About Humanitarian Assistance

Every day, people’s lives are affected by different natural disasters or crises. People can be at risk of losing their land, homes and access to basic services such as clean water, shelter and food.

During these humanitarian situations, the primary responsibility for providing assistance is with the government of the affected country. Usually, the affected communities themselves and their governments provide a significant first response to emergencies.

When the needs of the affected communities exceed the capacity of their government to respond, Canada and governments around the world provide assistance through an established international humanitarian response system. This is made up of the United Nations, the Red Cross Movement, and other experienced non-governmental humanitarian organizations.

How does Canada respond to humanitarian crises?

Canada provides assistance to people in crisis on the basis of what their most urgent needs are – needs like safe drinking water, sanitation services, emergency health care, food, and temporary shelters.

Typically, this means providing financial support to experienced humanitarian partners who are responding to the crisis. This can include United Nations agencies, the Red Cross Movement, or non-governmental organizations. This assistance is provided in line with the humanitarian principles of humanity, neutrality, impartiality and independence.

Additional support

As a last resort, where there is a clear need for additional support beyond what experienced humanitarian partners can provide, Canada may:

Date Modified:

Au sujet de l’aide humanitaire

Tous les jours la vie des populations est affectée par des crises ou des catastrophes naturelles. Les personnes peuvent risquer de perdre leur terre, leur maison, et d’être privés d’un accès aux services de base tels que de l’eau potable, des abris et de la nourriture.

Pendant ces cas d’urgence humanitaire, la responsabilité principale de prestation de l’aide incombe au  gouvernement du pays touché. Habituellement, ce sont les communautés, elles-mêmes affectées, et leurs gouvernements qui fournissent les premières réponses majeures aux urgences.

Lorsque les besoins des communautés affectées excèdent la capacité de réponse d’un gouvernement, le Canada et d’autres gouvernements à travers le monde apportent leur aide par l’intermédiaire d’un système international reconnu d’intervention humanitaire. Celui-ci est constitué des Nations-Unies, du mouvement de la Croix-Rouge / Croissant Rouge et d’autres organisations humanitaires non-gouvernementales expérimentées.

Comment le Canada répond-il aux crises humanitaires ?

Le Canada apporte de l’aide aux populations en situation de crise en fonction des besoins les plus urgents, comme l’eau potable, les services d’assainissement, les soins de santé d’urgence, la nourriture et les abris temporaires.

D’ordinaire, cela implique offrir un soutien financier aux partenaires humanitaires expérimentés qui font face à la crise. Ceci peut comprendre des agences des Nations Unies, le mouvement Croix Rouge/Croissant rouge ou des organisations non-gouvernementales. Cette aide est apportée en conformité avec les principes humanitaires d’humanisme, de neutralité, d’impartialité et d’indépendance opérationnelle.

Aide supplémentaire

En dernier recours, lorsqu’il y a un besoin évident d’aide supplémentaire au-delà de ce que peuvent fournir les partenaires humanitaires expérimentés, le Canada peut :

Date de modification: