Canadian international assistance in Morocco

Morocco is currently one of the most stable countries in the region. It is an emerging country in North Africa that is implementing numerous sectoral strategies, several infrastructure programs, and an aggressive trade strategy with sub-Saharan African countries. Morocco is targeting a 52% renewable energy share by 2030, including through the major solar and wind projects in Ouarzazate and Tarfaya, respectively. Hosting COP 22 in Marrakesh from November 07 to 18, 2016, focussed domestic concerns on climate change.

Although it has so far been spared the disturbances affecting the region, it still faces major economic, political, social, and security challenges. The main challenge will be to address social, economic and geographic inequalities, in order to meet numerous citizen expectations with respect to youth unemployment, poverty, and education. Those challenges include gender equality and the low economic participation rate for women, which is having a major impact on the country’s development.

The Moroccan government's main priority is ensuring that young people can enter the labour market, in order to give them a future that would ensure sustainable social stability.

Programming in Morocco

Search the Project Browser to find out what Canada is doing to support Morocco’s development.

The ultimate objective of Canada’s programming in Morocco is to work with Morocco to help provide greater prosperity and a better future for young Moroccans, especially the most disadvantaged. Projects help to improve youth employability and education and meet labour market needs, and support women’s economic empowerment, opening of markets, and the green economy.

The programming is aligned with Morocco’s priority reforms and the Government of Canada’s priorities in relation to development assistance. Gender equality is a major theme, and all projects must directly address issues related to women’s rights.

Some examples of activities:

Examples of results achieved to date

Related links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Maroc

Le Maroc est actuellement l’un des pays les plus stables de la région. C’est un pays émergent en Afrique du Nord qui met en œuvre de nombreuses stratégies sectorielles, plusieurs programmes d’infrastructures et une stratégie commerciale agressive vers les pays d’Afrique sub-saharienne. Le Maroc ambitionne d’augmenter la part des énergies renouvelables à hauteur de 52% à partir de 2030, grâce notamment aux grands projets solaire de Ouarzazate et éolien de Tarfaya. Avec l’organisation de la COP 22 qui a eu lieu à Marrakech du 07 au 18 novembre 2016, la question des changements climatiques est au centre des préoccupations du pays.

Bien qu’il ait été épargné jusqu’à présent par les turbulences que connait la région, il continue à faire face à de grands défis économiques, politiques, sociaux et sécuritaires. Le défi majeur sera de corriger les inégalités sociales, économiques et géographiques, afin de répondre aux nombreuses attentes citoyennes notamment en matière de chômage chez les jeunes, de pauvreté et d’éducation. Parmi ces défis, il y a celui de l’égalité entre les sexes et notamment le faible taux de participation économique des femmes qui a une incidence importante sur le développement du pays.

La grande priorité du gouvernement marocain est l’insertion des jeunes dans le milieu du travail pour leur donner un avenir qui assurerait une stabilité sociale durable.

La programmation au Maroc

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Maroc.

La programmation du Canada au Maroc a pour objectif ultime de travailler avec le Maroc pour contribuer à offrir plus de prospérité et un avenir meilleur aux jeunes marocaines et marocains, surtout les plus défavorisés d’entre eux. Les projets contribuent à améliorer l’éducation et l’employabilité des jeunes et répondre aux besoins du marché du travail et soutenir l’autonomisation économique des femmes, l’ouverture des marchés et l’économie verte.

Le programme s’inscrit à la fois dans le cadre des réformes prioritaires pour le développement du Maroc et des priorités du gouvernement du Canada en matière d’aide au développement. L’égalité entre les sexes est une thématique majeure et tous les projets doivent adresser ces questions des droits des femmes de manière directe.

Quelques exemples d’activités :

Exemples de résultats atteints à date

Liens connexes

Date de modification: