Canadian international assistance in the West Bank and Gaza

Canadian foreign policy objectives in the Middle East are the foundation for international assistance programming in the West Bank and Gaza. Canada is committed to the goal of a comprehensive, just and lasting peace in the Middle East. This goal supports the creation of a viable, independent and democratic Palestinian state living side by side in peace and security with Israel. Canada believes that peace can only be achieved through a two-state solution negotiated directly between the parties.

Canada is committed to helping Palestinians. International assistance in the West Bank and Gaza reinforces Canadian diplomatic efforts to support the establishment of a law-based, peaceful and prosperous society. Ultimately, this society can become a state for the Palestinians and a stable and secure neighbour for Israel.

The 4.8 million Palestinians in the West Bank and Gaza face significant governance, economic and humanitarian challenges. A quarter of the population lives in poverty. Food insecurity and unemployment are widespread. The private sector is relatively uncompetitive and unable to generate sufficient jobs or tax revenues. Significant humanitarian needs exist in the West Bank and Gaza. The summer 2014 conflict in Gaza worsened an already-fragile situation.

Progress is constrained by challenges related to internal Palestinian divisions and the unresolved conflict with Israel. The ability of the Palestinian Authority to govern is restricted by its limited jurisdiction over much of the West Bank and Gaza. In addition, Palestinian development is highly dependent on donors.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in the West Bank and Gaza.

Canada supports efforts to deliver humanitarian assistance, stimulate economic growth, and promote the rule of law.

Humanitarian assistance

Canada’s programming helps to meet the humanitarian needs of vulnerable Palestinians in the West Bank and Gaza. Canada is also supporting vulnerable Palestinian refugees through the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA).

Key anticipated results:

Increasing economic opportunities

Economic prosperity and private sector growth are important for stability. Canada’s investments are working to increase economic opportunities and prosperity for Palestinians, especially women and youth. This includes efforts to reduce barriers to entrepreneurship, employment, and employability.

Key anticipated results:

Justice reform

Canada is investing in justice reform in the West Bank. This helps to build a law-based, peaceful society that responds to the needs and aspirations of Palestinians. Canada supports efforts to improve the capacity of justice institutions to promote the rule of law and human rights.

Key anticipated results:

Oversight

For all humanitarian and development assistance funding for Palestinians, Canada exercises enhanced due diligence. This includes ongoing oversight, regular site visits, a systematic screening process, and strong anti-terrorism provisions in funding agreements. These measures are in place to ensure that funds are not misused or diverted to terrorist groups.

Progress on aid effectiveness

The Palestinian Authority released its “National Policy Agenda” for 2017-2022 in early 2017. The priority areas include government reform and sustainable development. Regular consultation with the Palestinian Authority and other stakeholders ensures that Canada’s international assistance remains aligned with Palestinian priorities.

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza

Les objectifs de la politique étrangère canadienne au Moyen-Orient constituent le fondement du programme d’aide internationale en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza. Le Canada souscrit à l’objectif d’une paix globale, juste et durable au Moyen-Orient. Cet objectif appuie la création d’un État Palestinien viable, indépendant et démocratique cohabitant dans la paix et la sécurité avec Israël. Le Canada estime que cette paix ne peut être obtenue qu’à partir d’une solution négociée à deux États directement négociée par les deux parties.

Le Canada s’est engagé à aider les Palestiniens. L’aide internationale en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza renforce les efforts diplomatiques du Canada en vue d’appuyer l’avènement d’une société pacifique, prospère et fondée sur le droit. Cette société pourra finir par devenir un état pour les Palestiniens et un voisin stable et sûr pour Israël.

Les 4,8 millions de Palestiniens vivant en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza sont confrontés à d’importants défis en matière de gouvernance et sur le plan de économique et humanitaire. Un quart de la population vit dans la pauvreté. L’insécurité alimentaire et le chômage sont endémiques. Le secteur privé est relativement peu compétitif et n’est pas en mesure de créer assez d’emplois et de recettes fiscales. Des besoins humanitaires importants subsistent en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza. À l’été 2014 le conflit à Gaza a aggravé une situation déjà précaire.

Les progrès sont freinés par les défis liés aux divisions entre Palestiniens et le conflit non réglé avec Israël. La capacité à gouverner de l’Autorité palestinienne est réduite en raison de sa compétence limitée à la majeure partie de la Cisjordanie et de la bande de Gaza. De plus, le développement palestinien est fortement tributaire des donateurs.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Cisjordanie et de la bande de Gaza.

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant à déployer une aide humanitaire, à stimuler la croissance économique et favoriser la primauté du droit.

L’aide humanitaire

Le Programme du Canada contribue à répondre aux besoins des Palestiniens vulnérables de la Cisjordanie et de la bande de Gaza. Le Canada soutient également les réfugiés palestiniens vulnérables dans le cadre de l’Office de secours et de travaux des Nations unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine (UNRWA).

Principal résultat escompté

Améliorer les perspectives économiques

La prospérité économique et la croissance du secteur privé sont indispensables à la stabilité. Les investissements du Canada contribuent à multiplier les possibilités économiques et apporter la prospérité aux Palestiniens, en particulier aux femmes et aux jeunes. Ceci comprend des mesures visant à réduire les barrières à l’entreprenariat, à l’emploi et à l’employabilité.

Principal résultat escompté

La réforme de la justice

Le Canada investit dans la réforme de la justice en Cisjordanie. Ceci contribue à la création d’une société pacifique, fondée sur le droit qui réponde aux besoins et aux aspirations des Palestiniens. Le Canada appuie les efforts visant à améliorer la capacité des institutions judiciaires à promouvoir la primauté du droit et les droits de la personne.

Principal résultat escompté

Surveillance

Pour l’ensemble du financement de l’aide humanitaire et de l’aide au développement pour les Palestiniens, le Canada fait preuve d’une vigilance renforcée. Ceci comprend procéder à une surveillance permanente, à des visites régulières des sites et un contrôle systématique ainsi que l’ajout de dispositions antiterroristes strictes aux ententes de financement. Ces mesures sont en place afin d’assurer que les fonds ne sont pas mal employés ou détournés au profit de groupes terroristes.

Renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide

Au début de 2017, l'Autorité palestinienne a publié son Programme d’élaboration des politiques nationales pour 2017-2022. Les domaines prioritaires comprennent une réforme du gouvernement et le développement durable. Des consultations régulières avec l’Autorité palestinienne et d’autres intervenants veillent à ce que l’aide internationale du Canada reste alignée aves les priorités palestiniennes.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: