Framework for Cooperation between Global Affairs Canada and the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA)

1. Introduction

This Framework for Cooperation lays out the understanding between Global Affairs Canada and the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). In addition to recognizing UNRWA and Global Affairs Canada’s shared interests, this Framework for Cooperation also outlines Global Affairs Canada’s expectations regarding the implementation of UNRWA’s reform initiatives, regular monitoring and reporting, and compliance with Canadian anti-terrorism requirements. Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA will review this Framework for Cooperation as required. It is understood that this document constitutes mutual commitments by Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA, and is therefore not intended to be legally binding.

2. Shared Objectives

Established in 1949, UNRWA is the only United Nations agency mandated to provide basic services and humanitarian assistance to over five million PalestineFootnote 1 refugees in the West Bank and Gaza, Syria, Jordan, and Lebanon registered with the Agency. UNRWA delivers education, primary health care, relief and social services, infrastructure and camp improvement, and emergency and other assistance to Palestine refugees in its areas of operation. UNRWA’s operations depend almost entirely on the voluntary contributions of UN member states.

Providing humanitarian assistance and responding to the needs of the poorest and most vulnerable is a priority of Canada’s foreign policy and international development agenda. Canadian support to UNRWA helps to address the needs of Palestine refugees and promote stability in the region. Canada expects all its partners to be accountable for the assistance they provide to beneficiaries with Canadian funding.

Given these shared interests, Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA plan to work together to address the following strategic priorities:

3. Implementation of UNRWA Reform Initiatives

In recent years, UNRWA has implemented reform initiatives to improve management capacity, increase program quality and efficiency, and increase financial sustainability and accountability. Consistent with the priorities outlined in the 2016-2021 Medium Term Strategy, implementation of UNRWA’s reform initiatives is ongoing. Global Affairs Canada is particularly interested in:

4. Neutrality Policies

Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA intend to work together, along with other donors, to continue to ensure that UNRWA implements its policies related to neutrality. Neutrality is a UN commitment and one of the four humanitarian principles formally adopted by the UN General Assembly and endorsed by UNRWA. It is understood to mean that irrespective of one’s personal beliefs and opinions, “humanitarian actors must not take sides in hostilities or engage in controversies of a political, racial, religious or ideological nature.”Footnote 2 It is a core obligation and value of UN staff, as well as part of UNRWA’s regulatory framework.

Neutrality is critically important to United Nations humanitarian agencies to gain and maintain the confidence of all and to operate independently, safely and effectively, especially in politically-charged or conflict situations. Neutrality is also a core obligation and value of UN staff and an important condition for donors’ continued trust and financial and political support. Neutrality is integral to UNRWA operations and has been mainstreamed, as applicable, into UNRWA programming. Neutrality activities related to the conduct of staff and programming are integrated into UNRWA’s core work.

Together with other donors, Canadian support will help UNRWA undertake efforts to:

Approximately CDN$500,000 of Canadian funding will be allocated towards supporting: 1) mainstreamed neutrality activities and 2) new neutrality initiatives, thus helping UNRWA to implement its policies.

In addition to these efforts, Global Affairs Canada expects UNRWA to respond, as appropriate, to address credible allegations of neutrality violations, if they arise.

The attached Annex outlines key activities related to Global Affairs Canada’s expectations regarding UNRWA’s neutrality.

5. Monitoring and Reporting

Canada expects its development and humanitarian assistance funding to deliver results for the intended beneficiaries and expects UNRWA to report on these outcomes. Therefore, Global Affairs Canada welcomes UNRWA’s development of a results-based monitoring system to improve the quality and consistency of UNRWA reporting. Likewise, Global Affairs Canada is pleased that UNRWA has committed to develop a platform that enables UNRWA to better manage its programs and projects to achieve intended results as outlined in the 2016-2021 Medium Term Strategy.

Global Affairs Canada also acknowledges the release of UNRWA’s Annual Operational Report, previously called the Harmonized Results Report and now in its fifth year, and is committed to working with UNRWA and other donors to continue to help UNRWA strengthen its reporting to ensure that it responds to the needs of stakeholders. Global Affairs Canada expects UNRWA to continue to strengthen its monitoring and evaluation and internal oversight functions for the effective performance of UNRWA programs.

Global Affairs Canada appreciates UNRWA’s commitment to provide consistent, detailed and on-time narrative and financial reporting to demonstrate that funds are used as intended. Global Affairs Canada’s expectations on reporting are outlined below.

Global Affairs Canada recognizes that UNRWA operates in a highly volatile and fragile environment, where political actions and violent conflict often place limitations on the delivery of its services. Global Affairs Canada also notes that UNRWA is dependent on voluntary contributions provided by UN member states for the majority of its funding, which leads to fluctuations outside of UNRWA’s control. Therefore, Global Affairs Canada will review UNRWA’s performance against identified indicators in light of these constraints.

6. Canadian Anti-Terrorism Legislation Requirements

Canada and UNRWA share concerns about the threat of terrorism, including within the context of the United Nations’ firm commitment to counter terrorism.

UNRWA is committed to taking all possible measures to ensure that funding provided by Global Affairs Canada to UNRWA is not used to provide assistance to, or otherwise support, terrorists or terrorist organizations designated as such on the UN Security Council Consolidated Sanctions List. Global Affairs Canada expects UNRWA to maintain constant vigilance in its efforts and actions. The attached Annex outlines key activities related to Global Affairs Canada’s expectations in this regard.

Canada recognizes that UNRWA has specific rules, policies, and a regulatory framework on neutrality. Likewise, UNRWA recognizes that Canada has specific anti-terrorism legislation requirements and that Global Affairs Canada seeks to fulfill its national obligations on anti-terrorism through specific provisions in financial instruments.

7. Continued Collaboration

In the interest of meeting the goals and achieving the results outlined under this Framework for Cooperation, Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA remain committed to continuous information sharing, cooperation, and collaboration at all levels.

Canada will take an active role in UNRWA’s Advisory Commission, which typically meets twice annually, and aims to provide advice and guidance to UNRWA through its engagement at meetings of the Advisory Commission. Engagement in the Advisory Commission will present the opportunity for Canada to advance and steer ongoing reforms related to governance, effectiveness, and financial administration. Likewise, and consistent with principles of good humanitarian donorship, Canada’s participation will allow for oversight and influence on key issues and any concerns that may arise. Through this participation, Canada will also add its voice to insist upon high standards for monitoring and evaluation of UNRWA programs and strategically engage to further strengthen UNRWA’s approach to gender equality and environmental sustainability.

Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA will participate in regular consultations and communications. Canadian officials at the Representative Office of Canada in Ramallah will have ongoing engagement with UNRWA staff in Jerusalem, while Canadian officials in Ottawa will have ongoing engagement with UNRWA staff in Washington D.C. and New York City. Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA agree to quarterly meetings at the officer level in Jerusalem/Ramallah, and the provision for regular senior level meetings. Representatives of UNRWA can be expected to be invited to make appearances in Ottawa before Parliamentarians and community groups.

Signed on 4 April, 2017.



_____________________________
Pierre Krähenbühl
Commissioner General
United Nations Relief and Works
Agency for Palestine Refugees
in the Near East

_____________________________
Peter M. Boehm
Deputy Minister of
International Development
Global Affairs Canada

Annex: Activities related to Global Affairs Canada’s enhanced due diligence process and neutrality expectations

 Documentation reference
General Activities
1. Commitment by UNRWA to conform to, in line with UN resolutions and UNRWA’s regulatory framework, conditions on Canadian funding as outlined in grant arrangements between UNRWA and Global Affairs Canada. 
2. Mutual commitment to hold quarterly meetings at the officer level in Jerusalem/Ramallah between Global Affairs Canada and UNRWA for ongoing engagement on key issues. 
3. Commitment by UNRWA to make senior officials available for annual appearances in Ottawa to before Parliamentarians and community groups. 
Neutrality of staff/personnel
4. Checks conducted and documented by UNRWA of all staff against the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanction List once every six months. 
5. Provision of lists of UNRWA staff members to host governments, the Palestinian Authority, Egypt and Israel on an annual basis and other UN member states upon request. 
6. Communication to staff about appropriate behaviour in line with UNRWA’s neutrality guidelines at least once every year in each of UNRWA’s five fields of operation. 
7. Consistent with appropriate procedural safeguards, initiation of investigations upon receipt of credible information about alleged staff/personnel misconduct. 
8. Commitment by UNRWA for clear and consistent administrative and disciplinary action, in line with UNRWA’s policies and consistent with appropriate procedural safeguards including due process rights, when staff/personnel are found to be in violation of UNRWA’s regulatory framework relating to the neutrality of its operations. 
Neutrality of facilities
9. Immediate investigation of incidents of misuse of facilities and immediate steps taken to assure non-recurrence, including, in appropriate cases, through seeking third party assistance. 
Neutrality of sub-implementing partners
10. Checks conducted and documented of all contractors, vendors, and non-state donors against the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List every six months. 
Date Modified:

Cadre de coopération entre Affaires mondiales Canada et l'Office de secours et de travaux des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine dans le Proche-Orient (UNRWA)

1. Introduction

Ce cadre de coopération définit l'entente entre Affaires mondiales Canada et l'Office de secours et de travaux des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine dans le Proche-Orient (UNRWA). En plus de reconnaître les intérêts communs de l'UNRWA et d'Affaires mondiales Canada, le cadre de coopération définit également les attentes d'Affaires mondiales Canada relativement à la mise en place d’initiatives de réforme, à la surveillance régulière et aux rapports ainsi qu'à la conformité aux exigences antiterroristes canadiennes de l'UNRWA. Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA modifieront le cadre de coopération au besoin. Il est entendu que le présent document édicte les engagements mutuels d'Affaires mondiales Canada et de l'UNRWA; il n'a pas pour objectif d'être légalement contraignant.

2. Objectifs communs

Créé en 1949, l’UNRWA est le seul organisme des Nations Unies mandaté à fournir des services et de l'aide humanitaire de base à plus de cinq millions de réfugiés de PalestineNote de bas de page 1 en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza, en Syrie, en Jordanie et au Liban et inscrits auprès de l'agence. L'UNRWA offre des services sociaux, d'éducation, de soins de santé de base, d'aide humanitaire, d'amélioration des infrastructures et des camps ainsi que des services d'urgence aux réfugiés de Palestine se trouvant dans ses zones de fonctionnement. Les opérations de l'UNRWA dépendent presque exclusivement des contributions volontaires des états membres de l'ONU.

L'aide humanitaire et aux plus pauvres et plus vulnérables est une priorité de la politique étrangère et du plan de développement international du Canada. Le soutien du Canada à l'UNRWA aide à répondre aux besoins des réfugiés de Palestine et fait la promotion de la stabilité dans la région. Le Canada s'attend à ce que tous ses partenaires assument leurs responsabilités pour ce qui est de l'aide qu'ils apportent aux bénéficiaires grâce à la contribution financière canadienne.

Étant donné leurs intérêts communs, Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA prévoient travailler ensemble pour régler les priorités stratégiques suivantes :

3. Mise en œuvre des initiatives de réforme de l'UNRWA

Au cours des dernières années, l'UNRWA a mis en œuvre des initiatives de réforme pour améliorer la capacité de gestion, la qualité et l'efficacité des programmes ainsi que la durabilité et l'imputabilité financières. Les initiatives de réforme de l'UNRWA sont toujours en cours, conformément aux priorités décrites dans la stratégie à moyen terme de 2016-2021. Affaires mondiales Canada est particulièrement intéressé par ce qui suit :

4. Politiques relatives à la neutralité

Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA prévoient travailler de concert avec d'autres donateurs pour continuer à s'assurer que l'UNRWA mette en œuvre ses politiques relatives à la neutralité. La neutralité est l'un des engagements de l'ONU et l'un des quatre principes humanitaires adopté officiellement par l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU et approuvé par l'UNRWA. La neutralité, telle qu'entendue par l'ONU, implique que les acteurs humanitaires ne prennent pas parti dans les hostilités ou ne s'engagent pas à un quelconque moment dans des controverses de nature politique, raciale, religieuse ou idéologiqueNote de bas de page 2. Elle est une obligation et une valeur centrale que doit respecter le personnel de l'ONU et fait également partie du cadre règlementaire de l'UNRWA.

La neutralité est essentielle afin que les agences humanitaires de l'ONU gagnent et maintiennent la confiance de tous et qu'elles puissent fonctionner de façon indépendante, sécuritaire et efficace, particulièrement dans des situations politiques difficiles ou dans des zones de conflits. La neutralité est également une obligation et une valeur cruciale pour tout le personnel de l'ONU et elle est une condition importante pour maintenir la confiance des donateurs ainsi que leur soutien financier et politique. La neutralité est partie intégrante des opérations de l'UNRWA et a été généralisée, dans la mesure du possible, dans les programmes de l'UNRWA. Les activités de neutralité en lien avec la conduite du personnel et les programmes sont intégrées directement au travail de base de l'UNRWA.

L'appui du Canada, ainsi que d'autres donateurs, aidera l'UNRWA à déployer des efforts afin de :

Environ 500 000 $ de fonds canadiens seront alloués dans les cas suivants : 1) activités visant à généraliser la neutralité et 2) nouvelles initiatives relativement à la neutralité, aidant ainsi l'UNRWA à mettre en œuvre ses politiques.

En plus de ces efforts, Affaires mondiales Canada s'attend à ce que l'UNRWA réagisse de manière appropriée lorsqu'il y a des allégations crédibles d'infractions aux principes de neutralité.

L'annexe ci-jointe décrit les activités clés reliées aux attentes d'Affaires mondiales Canada quant à la neutralité de l'UNRWA.

5. Surveillance et rapports

Le Canada s'attend à ce que sa contribution financière au développement et à l'aide humanitaire ait les résultats escomptés pour les bénéficiaires visés et s'attend à ce que l'UNRWA produise des rapports sur ces résultats. Par conséquent, Affaires mondiales Canada accueille favorablement l'élaboration par l'UNRWA d'un système de surveillance fondé sur les résultats visant à améliorer la qualité et l'uniformité des rapports de l'UNRWA. De même, Affaires mondiales Canada constate, à sa plus grande satisfaction, que l'UNRWA s’est engagé à élaborer une plateforme qui lui permettra de mieux gérer ses programmes et ses projets afin d'atteindre les résultats escomptés décrits dans la stratégie à moyen terme de 2016-2021.

Affaires mondiales Canada note également la publication de l’Annual Operational Report de l'UNRWA, autrefois appelé Harmonized Results Report, pour la cinquième année. Affaires mondiales Canada s’engage également à travailler avec l'UNRWA et les autres donateurs afin de continuer à aider l'UNRWA à renforcer sa reddition de compte afin qu'elle réponde aux besoins des groupes d'intérêts. Affaires mondiales Canada s'attend à ce que l'UNRWA continue à renforcer sa surveillance et ses fonctions d'évaluation et de contrôle à l'interne pour une prestation efficace de ses programmes.

Affaires mondiales Canada reconnaît l'engagement de l'UNRWA à produire des rapports uniformes, détaillés et à temps de l'état des activités et de ses finances afin de démontrer que les fonds sont utilisés aux fins visées. Les attentes d'Affaires mondiales Canada sont énoncées ci‑dessous.

Affaires mondiales Canada reconnaît que l'UNRWA fonctionne dans un environnement très volatile et fragile où les actions politiques et les conflits violents viennent souvent limiter la prestation de ses services. Affaires mondiales Canada reconnaît également que l'UNRWA dépend des contributions volontaires des États membres de l'ONU pour la majorité de son financement, ce qui mène à des fluctuations hors de son contrôle. Par conséquent, Affaires mondiales Canada examinera le rendement de l'UNRWA par rapport à des indicateurs tenant compte de ces contraintes.

6. Exigences relatives aux lois antiterroristes canadiennes

Le Canada et l'UNRWA sont inquiets au sujet de la menace terroriste, y compris dans un contexte où l'ONU s’engage fermement à contrer le terrorisme.

L'UNRWA s’engage à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires afin de s'assurer que le financement fourni par Affaire mondiales Canada ne soit pas utilisé pour aider, indirectement ou directement, des terroristes ou des organisations terroristes tels que figurant sur la liste du Comité des sanctions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies. Affaires mondiales Canada s'attend à ce que l'UNRWA reste toujours vigilant dans ses efforts et ses actions. L'annexe ci-jointe décrit les activités clés reliées aux attentes d'Affaires mondiales Canada à cet égard.

Le Canada reconnaît que l'UNRWA a également ses propres règles, ses politiques et son cadre règlementaire sur la neutralité. De même, l'UNRWA reconnaît que le Canada a des exigences particulières en ce qui concerne ses lois sur l’antiterrorisme et qu'Affaires mondiales Canada visera à respecter ses obligations nationales en matière d’antiterrorisme par l'entremise de dispositions précises dans ses ententes financières.

7. Collaboration continue

Dans le but d’atteindre les objectifs fixés et d'obtenir les résultats définis dans le présent Cadre de coopération, Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA restent engagés à partager l'information, à coopérer et collaborer à tous les niveaux, et ce, de façon continue.

Le Canada jouera un rôle actif dans la Commission consultative de l'UNRWA, laquelle se réunit habituellement deux fois par année, et tentera de donner des conseils et des lignes d’orientation à l'UNRWA dans le cadre de cette participation. La participation à la Commission consultative permettra au Canada de faire avancer et de diriger les réformes en cours sur la gouvernance, l'efficacité et l'administration financière. De même, et conformément aux principes et bonnes pratiques de l'aide humanitaire, le Canada, de par sa participation, pourra surveiller et influencer certains enjeux clés ainsi que tout problème qui pourrait se présenter. Le Canada pourra également apporter sa voix pour insister sur l'atteinte de normes élevées dans la surveillance et l'évaluation des programmes de l'UNRWA et œuvrer stratégiquement pour renforcer la démarche de l'UNRWA vers l'égalité des sexes et la durabilité environnementale.

Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA participeront à des consultations et à des communications régulières. Les représentants canadiens du Bureau de représentation du Canada à Ramallah seront constamment en relation avec le personnel de l'UNRWA à Jérusalem, tandis que les représentants canadiens à Ottawa seront en relation continue avec le personnel de l'UNRWA à Washington, D.C. et à New York. Affaires mondiales Canada et l'UNRWA s'entendent sur la tenue de réunions trimestrielles au niveau des agents à Jérusalem et à Ramallah ainsi que sur la tenue de réunions régulières au niveau des cadres supérieurs. Les représentants de l'UNRWA peuvent s'attendre à être invités à se présenter devant les parlementaires ainsi que des groupes communautaires à Ottawa.

Signé le 4 avril 2017.



_____________________________ 
Pierre Krähenbühl
Commissaire général
Office de secours et de travaux
des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine
dans le Proche-Orient

_____________________________
Peter M. Boehm
Sous-ministre du
Développement international
Affaires mondiales Canada

Annexe : Activités reliées au rehaussement du processus de diligence et des attentes en matière de neutralité d'Affaires mondiales Canada

 Documentation de référence
Activités générales
1. Engagement de l'UNRWA à se conformer, suivant les résolutions de l'ONU et le cadre règlementaire de l'UNRWA, aux conditions du financement canadien telles que définies dans les ententes de subvention entre l'UNRWA et Affaires mondiales Canada. 
2. Engagement mutuel à tenir des réunions trimestrielles au niveau des agents à Jérusalem ou à Ramallah d'Affaires mondiales Canada et de l'UNRWA pour maintenir un engagement continu face à des enjeux clés. 
3. Engagement de l'UNRWA à permettre à ses cadres supérieurs de se présenter tous les ans à Ottawa devant les parlementaires et les groupes communautaires. 
Neutralité du personnel
4. L'UNRWA vérifiera et documentera le statut de tous les membres de son personnel par rapport à la liste du Comité des sanctions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies tous les six mois. 
5. L'UNRWA remettra une liste des membres de son personnel aux gouvernements hôtes, à l'Autorité palestinienne, à l'Égypte et à Israël tous les ans ainsi qu'aux autres États membres de l'ONU, sur demande. 
6. L'UNRWA communiquera la conduite à suivre à son personnel conformément à ses lignes directrices sur la neutralité au moins une fois par année et dans chacun de ses cinq champs d'activité. 
7. L'UNRWA mènera les enquêtes appropriées lorsqu'il y a des allégations crédibles d'inconduite de membres de son personnel, le tout, dans le respect des garanties procédurales. 
8. L'UNRWA s'engage à prendre des mesures disciplinaires ou administratives claires et cohérentes, conformes aux politiques et aux garanties procédurales appropriées, y compris les droits procéduraux, lorsqu'il est démontré que des employés enfreignent le cadre règlementaire de l'UNRWA en ce qui a trait à la neutralité de ses activités. 
Neutralité des installations
9. Toute utilisation inappropriée des installations enclenchera une enquête et des mesures immédiates afin de s'assurer que celle-ci ne se reproduise plus, y compris, en obtenant une aide extérieure, le cas échéant. 
Neutralité des partenaires sous-traitants
10. L'UNRWA vérifiera et documentera le statut de tous sous-traitants, fournisseurs et donateurs autres que des États en regard de la liste du Comité des sanctions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies tous les six mois. 
Date de modification: