœur de la stratégie du Canada, lequel souhaite contribuer à mettre en place un État plus démocratique, plus prospère et plus équitable. Nous apportons aussi une aide humanitaire substantielle aux populations touchées par les conflits.

Le Canada travaille à renforcer le système de santé congolais en ciblant les besoins prioritaires des populations démunies, en particulier ceux des mères, des enfants et des jeunes.

La programmation vise à améliorer l’accès de ces populations à des soins de santé primaires de qualité. Elle vise aussi à offrir aux décideurs du domaine de la santé des compétences accrues en gestion afin de rehausser l’efficacité du système.

Le Canada s’emploie renforce aussi les capacités des responsables du gouvernement, des autorités locales et de la société civile afin de venir en aide à des dizaines de milliers de femmes et de filles survivantes de violences sexuelles. Cette action est concentrée sur les provinces de l’Est et contribue à la lutte contre ce genre de crime en s’attaquant à l’impunité de leurs auteurs.

La programmation canadienne en RDC cherche de nouvelles méthodes de lutte contre la violence, l’exploitation et les mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants. Elle appuie l’instruction civique pour favoriser le pluralisme et le respect des droits de la personne et la démocratie.

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

La RDC adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l’efficacité de l’aide et participe également au New Deal pour l’engagement dans les États fragiles. Le New Deal est un dialogue international qui a pour but de favoriser le développement dans les États fragiles et touchés par les conflits. Pour y parvenir, il met l’accent sur la consolidation de la paix et les objectifs de renforcement de l’État, y compris la promotion de règlements politiques inclusifs et la lutte contre les injustices.

Dans le secteur de la santé, par souci de coordonner l’aide canadienne avec celle des autres donateurs, et à la demande du gouvernement congolais, le Canada concentre surtout ses efforts dans la province de Kinshasa.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: