Canadian international assistance in the Philippines

Despite the fact that the country has strong potential for development, the Philippines still ranks 116 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2016 Human Development Index.

The Philippines made good progress in meeting several of the Millennium Development Goals between 2000 and 2015. It achieved gender equality in education, reduced the mortality rate among children aged five and younger, reduced the number of tuberculosis cases, and increased access to water and sanitation services.

Challenges for the Philippines

Progress is threatened by economic and social inequality, as well as by regional disparities, especially in the conflict-affected provinces on the island of Mindanao. This means that making sure social services reach the poor and most marginalized remains a major challenge.

In 2015, almost one in five Filipinos lived on less than US$1.90/day. In addition, frequent natural disasters such as typhoons, storm surges, earthquakes and flooding have resulted in severe loss of life and property and have hampered efforts to reduce poverty.

Women in the labour force are confined largely to low-wage, low-productivity jobs and have limited access to land ownership, credit and training.

Although annual economic growth over the 2010-2014 period averaged 6.24%  according to the Asian Development Bank, the economy is vulnerable to shifts in international conditions. This is in part, because it relies heavily on remittances from millions of overseas Filipino workers. The investment climate suffers from low competitiveness, the high cost of doing business, and a lack of adequate and reliable infrastructure.

Weak local governance is recognized as a key constraint to the country’s sustained economic growth and poverty reduction, although a number of key governance reforms were undertaken in recent years. The Philippines has a vibrant private sector and an active civil society, both important partners in development.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in the Philippines.

The goal of Canada's international development assistance program in the Philippines is to improve the climate for investment and advancing the economic opportunities of poor women and men. This includes helping those affected by natural disasters to become more economically resilient.

Canada works closely with the Government of the Philippines and other parties to ensure that the program’s goals respond to the development needs of the country.

We help the Philippines strengthen its investment climate and advance economic opportunities for poor women and men by working with national and local governments as well as non-governmental organizations (civil society, academe and private sector) to:

Key anticipated results

Progress on aid effectiveness

The Philippines adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness and has taken steps to improve donor alignment and harmonization, strengthen local ownership and integrate results-based management systems.

In May 2015, Canada and the Philippines signed a mutual accountability framework (MAF) reaffirming the aid effectiveness principles of transparent and effective development cooperation between Canada and the Philippines for the period 2014-2019 (see link to the framework below).

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne aux Philippines

Malgré le fait que le pays ait un fort potentiel de développement, la République des Philippines se classe au 116e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l’indice de développement humain de 2016 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

La République des Philippines a bien progressé dans la réalisation des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement entre 2000 et 2015. Elle est parvenue à intégrer l’égalité entre les genres  dans l’éducation, à réduire le taux de mortalité des enfants de moins de cinq ans et l’incidence de la tuberculose, ainsi qu’à améliorer l’accès aux services d’approvisionnement en eau et d’assainissement.

Les défis des Philippines

Les progrès du pays sont freinés par des inégalités économiques et sociales, ainsi que par des disparités régionales, surtout dans les provinces de l’île de Mindanao, qui sont en situation de conflit. Cela signifie qu’assurer  l’accès aux services sociaux des personnes pauvres et marginalisées demeure un défi de taille.

En 2015, près d’un Philippin sur cinq vivait avec moins de 1,90 dollar américain par jour. En outre, les catastrophes naturelles fréquentes, comme les ouragans, les ondes de tempête, les tremblements de terre et les inondations,  entraînant d’importantes pertes humaines et matérielles et entravent les efforts de réduction de la pauvreté.

Les femmes en âge de travailler  ont, pour la plupart, des emplois peu rémunérés et peu productifs, et ont un accès limité à la propriété foncière, au crédit, et à la formation.

Même si la croissance économique a atteint en moyenne 6,24 % par année de 2010 à 2014 selon la Banque asiatique de développement, l’économie du pays reste vulnérable aux fluctuations de la conjoncture internationale. Ceci s’explique en partie parce qu’elle dépend fortement des envois de fonds de millions de travailleurs philippins vivant à l’étranger. Le climat d’investissement souffre de la faible position concurrentielle du pays, du coût élevé des activités commerciales, et de l’absence d’infrastructures convenables et fiables.

La faible gouvernance à l’échelle locale est reconnue comme étant un obstacle important à la croissance économique soutenue et à la réduction de la pauvreté, bien qu’un certain nombre de réformes de la gouvernance aient été initiée  au cours des dernières années. La République des Philippines possède un secteur privé dynamique et une société civile active, deux importants partenaires pour le  développement.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement des Philippines.

Le programme de développement international du Canada aux Philippines a pour but d’améliorer le climat d’investissement et d’élargir les possibilités économiques pour les moins nantis, femmes et hommes. Ceci comprend aider ceux et celles qui ont été touchés par les catastrophes naturelles à accroître leur résilience économique.

Le Canada collabore étroitement avec le gouvernement des Philippines et d’autres parties pour faire en sorte que les objectifs du programme répondent aux besoins de développement du pays.

Nous aidons les Philippines à renforcer leur climat d’investissement et à faire progresser les débouchés économiques des femmes et des hommes pauvres en collaborant avec le gouvernement national et les administrations locales, ainsi qu’avec les organisations non gouvernementales (la société civile, les universités et le secteur privé) pour :

Principaux résultats escomptés

Progrès en matière d’efficacité de l’aide

La République des Philippines adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l’efficacité de l’aide et a  pris les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer l’uniformisation et l’harmonisation entre les donateurs, renforcer la prise en charge locale et intégrer les systèmes de gestion axée sur les résultats.

En mai 2015, le Canada et la République des Philippines ont signé un cadre de responsabilité mutuelle, qui réaffirme les principes d’efficacité de l’aide pour une coopération au développement transparente et efficace entre le Canada et les Philippines pour la période s’échelonnant de 2014 à 2019 (voir le lien vers le cadre de responsabilité mutuelle ci-dessous).

Liens connexes

Date de modification: