Canadian international assistance in Guatemala

Guatemala is the most populous country in Central America, counting more than 16 million inhabitants. Despite housing the region’s largest economy, 59 % of Guatemalans live in poverty and 24 % in extreme poverty. This poverty takes place primarily in rural, Indigenous areas, and affects women and youth the most. Guatemala also has one of the highest levels of income inequality in Latin America, and one of the highest levels of chronic malnutrition in the world, and the highest in the Americas.

Guatemala ranks 126th out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme’s 2016 Human Development Index.

As is the case in other Northern Triangle countries of Central America (Honduras and El Salvador), the rule of law in Guatemala is challenged by the:

As a result, the country faces an extremely high rate of impunity and corruption, which threatens citizen security and contributes to systemic human rights violations.

More than 20 years after the signing of the 1996 Peace Accords ending 36 years of internal armed conflict, there is a political will for change. Recent commitments by the government to strengthen its justice system and increase active citizen participation demonstrate Guatemala’s commitment to democracy and transparency.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Guatemala.

Canada’s international development program in Guatemala responds to the country’s priorities, especially as indicated in its long-term national development plan known as K’atun 2032. Canada additionally held consultations with the Government of Guatemala, local civil society organizations, cooperatives, think tanks and other stakeholders, as well as with the general public through a country-specific online survey. Canada’s international assistance work in Guatemala aims to address the root causes of poverty, inequality and insecurity and improve the lives of the most vulnerable, including youth, women and Indigenous groups. It focuses on three following areas: 

Governance, pluralism, diversity, and human rights

Key anticipated results:

Clean economic growth

Key anticipated results:

Health and rights of women and children

Key anticipated results:

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Guatemala

Avec plus de 16 millions d’habitants, le Guatemala est le pays le plus peuplé d’Amérique centrale. Bien que son économie soit la plus importante de la région, 59 p. 100 des Guatémaltèques vivent dans la pauvreté et 24 p. 100 dans la pauvreté extrême. Cette pauvreté sévit principalement dans les zones rurales et autochtones, et touche plus particulièrement les femmes et les jeunes. Le Guatemala est aussi l’un des pays d’Amérique latine où les inégalités de revenus sont les plus marquées. Il présente également un taux de malnutrition chronique parmi les plus élevés dans le monde et le plus élevé dans les Amériques.

Le Guatemala se classe au 126e rang sur 188 pays selon l’Indice de développement humain 2016 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Comme c’est le cas dans les autres pays du triangle du Nord de l’Amérique centrale (Honduras et Salvador), l’état de droit au Guatemala est mis à mal par :

Le pays affiche par conséquent un taux extrêmement élevé d’impunité et de corruption, ce qui menace la sécurité des citoyens et contribue à généraliser les violations systémiques des droits de la personne.

Plus de 20 ans après la signature des accords de paix de 1996 ayant mis fin à 36 années de conflit armé interne, il existe une volonté de changement. Les engagements pris récemment par le gouvernement afin de renforcer son système de justice et accroître la participation citoyenne démontrent la détermination du Guatemala à suivre la voie de la démocratie et de la transparence.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Guatemala

Le programme de développement international du Canada au Guatemala tient compte des priorités du pays, plus précisément celles qui sont décrites dans le plan national de développement à long terme appelé K’atun 2032. De plus, le Canada a tenu des consultations auprès du gouvernement du Guatemala, d’organisations de la société civile, de coopératives, de groupes de réflexion et d’autres intervenants de même qu’auprès de la population en général au moyen d’un sondage en ligne adapté au contexte du pays. L’aide internationale du Canada au Guatemala vise à remédier aux causes profondes de la pauvreté, des inégalités et de l’insécurité et à améliorer la vie des plus vulnérables, y compris les jeunes, les femmes et les groupes autochtones. Elle privilégie les trois secteurs suivants :

Gouvernance, pluralisme, diversité et droits de la personne

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Croissance économique propre

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Santé et droits des femmes et des enfants

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: