Canadian development assistance in Senegal

Senegal is one of the world’s poorest countries. In 2016 it ranked 162nd out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme’s Human Development Index. Wealth distribution in the country is very unequal, with a higher poverty rate in rural areas.

In 2015 Senegal currently has approximately 15.13 million inhabitants (2015). The population is young with an estimated 62% of Senegalese under the age of 25. The country has low productivity and very high levels of unemployment and underemployment, especially among youth.

Not everyone has access to basic education, and illiteracy is widespread, especially among women and girls. Environmental degradation is hindering development in some regions, where food security is threatened by such things as:

Drought in the Sahel is exposing Senegal to recurring food and nutrition crises.

Senegal has considerable socio-economic potential despite the existence of challenges that slow down its development. On the economic front, after a cycle of weak growth over the period 2006-2013, the last three years have been marked by interesting progress with growth rates above 4.5%. Senegal is now the second largest economy in French-speaking Africa after Côte d'Ivoire. According to the latest data (IMF, April 2017), GDP growth was more than 6% in 2016, a first in twelve years. Senegal aspires to become an emerging country by 2035.

Senegal plays a leading role on the African continent. It is an example of democracy and political stability in West Africa. The transition to power following the March 2012 presidential elections and the July 2012 parliamentary elections demonstrates the maturity of Senegal's democratic tradition. The next presidential election is due to take place in 2019.

In its new strategy for economic growth and poverty reduction, the "Senegal Emerging Plan" (PES), launched in 2012, Senegal has defined its development priorities according to the following three main axes:

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Senegal.

Canada is a long-standing partner of Senegal with investments in development assistance of more than $ 1.3 billion since 1962. Our activities in the country aim to reduce poverty and promote inclusive economic growth and development that will benefit all Senegalese and particularly Sengalese women. This objective is consistent with the Emerging Senegal Plan. To do this, Canada is focusing support on targeted actions in three areas:

Delivering help and achieving results

Canada supports the Government of Senegal so that girls and boys have access to quality education and vocational training. Canada is also working in partnership with the Senegalese government and with multilateral and Canadian organizations to enhance the protection of those who are marginalized by the education system to create a school environment that is safe and respectful of their rights, including girls’ rights. The main expected rights are:

Canada's Senegal Development Program also seeks to increase food security by promoting sustainable agricultural development and improving nutrition and health for mothers and children. Canada, with the support of its partners, aims to strengthen the capacity of farmers, especially women, to acquire better inputs, new technologies to increase productivity, Climate-friendly agriculture. The main expected results are:

Finally, in the area of ​​governance, Canada is supporting Senegal in the implementation of the Emerging Senegal Plan to engage the country in a strong, inclusive and job-creating growth dynamic. In order to stimulate sustainable economic growth in Canada, Canada supports the implementation of reforms to improve public financial management and create an enabling environment for investment in key sectors of the Senegalese economy. The main expected results are:

Ensuring aid effectiveness

Senegal adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness and the Accra Agenda for Action. Under the leadership of Senegal’s government, donor harmonization and coordination is improving from year to year, prompting the government to take more and more responsibility for development, and leading to increasingly effective donor cooperation.

Donor coordination

In Senegal, Canada is showing leadership in coordination and consultation with other donors, governments and partners. For example, since February 2017, Canada has assumed the co-chairmanship of the G50. This is the main coordination group of technical and financial partners in Senegal, and the leading role of the Technical and Financial Partners in Vocational and Technical Training.

Canada also chairs the G7 group supporting the New Alliance for Food Security and Nutrition. Finally, Canada is the donor coordinator of the "Scaling-up Nutrition" movement in Senegal, and it is the largest bilateral donor in education, giving it the opportunity to further contribute to improving Organization and harmonization of aid in this important sector.

Achievements

2015-2016

Education, vocational and technical training

Agricultural development, female entrepreneurship and innovation in rural areas

Economic governance and public financial management

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Sénégal

Le Sénégal est l'un des pays les plus pauvres du monde. En 2016, il occupait le 162e rang sur 188 pays selon l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. La distribution de la richesse y est très inégale, le taux de pauvreté étant plus élevé en milieu rural.

Le Sénégal compte actuellement environ 15,13 millions d'habitants (2015). La population du Sénégal se caractérise par sa jeunesse. La population de moins de 25 ans est estimée à 62%. Le pays affiche un faible taux de productivité, et des taux de chômage et de sous-emploi très élevés, surtout chez les jeunes.

Tous n'ont pas accès à une éducation de base et l'analphabétisme est très répandu, plus particulièrement chez les femmes et les filles. La détérioration de l'environnement nuit au développement dans certaines régions, où la sécurité alimentaire est menacée notamment par

La sécheresse au Sahel expose le Sénégal à des crises alimentaires et nutritionnelles récurrentes.

Le Sénégal détient un potentiel socio-économique important malgré l’existence de défis qui ralentissent son développement. Sur le plan économique, après un cycle de faible croissance sur la période 2006-2013, les trois dernières années ont été marquées par des progrès intéressants avec des taux de croissance au-delà de 4,5%. Le Sénégal est aujourd’hui la deuxième économie en Afrique francophone après la Côte d’Ivoire. Selon les plus récentes données (FMI, avril 2017), la croissance du PIB s’est établie à plus de 6% en 2016, une première en douze ans. Le Sénégal aspire à devenir un pays émergent à l’horizon 2035.

Le Sénégal joue un rôle de premier plan sur le continent africain. Il est un exemple de démocratie et de stabilité politique en Afrique de l’Ouest. La transition au pouvoir qui a suivi les élections présidentielles de mars 2012 et les élections législatives de juillet 2012 démontre la maturité de la tradition démocratique du Sénégal. La prochaine élection présidentielle doit se dérouler en 2019.

Dans sa nouvelle stratégie pour la croissance économique et la réduction de la pauvreté, « le Plan Sénégal Émergent » (PSE), lancé en 2012, le Sénégal a défini ses priorités de développement en fonction des trois principaux grands axes suivants :

Notre aide au développement international au Sénégal

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Sénégal.

Le Canada est un partenaire de longue date du Sénégal, avec des investissements consacrés à l’aide au développement de plus de 1,3 milliard de dollars depuis 1962. Les activités du Canada au Sénégal visent à réduire la pauvreté et à favoriser une croissance économique durable et inclusive dont profiteront tous les Sénégalais et Sénégalaises. Cet objectif concorde avec celui énoncé dans le Plan Sénégal Émergent. Pour ce faire, le Canada oriente ses appuis vers des actions ciblées touchant trois secteurs :

Livrer l’aide et atteindre des résultats

Dans le secteur de l’éducation de base et de la formation professionnelle et technique ;e Canada appuie le gouvernement du Sénégal afin que les filles et les garçons aient accès à une éducation et une formation professionnelle de qualité. Le Canada travaille également en partenariats avec le gouvernement sénégalais, des organisations multilatérales et canadiennes afin de renforcer la protection des enfants et des jeunes marginalisés par le système d’éducation afin de créer un environnement scolaire qui soit sécuritaire et respectueux de leurs droits, notamment les droits des filles. Les principaux résultats escomptés sont :

Le programme de développement du Canada au Sénégal cherche également à accroître la sécurité alimentaire en favorisant un développement agricole durable, et améliorant la nutrition et la santé des mères et des enfants. Le Canada, avec l’appui de ses partenaires, vise notamment à renforcer les capacités des agriculteurs, en particulier les femmes, à se procurer des intrants de meilleure qualité, des nouvelles technologies permettant d’augmenter leur productivité ainsi que d’adopter des pratiques agricoles intelligentes face au climat. Les principaux résultats escomptés sont :

Enfin, en matière de gouvernance, le Canada appuie le Sénégal dans la mise en œuvre du Plan Sénégal Émergent afin d’engager le pays dans une dynamique de croissance forte, inclusive et créatrice d’emplois. Afin de stimuler la croissance économique durable au pays, le Canada appuie la mise en œuvre de réformes pour améliorer la gestion des finances publiques et créer un environnement favorable aux investissements dans les secteurs clés de l’économie sénégalaise. Les principaux résultats escomptés sont :

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Sénégal souscrit à la Déclaration de Paris sur l’efficacité de l’aide au développement et le Programme d’action d’Accra. L'harmonisation et la coordination de l'aide des donateurs, sous la direction du gouvernement du Sénégal, s'améliorent chaque année, si bien que ce dernier assume de plus en plus la responsabilité du développement et que la coopération des donateurs est de plus en plus efficace.

Coordination des donateurs

Au Sénégal, le Canada fait montre de leadership en matière de coordination et de concertation auprès des autres bailleurs de fonds, du gouvernement et des autres partenaires. Par exemple, le Canada assume, depuis février 2017, la coprésidence du G50, le principal groupe de coordination des partenaires techniques et financiers au Sénégal, et le rôle de chef de file du Groupe des Partenaires Techniques et Financiers en formation professionnelle et technique. Le Canada préside également le groupe du G7 appuyant la Nouvelle Alliance pour la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. Enfin, le Canada est coordonnateur des donateurs du mouvement « Scaling-up Nutrition » au Sénégal, et il est le plus important bailleur bilatéral dans le domaine de l'éducation, ce qui lui donne l'occasion de contribuer davantage à l’amélioration de l'organisation et de l'harmonisation de l'aide dans ce secteur d’importance.

Réalisations

2015-2016

Éducation et formation professionnelle et technique

Développement agricole, entreprenariat féminin et innovation en milieu rural

Gouvernance économique et gestion des finances publiques

Liens connexes

Date de modification: