Canadian international assistance in Indonesia

As the fourth most populous country and the third largest democracy, Indonesia has experienced strong and sustained economic growth that has created jobs and increased public expenditures on health, education and infrastructure. However, significant poverty persists, particularly in Eastern Indonesia, and approximately 40% of Indonesia’s population lives on less than US$2 a day and remains vulnerable to economic shocks. While Indonesia is one of the world’s top biodiversity nations, it is among the highest emitters of greenhouse gases, and is vulnerable to climate change and natural disasters.

The majority of poor Indonesians still live in rural areas. Some 35% of Indonesians depend on agriculture for their incomes. Indonesia ranks 113 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2016 Human Development Index.

Gender equality is a significant challenge, with violence against women and girls, high rates of early and child marriage linked to the country’s high maternal mortality rate. Women continue to be concentrated in low wage, low value segments of the economy with limited access to financial resources.

Indonesia, a relatively new but vibrant multi-party democracy, has held several peaceful and legitimate elections since it emerged from authoritarian rule in 1998. A key feature of Indonesia’s democratic system is the decentralization of significant powers from the centre to the 33 provinces and 497 districts.

Decentralization reforms have outpaced the capacity of local governments to deliver social services, which remain inadequate by middle-income country standards.

The private sector plays a dominant role in the Indonesian economy. The formal economy largely comprises business conglomerates, state-owned enterprises and foreign investors (primarily in the extractives sector).

An estimated 70% of Indonesia’s private sector belongs to the informal sector, which is characterized by a large number of micro, small and medium-sized enterprises. Women account for 65% of the informal economy.

As a member of ASEAN and APEC, and the only Southeast Asian member of the G-20, Indonesia plays a key role in regional stability in Southeast Asia.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Indonesia.

The Government of Indonesia has outlined a number of development priorities in its National Medium Term Development Plan 2015-2019 and other important policy documents. These priorities include:

Building economic foundations

Canada will support governments in order to help them:

We will also explore opportunities to support the regulatory environment for public-private partnerships and women’s economic empowerment.  That includes supporting the provision of technical assistance to establish and apply policy on the use of natural resources, both non-renewable and renewable.

Key anticipated results:

Investing in people

Indonesia’s population is young and growing: currently one in four Indonesians is 15 years of age, or younger. While this demographic dividend will yield a healthy labour supply in the future, there is currently a shortage of qualified workers within the private sector. Canada’s support will enhance the capacity of educational institutions to meet labour market demands, as defined following consultations involving the Government of Indonesia and private sector actors.

Key anticipated results:

Canada’s long-standing support to Indonesia’s democratic development provides a unique niche for programming in the areas of religious pluralism and public-sector reform. Canada will support Indonesia’s objectives to further advance democracy by:

Progress on aid effectiveness

Given that Indonesia is a lower-middle income country, the Government of Indonesia views foreign assistance as a partnership between equals. This was defined in the 2009 Jakarta Commitment, a country-specific aid effectiveness action plan signed by the Government of Indonesia and all donors, including Canada.

The donors committed to aligning their programming with the development priorities of the Government of Indonesia, as defined in the National Medium-Term Development Plan (2015-2019) and the Master Plan for Economic Development (2011-2025).The main elements of the Jakarta Commitment are:

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Indonésie

L’Indonésie, quatrième des pays les plus peuplés au monde et troisième plus grande démocratie, a connu une croissance économique forte et soutenue en Indonésie a permis de créer des emplois et d’accroître les dépenses publiques en santé, en éducation et dans le secteur des infrastructures. Cependant, une pauvreté importante persiste, particulièrement dans l’est du pays. Environ 40 % de la population indonésienne vit avec moins de 2 $ US par jour et demeure vulnérable aux chocs économiques. Alors que l’Indonésie est une nation de premier plan en termes de biodiversité, elle fait partie des plus gros émetteurs de gaz à effet des serre. Elle est vulnérable aux changements climatiques et aux catastrophes naturelles.

La majorité des personnes pauvres vivent en milieu rural. Quelque 35 % des Indonésiens tirent leur revenu de l’agriculture. En 2016, l’Indonésie occupait le 113e rang sur 188 pays pour ce qui est de l’indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

L’égalité entre les sexes constitue un défi majeur, en raison de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, le taux élevé de mariages précoce et de mariage des enfants associé  un taux de mortalité maternelle très élevé du pays. Les femmes continuent d’être cantonnées dans des secteurs de l’économie à bas salaires et de faible valeur avec un accès limité aux ressources financières.

L’Indonésie est une démocratie multipartite dynamique, qui a tenu plusieurs élections pacifiques et légitimes depuis qu’elle est sortie d’un régime autoritaire, en 1998. Le transfert de pouvoirs importants de l’autorité centrale aux 33 provinces et aux 497 districts est l’une des caractéristiques principales de cette démocratie décentralisée.

Les réformes de décentralisation ont surpassé la capacité des administrations locales à fournir des services sociaux, qui demeurent inadéquats pour un pays à revenu intermédiaire.

Le secteur privé de l’Indonésie joue un rôle dominant dans l’économie. L’économie structurée est surtout constituée de conglomérats, d’entreprises d’État et d’investisseurs étrangers (principalement dans le secteur de l’extraction).

Environ 70 % du secteur privé indonésien se trouve dans le secteur non structuré, qui comprend un grand nombre de microentreprises et de PME. Les femmes contribuent dans une proportion de 65 % à cette économie parallèle.

En tant que membre de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) et de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) et seul membre du G-20 en Asie du Sud-Est, le pays joue un rôle essentiel dans la stabilité régionale en Asie du Sud-Est.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de l’Indonésie.

Le gouvernement de l’Indonésie a établi un certain nombre de priorités en matière de développement dans son plan quinquennal de développement à moyen terme pour 2015-2019 et dans d’autres documents stratégiques importants. L’Indonésie a comme objectifs prioritaires :

Établir des assises économiques

Le Canada aidera les gouvernements à :

Nous allons examiner la possibilité de soutenir le cadre de réglementation des partenariats public-privé et d’autonomiser les femmes sur le plan économique. Ceci comprend appuyer la prestation d’une assistance technique pour établir et appliquer des politiques sur l’utilisation des ressources naturelles renouvelables et non renouvelables.

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Investir dans le capital humain

La population de l’Indonésie est jeune et elle croît; actuellement, un habitant sur quatre est âgé de moins de 15 ans. Bien que cet atout démographique laisse présager d’une bonne disponibilité de la main-d’œuvre pour l’avenir, il y a actuellement une pénurie de main-d’œuvre qualifiée dans le secteur privé. L’aide apportée par le Canada permettra d’augmenter la capacité des établissements d’enseignement à satisfaire aux exigences du marché du travail définies en consultation avec le gouvernement de l’Indonésie et les intervenants du secteur privé.

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Puisque le Canada appuie le développement démocratique de l’Indonésie depuis longtemps, il bénéficie d’un créneau unique pour mettre en œuvre des programmes en matière de pluralisme religieux et de réforme du secteur public. Le Canada appuiera les objectifs de l’Indonésie en matière d’avancement de la démocratie en :

Vers une aide plus efficace

L’Indonésie étant un pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche inférieure, son gouvernement perçoit l’assistance  étrangère comme un partenariat entre égaux. Ceci a été défini dans l’Engagement de Jakarta en 2009, comme un plan d’action sur l’efficacité de l’aide, signé par le gouvernement de l’Indonésie et tous ses donateurs, y compris le Canada.

Les donateurs se sont engagés à harmoniser leurs programmes sur les priorités de développement déterminées par le gouvernement de l’Indonésie dans son plan de développement national à moyen terme (2015-2019) et son plan directeur pour le développement économique (2011-2025). Les principaux éléments de l’Engagement de Jakarta visent à :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: