Inter-American Program

Created in 1999 to help address commitments made by Canada during the Summit of the Americas Process, the Inter-American Program supports regional development activities in most of the 33 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

This region has the highest levels of inequities in the world—both in terms of wealth distribution and of access to basic services and opportunities. Ten of the 15 most unequal countries in the world are located in Latin America. Poverty remains a serious challenge, as persistent economic and social inequality disproportionately impacts the poorest and most vulnerable, such as Indigenous populations, Afro-descendants, women, children, and youth.

The region is also one of the most violent in the world.Violence and organized crime are increasing with a third of the world’s 450,000 murders each year occur in Latin America and the Caribbean, though the region is home to less than a tenth of the population. The homicide rate for youth in the region is more than four times the global average rate for that age group. Crime and violence are severe impediments to inclusive and clean economic growth and contribute to regional instability and irregular migration flows.

After decades of authoritarian or military rule, all governments are now democratically elected across the region—with the exception of Cuba. Not all governments, however, operate in a fully democratic manner and improvements are still needed in human rights and the rule of law. The current constitutional crisis in Venezuela is a stark example. These challenges continue to negatively influence citizens’ confidence in democracy and the market economy.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development through the Inter-American Program.

Canada’s Inter-American Program focuses on issues that are best addressed at the regional or multi-country level, where economies of scale can be achieved. Regional efforts are complementary to bilateral initiatives, and deal with trans-boundary issues from a regional perspective, such as:

The Program contributes to the Government of Canada's goals of poverty reduction and increased democracy in the region and strengthens key inter-American institutions such as the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO).

Improved human rights, governance and democracy

Canada’s Inter-American Program seeks to improve transparency, representation and democratic governance of regional, national and local institutions, in order to establish a stable environment where human rights are respected and poverty reduction can occur. In addition, while there has been progress on gender equality issues in the region, there are still significant challenges. Cultural and patriarchal attitudes continue to define gender roles, competencies and inequalities.

The Inter-American Program’s projects build on regional expertise and partnerships to respond to the challenges.

Key anticipated results:

Human development

Important progress has been made in the region in basic indicators relating to the health, life expectancy and education of women and girls. However, specific areas of reproductive health and women’s rights (e.g. family planning and teen pregnancies) still raise concerns. Statistics and data on girls and women are often lacking. Canada’s Inter-American Program aims to respond to these issues by supporting regional and national organizations, as well as Canadian NGOs, in focusing on women and girls.

Key anticipated results:

Inclusive and sustainable economic growth

The decline in poverty and inequality rates in the region over the last decade can be attributed to economic growth, coupled with well-targeted environment sensitive government policies and private-sector-led job creation. To continue the fight against poverty and inequality, while integrating environmental and climate change concerns, it is crucial that countries provide an environment for private sector, particularly micro, small and medium enterprises, to flourish. Canada’s Inter-American Program focuses on supporting regional initiatives that provide such an environment. In addition, women continue to be disproportionately affected by poverty, despite the growth of women’s participation in the labour force. Women’s working conditions still tend to be more unstable than men’s. Addressing this issue by promoting greater equality is at the core of the Program’s projects.

Key anticipated results:

Related Links

Date Modified:

Programme interaméricain

Créé en 1999 pour mettre en œuvre les résolutions prises par le Canada à l’occasion du processus du Sommet des Amériques, le programme interaméricain soutient la réalisation d'activités régionales de développement dans la plupart des 33 pays de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes.

Cette région présente les plus fortes inégalités au monde, tant sur le plan de la distribution de la richesse que de l'accès aux services de base et aux possibilités. Dix des 15 pays les plus inégalitaires du monde se trouvent en Amérique latine. De plus, la pauvreté demeure un enjeu grave, puisqu’une inégalité économique et sociale constante touche de façon disproportionnée les personnes les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, particulièrement les populations autochtones, les descendants africains, les femmes, les enfants et les jeunes.

En outre, cette région est l’une des plus violentes du monde. La violence et le crime organisé connaissent également une augmentation : un tiers des 450 000 meurtres qui se produisent chaque année sur la planète ont lieu en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, bien que la région ne compte que moins d’un dixième de la population mondiale. Le taux d’homicide chez les jeunes dans la région est supérieur à quatre fois le taux moyen de ce groupe d’âge à l’échelle mondiale. La criminalité et la violence sont de graves obstacles à une croissance économique inclusive et propre et contribuent à l’instabilité régionale et aux mouvements migratoires irréguliers.

Après des décennies de régimes autoritaires ou militaires, les populations élisent désormais des gouvernements démocratiques partout dans la région, à l'exception de Cuba. Les gouvernements ne fonctionnent pas tous de manière entièrement constitutionnelle. Des améliorations sont encore nécessaires à l'égard des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit. La crise constitutionnelle en cours au Venezuela en est un exemple frappant. Ces enjeux continuent de miner la confiance des citoyens à l’égard de la démocratie et de l’économie de marché.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour voir ce que fait le Canada pour appuyer le développement à l’aide du programme interaméricain.

Le programme interaméricain du Canada est axé sur des questions qui peuvent être réglées à l’échelle régionale ou multilatérale, où l’on peut réaliser des économies d’échelle. Les initiatives régionales sont complémentaires aux initiatives bilatérales et portent sur des questions transfrontalières d’un point de vue régional, telles que :

Le programme contribue aux objectifs de réduction de la pauvreté et d’accroissement de la démocratie dans la région et renforce les principales institutions interaméricaines comme l'Organisation des États américains et l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé.

Droits de la personne, gouvernance et démocratie améliorés

Le programme interaméricain du Canada vise à améliorer la transparence, la représentation et la gouvernance démocratique des institutions nationales, régionales et locales, afin d’établir un environnement stable où les droits de la personne sont respectés et la réduction de la pauvreté est possible. De plus bien qu’il y ait eu des progrès dans les questions liées à l’égalité entre les sexes dans la région, des difficultés considérables demeurent. Les attitudes culturelles et patriarcales continuent de définir les rôles, les compétences et les inégalités qui sont liés aux sexes.

Les projets du programme interaméricain s’appuient sur les compétences et les partenariats régionaux pour répondre aux enjeux.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Développement humain

D’importants progrès ont été réalisés dans la région par rapport aux indicateurs de base en matière de santé, d’espérance de vie et d’éducation des femmes et des filles. Cependant, des domaines précis de la santé génésique et des droits des femmes (p. ex. la planification familiale et la grossesse chez les adolescentes) soulèvent encore des préoccupations. Les statistiques et les données sur les filles et les femmes font souvent défaut. Le programme interaméricain du Canada vise à régler ces enjeux en offrant un soutien à des organisations régionales et nationales ainsi qu’à des ONG canadiennes, en ciblant les femmes et les filles.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Croissance économique inclusive et durable

Le déclin du taux de pauvreté et d’inégalité dans la région au cours des dix dernières années est attribuable à la croissance économique, associée à des politiques gouvernementales bien ciblées et soucieuses de l’environnement et à la création d’emplois dirigée par le secteur privé. Pour poursuivre la lutte contre la pauvreté et l’inégalité tout en intégrant les préoccupations liées à l’environnement et aux changements climatiques, il est essentiel que les pays soient propices à l’expansion du secteur privé, particulièrement des microentreprises et des petites et moyennes entreprises. Le programme interaméricain du Canada se concentre sur le soutien aux initiatives régionales propices à une telle expansion. De plus, les femmes demeurent touchées de manière disproportionnelle par la pauvreté, malgré une hausse de leur participation à la main-d’œuvre. Les conditions de travail des femmes ont tendance à être plus instables que celles des hommes. S’attaquer à ce problème en faisant la promotion d’une plus grande égalité entre les sexes se trouve au cœur des projets du programme.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Liens connexes

Date de modification: