Canadian international assistance in Kenya

Kenya is the economic engine and key driver of stability in East Africa. Its strong private sector, infrastructure, and financial services contribute significantly to growth in the region. Kenya's diplomatic and peacekeeping efforts also reinforce its role as a regional stabilizer.

However, the country faces significant development challenges, such as severe income inequalities, youth unemployment, frequent droughts, and cross-border insecurity.

The fallout from the disputed 2007 elections was devastating. Post-election violence had a particularly high impact on the educational system, as schools were destroyed or turned into camps for internally displaced persons. Students and teachers were themselves displaced, and many lost weeks or months of classes.

Following a power-sharing agreement brokered in 2008 that helped to end the crisis, Kenya embarked on an ambitious reform agenda. Most notably, a new constitution was passed in 2010 that promised to devolve power to new county governments and reform Kenya's legal and political institutions. Kenya’s 2013 election was peaceful and watchful eyes are on the next slated for 2017.

Kenya's ability to achieve lasting prosperity depends on the country's commitment to improving governance and achieving the promise of its constitution. With Kenya's strong civil society and independent media, the country has great potential for progress. The country's vibrant private sector and growing middle class can also help to drive economic growth.

Kenya ranks 146 out of 188 countries in the United Nations Development Programme's 2015 Human Development Index. Although one out of five Kenyans is living on less than US$1.25 per day, the country has made significant progress toward universal primary education.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Kenya

Canada's international development program in Kenya is closely aligned with Kenya's long-term national planning strategy, officially known as Kenya Vision 2030.

The goal of Canada's program is to help reduce poverty and inequality in Kenya by creating economic opportunities for poor and vulnerable populations, providing a safe, quality learning environment for children and youth, and by increasing respect for diversity, pluralism and human rights. These three areas of focus and their anticipated results are outlined below.

Canada supports sustainable and inclusive economic development and enhanced employment opportunities for vulnerable groups, particularly women and youth. This includes programming to help bridge the skills gap in Kenya and facilitate investment in underserved but promising small and medium enterprises in marginalized regions.

Key anticipated results

Canada also aims to improve the quality of education in Kenya and make schools child-friendly learning environments in which children—especially girls—feel safe, secure and healthy. Canada strives to work in the most disadvantaged areas of the country, where dropout rates are the highest.

Key anticipated results

Canada supports the electoral process in Kenya and is furthering the empowerment of women and youth voters. This programming is aligned with the vision put forth in Kenya’s new constitution, which places an emphasis on the inclusion of women and youth, persons with disabilities and other groups who have historically been marginalised or underrepresented in the governance of the country.

Key anticipated results

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Kenya

Le Kenya est le moteur économique et le principal facteur de stabilité de l'Afrique de l'Est. Son secteur privé, ses infrastructures et ses services financiers robustes contribuent grandement à la croissance de la région. Les activités diplomatiques et les initiatives de maintien de la paix du Kenya renforcent aussi son rôle de stabilisateur régional.

Cependant, le pays est confronté à des obstacles majeurs sur le plan du développement, comme les grandes inégalités de revenus, le chômage chez les jeunes, les sécheresses répétées et l'insécurité transfrontalière.

Les retombées des élections contestées de 2007 ont été dévastatrices. La violence postélectorale a eu de graves répercussions sur le système d'éducation, puisque des écoles ont été détruites ou transformées en camps pour les personnes déplacées. Les élèves et les professeurs eux-mêmes ont été déplacés, et bon nombre ont perdu des semaines ou des mois de cours.

À la suite d'un accord de partage du pouvoir, négocié en 2008, qui a permis de mettre fin à la crise, le Kenya s'est lancé dans un ambitieux programme de réformes. Notamment, la nouvelle constitution, adoptée en 2010, qui a promis de déléguer des pouvoirs aux nouvelles administrations des districts et de réformer les institutions juridiques et politiques du Kenya. L’élection de 2013 a été pacifique et un regard vigilant se porte en direction des prochaines élections de 2017.

La capacité du Kenya à atteindre une prospérité durable dépend de son engagement à l'égard de l'amélioration de sa gouvernance et de la réalisation des promesses de la constitution. Grâce au dynamisme de sa société civile et à l'indépendance de ses médias, le Kenya a un grand potentiel pour réaliser des progrès. Le pays peut aussi compter sur un secteur privé dynamique et une classe moyenne grandissante pour stimuler sa croissance économique.

Le pays se classe au 146e rang sur 188 pays dans l'indice du développement humain de 2015 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD). Bien qu'un Kényan sur cinq vive avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour, le pays a fait des progrès importants en ce qui touche l'éducation primaire pour tous et l'égalité des sexes dans l'éducation.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Kenya.

La programmation de développement international du Canada au Kenya est étroitement harmonisée avec sa nouvelle stratégie de planification nationale à long terme, dont le nom officiel est Kenya Vision 2030 (en anglais).

L'objectif du programme du Canada est de contribuer à réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités au Kenya en créant des occasions pour les pauvres et les populations vulnérables, un environnement d’apprentissage sécuritaire et de qualité pour les enfants et les jeunes, en renforçant le respect pour la diversité, le pluralisme et les droits de la personne. Ces trois domaines d’intervention et leurs résultats escomptés sont présentés ci-après.

Le Canada appuie le développement économique inclusif et durable et de meilleures perspectives d’emploi pour les groupes vulnérables, en particulier pour les femmes et les jeunes. Cela comprend des programmes d’aide visant à combler le déficit des compétences au Kenya et promouvoir les investissements dans des petites et moyennes entreprises mal desservies situées dans des régions marginalisées.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Le Canada vise aussi à améliorer la qualité de l'éducation au Kenya et faire des écoles des milieux plus propices à l'apprentissage, où les enfants, surtout les filles, se sentent en sécurité et sont en santé. Le Canada s'efforce d'œuvrer dans les régions les plus défavorisées du pays, où les taux de décrochage sont les plus élevés.

Principaux résultats escomptés :

Le Canada appuie le processus électoral kényan et encourage l’autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes électeurs. Son programme s’accorde avec la vision proposée dans la nouvelle constitution du Kenya, mettant l’accent sur l’inclusion des femmes et des jeunes, des personnes handicapées et d’autres groupes qui ont été historiquement marginalisés ou sous-représentés dans l’administration du pays.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Liens connexes

Date de modification: