Canadian international assistance in Ethiopia

Ethiopia, the second most populous country in Africa with a population of 100 million, is one of the world’s poorest countries. Ethiopia ranks 174 out of 188 countries in the 2015 Human Development Index, and about 33.5 percent of Ethiopians live on less than US$1.90/day. As relatively the most stable country in the Horn of Africa, Ethiopia still faces several long-standing internal and external security challenges including hosting one of the largest refugee populations in Africa.

Ethiopia was hit by a wave of popular protests in late 2015 and 2016 around restrictions on civil, political and land rights. As a means of responding to popular dissatisfaction, especially from its unemployed youth,  the Ethiopian government has committed to reforms intended to create greater accountability; fight corruption,; create jobs; and foster political engagement with the opposition. Canada follows the situation closely, regularly encouraging the Ethiopian Government to create space for civic engagement, and offering assistance with democratic reforms. Canada is following these engagements closely.

In spite of these enormous challenges, Ethiopia has made major development strides: poverty rates have dropped by one third since 2000 and Ethiopia has met seven of the eight Millennium Development Goals. Government programs such as the Productive Safety Net Program are addressing food insecurity and other Ethiopian priority development challenges. In addition, the country has experienced unprecedented economic growth for more than a decade.

This progress has been the result of a series of country-led investments to:

These gains remain fragile, though, as the country continues to be highly vulnerable to shocks, especially climate-related events such as drought.

Ethiopia's continued investment in national programs that aim to meet household food needs and build resilience and productive capacity is necessary in order to protect the fragile gains of the past decade and increase food security for Ethiopia’s people.

Increased focus on measures that will support diversified economic growth and employment, especially for Ethiopia’s young and growing population, will also be key to Ethiopia’s ability to sustain current rates of progress, both in terms of human development and economic growth.

To ensure that growth is inclusive, Ethiopia also needs to ensure all of its citizens benefit from development and democratic engagement. Women and girls in particular need to be empowered to claim their rights. Ethiopia needs to keep making progress in terms of early marriage, abduction, economic and political empowerment, violence against girls and women, and educational disparities.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Ethiopia.

Canada is one of the largest bilateral country donors in Ethiopia. Objectives for programming   focus on human development and economic growth including:

These objectives have been identified by Ethiopia and Canada as central to poverty reduction and will help achieve Ethiopia’s development goals as set out in its second Growth and Transformation Plan, which aims to make Ethiopia a middle income country by 2025. Canada, in partnership with Ethiopia, is supporting the achievement of systematic improvements to numerous human development indicators, and as a result, real changes in the lives and well-being of some of Ethiopia’s most vulnerable people.

Canada will continue to address the root causes of chronic food insecurity in Ethiopia, to improve the nutritional status of food insecure people and to increase agricultural productivity and farmers' incomes via improved production techniques and market-oriented approaches.

Key anticipated results:

Canada supports programs that help diversify the economy and create employment opportunities outside of agriculture for Ethiopia’s young and growing labour force.

Canada will also support Ethiopia in developing its natural resources in a way that delivers sustainable economic benefits, particularly at the community level.

Key anticipated results:

Canada is supporting Ethiopia to make reforms that promote accountable governance, inclusion and pluralism, in particular by strengthening Ethiopia’s federal system.

Key anticipated results:

Canada will also promote the empowerment of women and girls by improving sexual and reproductive health, combatting gender-based violence and harmful practices, and ending child, early and forced marriage.

Key anticipated results:

Progress on aid effectiveness

Ethiopia's strong ownership of development priorities and planning, combined with its impressive commitment of national resources to antipoverty programs, make it a country where official development assistance produces results. Donors have responded with growing and increasingly harmonized aid commitments, resulting in lower transaction costs and greater impact.

Related Links

 

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Éthiopie

Avec une population de 100 millions d’habitants, l’Éthiopie est le deuxième pays le plus peuplés d’Afrique, et l’une des nations les plus pauvres du monde. L’Éthiopie occupe le 177e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l’indice du développement humain 2015 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Environ 33,5 % de sa population y subsiste avec moins de 1,90 $ US par jour. Considéré comme le pays le plus stable de la Corne de l’Afrique, l’Éthiopie faire encore face à plusieurs défis persistants en matière de sécurité intérieure et extérieure, y compris l’accueil d’une des plus importantes populations de réfugiés en Afrique.

L’Éthiopie a été secouée par une vague de manifestations populaires fin 2015 et en 2016 sur les questions de restriction des droits civiques, politiques et fonciers. En réponse au mécontentement populaire, en particulier celui des jeunes chômeurs, le gouvernement éthiopien s’est engagé à effectuer des réformes visant à assurer une meilleure responsabilisation, à lutter contre la corruption, à créer des emplois, et à favoriser l’engagement politique de l’opposition. Le Canada suit la situation de près, encourageant régulièrement le gouvernement éthiopien à créer des espaces de participation citoyenne et offrant son assistance pour des réformes démocratiques.

En dépit de ces défis majeurs, l’Éthiopie a fait d’énormes progrès en matière de développement : le taux de pauvreté a chuté d’un tiers depuis 2000 et a atteint sept des huit Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. Ses programmes nationaux, dont le Programme de filet de sécurité productif, remédient à l’insécurité alimentaire et répondent aux autres défis de développement prioritaires en Éthiopie. De plus, le pays connaît une croissance économique sans précédent depuis plus de dix ans.

Cette avancée découle d’une série d’investissements pilotés par le pays visant à

Ces progrès demeurent fragiles, car le pays reste hautement vulnérable aux pressions inflationnistes et aux chocs, particulièrement aux phénomènes climatiques comme la sécheresse.

Afin de protéger les gains fragiles réalisés dans la dernière décennie et d’accroître la sécurité alimentaire pour sa population, l’Éthiopie doit continuer à investir dans des programmes nationaux qui visent à combler les besoins alimentaires des ménages et à améliorer la capacité de production tout en renforçant la résilience.

Insister davantage sur des mesures qui appuieront une croissance économique diversifiée, y compris l’amélioration du contexte de la croissance des entreprises et de l’investissement local et étranger, sera aussi une aptitude essentielle à l’Éthiopie pour maintenir le rythme actuel des progrès en matière de développement humain et de croissance économique.

Pour assurer une croissance économique inclusive, l’Éthiopie a aussi besoin de s’assurer que l’ensemble de ses citoyens bénéficie du développement et des engagements en matière de démocratie. Les femmes et les filles en particulier ont besoin d’être habilitées à faire valoir leurs droits. L’Éthiopie a besoin de faire des progrès sur les questions de mariage précoce, de renforcement des pouvoirs politiques et économiques, de violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles, et de disparités éducatives.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de l’Éthiopie.

Le Canada est le troisième donateur bilatéral en importance en Éthiopie. Les objectifs des secteurs de programmation axés sur le développement humain et la croissance économique, visent à :

Ces objectifs ont été définis par l’Éthiopie et le Canada comme essentiels pour réduire la pauvreté et aider l’Éthiopie à atteindre ses objectifs de développement établis dans son second Plan de croissance et de développement visant à faire de l’Éthiopie un pays à revenu intermédiaire d’ici 2025. Le Canada, en partenariat avec l’Éthiopie, appuie le processus d’amélioration systématique de nombreux indices de développement humain, et des changements réels qui en découlent dans la vie et le bien-être de certaines populations les plus vulnérables d’Éthiopie.

Le Canada s’attaque aux causes profondes de l’insécurité alimentaire chronique en Éthiopie, améliore l’état nutritionnel des populations en situation d’insécurité alimentaire et accroît la productivité agricole et les revenus des agriculteurs à l’aide de meilleures techniques de production et des approches axées sur le marché.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Le Canada aide l’Éthiopie à entreprendre des réformes favorisant une gouvernance responsable, l’inclusion et le pluralisme, en particulier en renforçant le système fédéral éthiopien.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Le Canada appuie les programmes qui contribuent à diversifier l’économie et à créer des opportunités d’emploi en dehors de l’agriculture pour les jeunes et la population active croissante, y compris en aidant à la création de petites et moyennes entreprises.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

La prise en charge vigoureuse par l’Éthiopie des priorités et de la planification en matière de développement associée à engagement impressionnant en vue d’affecter des ressources nationales aux programmes de lutte contre la pauvreté ont contribué à en faire un pays où les aides officielles au développement produisent des résultats. Les donateurs répondent par des engagements croissants et de plus en plus harmonisés, ce qui contribue à réduire les coûts de transaction et à augmenter les retombées.

Liens connexes

 

Date de modification: