Canadian international assistance in Peru

Despite its status as a middle income country, Peru has a number of communities that experience poverty, inequality, environmental crisis and social conflict. In parallel with its impressive economic growth rate over the last decade, poverty (using the national poverty line) declined from 56% in 2005 to 21.8% in 2015 (latest data).

This encouraging national statistic unfortunately masks the inequalities of indigenous peoples, those in rural areas and women and girls in particular. As reported by the World Bank, extreme poverty (under US$1.90 a day) declined from 27.6 percent in 2005 to 9 percent in 2015. The areas of extreme poverty are largely concentrated in rural areas, particularly in highland and Amazon regions.

As Peru works to stabilize its status as a middle income country, and to prevent backsliding into poverty and conflict (especially following frequent natural disasters), it will need to continue to benefit from the technical and governance expertise and support of countries such as Canada.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Peru.

Canada’s international development program focuses on reducing poverty and inequality to achieve a more democratic and inclusive Peru. The current focus is on education, economic diversification and governance, with particular attention on the rights of women and girls, climate change and indigenous peoples. Programming is aligned with the priorities of both the Canadian and Peruvian governments.

Education and vocational training for youth

Canada is helping to reform the Peruvian education system, leveraging Canadian expertise in multicultural and bilingual approaches to primary education as well as modern planning and management. Canada also supports quality, gender-sensitive education that includes the integration of sexual and reproductive health information for older children in secondary school. Vocational training for youth, especially girls and marginalized youth, is another key area for Canada’s development support.

Key anticipated results:

Economic Diversification for marginalized communities

A number of projects complement vocational training by supporting economic diversification with small agricultural producers, cooperatives and micro and small enterprises.

Key anticipated results:

Transparency, accountable governance and democracy

Key anticipated results:

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Pérou

Malgré son statut de pays à revenu intermédiaire, le Pérou compte encore un grand nombre de communautés confrontées à la pauvreté, aux inégalités, aux crises environnementales et aux conflits sociaux. Parallèlement à son taux impressionnant de croissance économique au cours de la dernière décennie, le taux de pauvreté (défini au regard du seuil de pauvreté national) est passé de 56% en 2005 à 21,8% en 2015 (données les plus récentes).

Ces statistiques nationales encourageantes masquent malheureusement les inégalités qui frappent les populations autochtones, celles en zone rurale et les femmes et les filles en particulier. Comme en fait état la Banque mondiale, l’extrême pauvreté (moins de 1,90 $ US par jour) a diminué passant de 27,6 % en 2005 à 9% en 2015. Les zones de pauvreté extrême restent largement concentrées dans les zones rurales, en particulier dans les régions montagneuses et en Amazonie.

Tandis que le Pérou travaille à stabiliser son statut de pays à revenu intermédiaire et éviter de retomber dans la pauvreté et les conflits (en particulier suite aux fréquentes catastrophes naturelles), il continuera d’avoir besoin de bénéficier d’expertise technique et de soutien en matière de gouvernance de pays comme le Canada.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Pérou.

Le programme de développement international du Canada vise à réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités pour un Pérou plus démocratique et plus inclusif. La priorité actuelle porte sur l’éducation, la diversification économique et la gouvernance, en accordant une attention particulière aux droits des femmes et des filles, aux changements climatiques et aux populations autochtones. Le programme est conforme aux priorités des gouvernements canadiens et péruviens.

Éducation et formation professionnelle des jeunes

Le Canada appuie la réforme du système éducatif péruvien, tirant profit de son expertise en matière d’approches multiculturelles et bilingues de l’éducation primaire et des techniques modernes de planification et de gestion. Le Canada appuie aussi l’éducation de qualité, prenant en compte l’égalité des sexes et intégrant, au niveau des écoles secondaires, des informations sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive. La formation professionnelle pour les jeunes, en particulier les filles et les jeunes marginalisés, est un autre domaine majeur de l’aide au développement apportée par le Canada.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Diversification économique des communautés marginalisées

Un certain nombre de projets complète la formation professionnelle en soutenant la diversification économique à l’aide de petits producteurs et coopératives agricoles, et de micro et petites entreprises.

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Transparence, gouvernance responsable et démocratie

Principaux résultats escomptés:

Liens connexes

Date de modification: