Canadian international assistance in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka ranks 73 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2015 human development index. It is prone to frequent natural disasters such as floods, drought and landslides.

Following the end of the long running civil war in  2009, approximately 270,000 civilians were still displaced from their homes. While the majority of these displaced people have now returned to their home areas, the extensive damage caused by the conflict means they face significant barriers to earning a living.

Sri Lanka is a parliamentary democracy, although it faces ongoing challenges with respect to governance and the rule of law. Sri Lanka became a lower middle income country in 2010, and has since maintained relatively high levels of growth. Consumer and investor confidence have increased and tourism has strongly rebounded since the end of the war. Nevertheless, there continue to be significant regional pockets of poverty.

While women play an active role in the economy, their participation in the formal labour force remains low, and they face systemic barriers to full equality in society.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Sri Lanka

The goal of Canada’s bilateral international development assistance program in Sri Lanka is to continue to promote equitable and sustainable economic growth in a post-conflict environment while also emphasizing the important role of human rights in reducing poverty.

Canada supports efforts to:

This includes support for developing and rebuilding small-scale agriculture and infrastructure, including irrigation systems, rural access roads, and agricultural storage and processing facilities. Canada's development program also helps internally displaced people return to their villages.

Improving language rights

Canada helps improve human rights in Sri Lanka by supporting the implementation of Sri Lanka's official language policy. This policy helps minority groups to access social services such as health, education and police protection in their own language.

Progress on aid effectiveness

Sri Lanka has endorsed the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness.  Canada and other bilateral donors do not provide funding directly to the Government of Sri Lanka. Donors have developed a common set of principles to guide their work in Sri Lanka and conduct joint evaluations where feasible.

Related links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne au Sri Lanka

En 2015, le Sri Lanka occupait le 73e rang sur 188 pays selon l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Le pays est souvent frappé par des catastrophes naturelles comme des inondations, des sécheresses et des glissements de terrain.

Après la fin de la longue guerre civile en  2009, environ 270 000 civils étaient encore déplacés. Alors que la plupart sont retournés dans leur région,  les dommages étendus causés par le conflit dressent des obstacles qui les empêchent de gagner leur vie.

Le Sri Lanka est une démocratie parlementaire, bien qu'elle soit confrontée à des défis continus en matière de gouvernance et de primauté du droit. Le Sri Lanka est devenu un pays à revenu intermédiaire inférieur en 2010, et depuis lors a maintenu un taux de croissance élevé.  En outre, la confiance des consommateurs et des investisseurs s'est accrue et le tourisme s'est beaucoup développé depuis la fin de la guerre. Néanmoins, il existe encore d'importantes poches régionales de pauvreté.

Alors que les femmes jouent un rôle actif dans l’économie, leur participation à la main-d’œuvre officielle reste faible en plus de faire face à des obstacles systémiques en matière  d'égalité totale dans la société.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement du Sri Lanka.

Le programme bilatéral canadien d'aide au développement international pour le Sri Lanka continue à favoriser une croissance économique durable et équitable après le conflit, tout en insistant sur l'importance du respect des droits de la personne pour réduire la pauvreté.

Le Canada axe ses efforts en vue de :

Ces efforts comprennent le développement et la reconstruction du secteur et des infrastructures agricoles à petite échelle, y compris les systèmes d'irrigation, les routes d'accès rurales et les installations d'entreposage et de transformation. Le programme d’aide au développement du Canada cible aussi les personnes déplacées à l'intérieur du pays qui sont de retour dans leur village.

Améliorer les droits linguistiques

Le Canada aide à améliorer le respect des droits de la personne au Sri Lanka en appuyant la mise en œuvre de la politique du Sri Lanka sur les langues officielles. Cet appui aide les groupes minoritaires à obtenir des services sociaux dans leur propre langue, par exemple des services de santé, d'éducation et de protection policière.

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

Le Sri Lanka adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide. Le Canada et d'autres donateurs bilatéraux n'accordent pas de soutien financier direct au gouvernement sri-lankais. Les donateurs ont établi un ensemble de principes communs pour guider leurs efforts au Sri Lanka et pour mener des évaluations conjointes là où il est possible de le faire.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: