Canadian international assistance in Tanzania

Tanzania is a young but stable democracy and it has one of Africa's stronger governance and human rights records. Institutional capacity remains weak but is slowly increasing.

The Tanzanian economy has enjoyed a decade of high growth, and the country's outlook is positive. The government’s strong commitment to rooting out corruption in the public sector is key. Continued emphasis on sound economic management and good governance will help develop Tanzania’s private sector and support economic growth’s contribution to poverty reduction. Currently, the country ranks 151 out of 188 on the United Nations Development Programme's 2015 Human Development Index.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Tanzania.

Canada’s development focus closely aligns with, and supports the achievement of the development outcomes outlined in, Tanzania's Five Year Development Plan II. Priorities of this strategy include:

Canada's support is contributing to Tanzania's gains in social indicators in health and education and is contributing to the health and rights of women and children, including sexual, reproductive health and rights of adolescent girls.

We support efforts to strengthen the health system as a whole, as well as to increase access to skilled health workers, to increase the number of babies born in health facilities, to help prevent malaria and tuberculosis, and to reduce the  HIV/AIDS’s effects on children and their families.

In education, Canada's support to the Government of Tanzania's efforts is helping improve the quality of teaching and increasing equitable access to secondary and vocational education.

Key anticipated results:

Canada contributes to sustainable economic growth by enhancing government transparency and accountability, particularly the effective and efficient management of revenues from the extractive sector and more generally, public finances. This includes strengthening the environment for business start-ups and growth, greater access to financial services and providing young people with the skills and training to secure jobs. In all areas, we are working in particular to support women’s economic empowerment.

Key anticipated results:

Progress on aid effectiveness

Tanzania continues to show strong national ownership and high-level commitment to important reform areas. The second Five Year Development Plan II sets out an ambitious development agenda, focused on reaching middle income country status by 2025 and on industrializing this largely agricultural economy.

The Government of Tanzania is refining a common set of principles into a new Development Cooperation Framework (DCF) upon which to engage development partners, including civil society and private sector representatives.

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne à la Tanzanie

La Tanzanie est une démocratie jeune, mais stable. Elle affiche l’un des meilleurs bilans parmi les pays d’Afrique en matière de gouvernance et de respect des droits de la personne. La capacité de ses institutions est encore limitée, mais elle s’accroît petit à petit.

La Tanzanie a connu dix ans de grande croissance économique et les perspectives du pays sont prometteuses. Le ferme engagement du gouvernement en faveur de l’éradication de la corruption dans le public secteur en est un élément clé. Les efforts continus en matière de saine gestion économique et de bonne gouvernance favoriseront l’expansion du secteur privé tanzanien et permettront à la croissance économique du pays de contribuer à réduire la pauvreté. Le pays occupe actuellement le 151e rang sur 188 pays classés selon l'Indice de développement humain (IDH) établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Tanzanie.

Les priorités de développement du Canada s’harmonisent étroitement avec les objectifs de développement du second Plan quinquennal de développement de la Tanzanie.

Cette stratégie comprend les priorités suivantes:

L’appui du Canada contribue aux progrès de la Tanzanie dans les indicateurs sociaux en santé et en éducation, ainsi qu’à la santé et aux droits des femmes et des enfants, ceci comprend la santé reproductive et les droits des adolescentes.

Nous participons aux efforts visant à renforcer le système de santé dans son ensemble, ainsi qu’à accroître l’accès à des travailleurs de la santé qualifiés, pour augmenter le nombre de bébés qui naissent dans des établissements de santé, à prévenir le paludisme et la tuberculose, à empêcher la propagation du VIH/sida chez les jeunes et à atténuer les répercussions de cette maladie chez les enfants et leurs familles.

Dans le secteur de l’éducation, le soutien du Canada aux efforts du gouvernement de la Tanzanie permet d’améliorer la qualité de l’enseignement et d’élargir l’accès équitable à des études secondaires et à une formation professionnelle.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer la transparence et la responsabilisation dans le secteur de l’extraction

Le Canada contribue à la croissance économique durable en améliorant la transparence et la responsabilité gouvernementale, en favorisant en particulier une gestion efficace et efficiente des revenus du secteur extractif et plus généralement des finances publiques. Ceci comprend offrir un environnement propice au démarrage et à la croissance des entreprise, un meilleur accès aux services financiers et offrir aux jeunes des compétences et une formation leur assurant un emploi stable. Dans tous les domaines nous travaillons en particulier pour appuyer l’autonomisation économique des femmes.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

La Tanzanie continue de montrer une forte participation des acteurs nationaux et un haut-niveau d’engagement dans les principaux domaines de réforme. Le second Plan quinquennal de développement présente un programme ambitieux ciblant pour 2025 le statut de pays à revenu moyen et l’industrialisation de son économie en grande partie agricole.

Le gouvernement de la Tanzanie met au point un ensemble de principes communs dans un cadre de coopération au service du développement pour faire participer les partenaires du développement, y compris des représentants de la société civile et du secteur privé.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: