Canadian international assistance in Honduras

Honduras remains one of the poorest countries in Latin America, with approximately six out of every ten Hondurans living in poverty. Half of the population of 8.6 million resides in rural areas, where most of the poverty concentrates. Honduras ranks 130 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2016 human development index.

The financial crisis of 2009 slowed Honduras' commodities export-led economy, deteriorating its economic indicators and shrinking its migrant remittances. Honduras is also highly vulnerable to climate change and natural disasters.

The political upheaval generated by the political crisis in 2009 put development progress at risk. The country is starting to recover, but significant challenges remain. Women, youth and indigenous peoples remain at a disadvantage, and are the most susceptible to human rights violations and violence. There is a compelling need to strengthen the rule of law, promote and protect human rights, create decent jobs and prioritize the economic and social inclusion of vulnerable populations. Insecurity related to organised crime is a major challenge.

Our International Development Assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Honduras.

Canada’s international development program contributes to improving the lives of the most vulnerable by working on issues related to human rights, governance and democracy as well as promoting inclusive and green economic growth. Canadian development initiatives in Honduras are aligned with the Government of Honduras’s priorities and with the Plan of the Alliance for Prosperity in the Northern Triangle.

Fostering a more inclusive and sustainable economy

Key anticipated results:

Governance, pluralism, diversity, and human rights

Key anticipated results:

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Honduras

Le Honduras demeure l'un des pays les plus pauvres d’Amérique latine avec près de six Honduriens sur dix vivants dans la pauvreté. La moitié de sa population de 8,6 millions d'habitants réside dans les régions rurales où se concentre la pauvreté. Le Honduras occupe le 130e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l'Indice de développement humain (IDH) établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

La crise financière de 2009 a ralenti l’économie du Honduras, dépendante des exportations de produits de base, détériorée ses indicateurs économiques et fait fondre les transferts d’argent de ses travailleurs migrants. Le Honduras est aussi un pays extrêmement vulnérable aux changements climatiques et aux catastrophes naturelles.

Les bouleversements s engendrés par la crise politique en 2009 menacent les progrès en matière de développement. Le pays commence à se rétablir, mais d’importants défis subsistent. Les femmes, les jeunes et la population autochtone restent défavorisés et risquent le plus d’être victime de violence et de violation des droits de la personne. Il est essentiel de renforcer l'état de droit, de promouvoir et protéger les droits de la personne, de créer des emplois décents et d’accorder la priorité à l’inclusion économique et sociale des populations vulnérables. L’insécurité liée au crime organisé constitue un défi majeur.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Honduras.

Le Canada contribue à améliorer les conditions de vie des plus vulnérables en travaillant sur les questions liées aux droits de la personne, à la gouvernance et la démocratie ainsi qu’à la promotion d’une croissance économique verte et inclusive. Les initiatives canadiennes de développement du Honduras sont harmonisées avec les priorités du gouvernement du Honduras et avec le Plan de l’Alliance pour la prospérité dans le Triangle nord.

Favoriser une économie durable et plus inclusive

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Gouvernance, pluralisme, diversité, et droits de la personne

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Liens connexes

Date de modification: