Canadian international assistance in Ghana

Despite having achieved middle income country status in 2010 and having met the MDG targets related to extreme poverty and hunger, primary education, infant mortality and access to safe drinking water, Ghana only ranks 119 out of 188 countries on the 2016 Human Development Index. Pockets of vulnerability and poverty remain in many parts of the country, including Northern Ghana where 25% of the population lives below the poverty line. Economic growth has been uneven, resulting in growing inequalities within and across regions.

Agriculture is Ghana’s largest employer, yet more than 80% of farmers live below the poverty line and more than 2.2 million Ghanaians still cannot afford to feed themselves an adequate number of calories per day. Similarly, only 15% of Ghanaians have access to adequate sanitation services, which significantly contributes to poor health outcomes.

In spite of efforts to address gender inequality, women of all social strata continue to face significant social and economic barriers to the attainment of their full rights. This limits their ability to demonstrate leadership and effectively contribute to the development of their communities. In addition, women continue to face multiple barriers in relation to their sexual and reproductive health and rights, including social and cultural norms which limit their access to knowledge, services and decision making. Unsustainable natural resource management practices, partly in response to climate-related stress, are affecting water availability and land productivity. Improved environmental management and support for climate change adaptation are needed to sustain these gains and increase the resiliency of communities, particularly in the dry, arid northern regions.

To avoid losing progress made and the risk of falling back to a ‘least developed country’ status, Ghana needs to focus on promoting broad-based growth, modernizing agriculture, improving health outcomes by enhancing access to services and strengthening key institutions. The country continues to face multiple governance and macroeconomic challenges, including a limited ability of Government at all levels to mobilize resources to address poverty needs. 

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Ghana.

Canada's bilateral development program supports agriculture as an engine for inclusive growth, as well as an important area of investment to address the needs of Ghana’s poorest families. It supports climate-smart, resilient agricultural practices and specifically targets women farmers. The program also supports improved access to water in underserved areas, as well as sanitation and hygiene services as a means of advancing the dignity of the poorest and vulnerable, and contributing to improved health and nutrition indicators.

To address uneven levels of growth and development, programming increasingly focuses on needs of the poorest and most vulnerable, and specifically targets the regions where development needs are the greatest.

Programming is delivered through a range of programming modalities and in collaboration with a variety of partners, including multilateral and international organisations, the Government of Ghana, civil society and the private sector. This includes working with Canadian partners in areas where their specialized expertise and networks best position them to address important development gaps and reach vulnerable populations.

Key anticipated results:

Achievements

 2015-2016

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Ghana

Bien qu’il ait accédé au statut de pays à revenu intermédiaire en 2010 et atteint ses objectifs d’OMD relatifs à l’extrême pauvreté et la faim, l’enseignement primaire, la mortalité infantile et l’accès à l’eau potable, le Ghana n’est qu’au 119e rang des 188 pays classés selon l’indice de développement humain de 2016. Dans de nombreuses régions subsistent des zones de vulnérabilité et de pauvreté, y compris dans le nord du Ghana où 25% de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté. La croissance économique est restée inégale et a engendré une augmentation des inégalités entre régions et à l’intérieure des régions.

L’agriculture est le principal employeur du Ghana, pourtant plus de 80% des agriculteurs vivent sous le seuil de pauvreté et plus de 2,2 millions de Ghanéens n’ont pas les moyens de se nourrir avec un nombre suffisant de calories par jour. De même, seulement 15% des Ghanéens disposent d’un accès à des services d’assainissement adéquats, ce qui entraîne de façon significative des risques pour la santé.

Malgré des efforts pour lutter contre les inégalités entre les sexes, les femmes de toutes les classes sociales se heurtent continuellement à des obstacles, de nature sociale et économique, à l’exercice de leurs pleins droits. Ceci limite leur capacité à faire preuve de leadership et à contribuer de façon efficace au développement de leurs communautés. En outre, les femmes continuent d’être confrontées à de nombreux obstacles en lien avec leur droits et leur santé reproductive et sexuelle, y compris aux normes sociaux culturelles qui limitent leur accès au savoir, aux services et aux processus de décision. Des pratiques de gestion non durable des ressources naturelles, partiellement en réponse au stress environnemental lié aux changements climatiques, affectent la disponibilité en eau et la productivité des terres. Une meilleure gestion environnementale et un renforcement des capacités d’adaptation aux changements climatiques sont nécessaires pour préserver les acquis et améliorer la résilience des communautés, en particulier dans les régions sèches et arides du nord.

Pour éviter de perdre le bénéfice des progrès accomplis et risquer de régresser vers le statut de « pays le moins développé », le Ghana a besoin de se concentrer sur les moyens de favoriser une croissance diversifiée, la modernisation de son agriculture, l’amélioration de la santé en élargissant l’accès aux services et renforçant les institutions clés. Le pays continue à être confronté à de multiples défis de nature macroéconomique et de gouvernance, y compris une capacité limité du gouvernement de mobiliser à tous les niveaux des ressources pour répondre aux besoins occasionnés par la pauvreté.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Ghana.

Le programme bilatéral de développement du Canada appuie l’agriculture comme un moteur de croissance inclusive et une importante source d’investissements pour répondre aux besoins des familles les plus démunies du Ghana. Il appuie les pratiques agricoles résilientes, intelligentes sur le plan climatique et il est spécifiquement axé sur les agricultrices. Le programme appuie aussi l’amélioration de l’accès à l’eau dans les régions mal desservies, ainsi que des services d’assainissement et d’hygiène comme un moyen de promotion de la dignité des populations les plus pauvres et vulnérables, et de contribuer à améliorer les indicateurs de santé et de nutrition.

Pour remédier aux inégalités de croissance et de développement, les programmes se concentrent de plus en plus sur les besoins des plus pauvres et plus vulnérables et ciblent en particulier les régions où les besoins en développement sont les plus grands.

Les programmes sont offerts dans le cadre d’un éventail de modalités de programmation, en collaboration avec divers partenaires, y compris des organisations multilatérales et internationales, le Gouvernement du Ghana, la société civile et le secteur privé. Ceci implique une collaboration avec des partenaires canadiens dans leurs domaines spécialisés d’expertise et les réseaux afin qu’ils soient plus en mesure de remédier aux écarts de développement et atteindre les populations vulnérables.

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Réalisations

Réalisations 2015-2016

Liens connexes

Date de modification: