Canadian international assistance in Mozambique

Mozambique’s transition from a post conflict country to one of Africa’s “frontier economies” has been impressive. After almost 30 years of struggle, the country has made strong progress in economic growth, access to basic services and in democratic development.

In spite of domestic, regional and international constraints, Mozambique is achieving development results – its GDP growth averaged 7.3% over the past decade, 89.1% of children are now in school, child mortality has dropped by 41.6/1,000 live births since 2007.

Despite this progress, Mozambique only ranks 181 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2015 Human Development Index, and over half of Mozambique's population of 25.2 million lives on less than US$1.90/day. Yearly flooding and drought threaten food security and rural livelihoods. Among other obstacles that contribute to ongoing poverty is the deep-rooted inequality between women and men.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Mozambique.

Canada's international development program in Mozambique is directly aligned with the Government of Mozambique's 2015-2019 Five Year Plan for development (Plano Quinquenal do Governo de Moçambique 2015-2019).

Canada is one of the lead bilateral donors in Mozambique and will remain a strong champion in promoting equality between women and men, which is key to reducing poverty in Mozambique.

Canada focuses on increasing access to and the quality of education, as well as on improving access to quality health care for women and children. We also work with other donors to strengthen the capacity of the ministries of Education and Health so that they can plan, implement, monitor and evaluate their policies and programs in a more effective way.

Key anticipated results:

To ensure that the Government of Mozambique's programs in education, health, and income-generation can achieve their goals, Canada gives greater emphasis to transparency and accountability measures.

Key anticipated results:

Progress on aid effectiveness

The Government of Mozambique works with donors to ensure that the country's development priorities are supported in a harmonized, effective and efficient manner. The Government of Mozambique’s 2015-2019 Five Year Plan was endorsed by the donor community. Development assistance in Mozambique is framed by a sophisticated relationship between donors and the Government of Mozambique. Canada is an active and respected donor within this structure, and Canadian influence has had concrete results in the past.

Related links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Mozambique

La transition du Mozambique d’un pays qui émerge d’un conflit vers l’un des marchés frontières de l’Afrique a été impressionnante. À l’issue de près de trente ans de conflit, le pays a réussi à faire de solides progrès en matière de croissance économique, d’accès aux services de base et de développement démocratique.

Le pays a obtenu des résultats de développement, malgré les contraintes aux échelons national, régional et international – la croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) tournait autour de 7,3 % au cours des dix dernières années, 89,1% des enfants vont maintenant à l’école, la mortalité infantile a diminué de 41,6 pour 1 000 naissance vivante depuis 2007.

Malgré ces progrès, le Mozambique n’occupe en 2015 que le 181e rang sur 188 pays pour ce qui est de l’indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, et plus de la moitié des 25,2 millions d’habitants du pays subsistent avec moins de 1,90 $ US par jour. Les inondations et les sécheresses annuelles compromettent la sécurité alimentaire et les moyens de subsistance dans les régions rurales. L’inégalité entre les sexes, profondément ancrée, est un autre obstacle qui contribue à maintenir la pauvreté.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Mozambique.

Le programme d’aide au développement international du Canada pour le Mozambique concorde avec le plan d’action pour la réduction de la pauvreté (2011-2014) du gouvernement du Mozambique (Plano Quinquenal do Governo de Moçambique 2015-2019).

Le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs bilatéraux au Mozambique. Le Canada continuera de militer activement en faveur de l’égalité entre les sexes, indispensable à la réduction de la pauvreté au Mozambique.

Le Canada s’efforce principalement d’accroître l’accès à une éducation et à des soins de santé de qualité pour les mères et les enfants. Nous collaborons aussi avec d’autres donateurs pour renforcer les moyens d’action des ministères de l’Éducation et de la Santé afin qu’ils puissent planifier, mettre en œuvre, surveiller et évaluer leurs politiques et leurs programmes plus efficacement.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Pour que les programmes d’éducation, de santé et de génération de revenus du gouvernement atteignent leurs objectifs, le Canada mise davantage sur la transparence et les mesures de responsabilisation.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

Le gouvernement du Mozambique travaille avec les donateurs pour veiller à ce que les priorités du pays en matière de développement soient soutenues d’une manière harmonisée et efficace. Le plan quinquennal du Gouvernement du Mozambique pour 2015-2019 a été approuvé par la communauté des donateurs. Au Mozambique, l’aide au développement est le fruit d’une relation complexe entre les donateurs et le gouvernement du pays. Le Canada est un donateur actif et respecté au sein de cette structure, et l’influence canadienne a donné lieu à des résultats concrets dans le passé.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: