Canada's Response to the Earthquakes in Nepal

Related Links

On April 25, 2015, a 7.8-magnitude earthquake struck near Kathmandu, Nepal and was followed by a series of large aftershocks, including a further 7.3-magnitude earthquake on May 12. The disaster, which affected over 8 million people, led to more than 9,000 deaths, and temporarily displaced 2.8 million people, prompted a significant response from the international community.

The Government of Canada took swift and multi-faceted action which resulted in critical humanitarian assistance delivered promptly to the affected population.

Humanitarian Assistance

The Government of Canada responded quickly to the crisis in Nepal. Within only five days following the April 25, 2015 earthquake, the Government of Canada had approved the allocation of $10 million in humanitarian assistance funding to address the most pressing needs of earthquake-affected people, including the deployment of the Canadian Red Cross Emergency Response Unit. Moreover, on April 26, 2015 the Government approved the deployment of Global Affairs Canada’s emergency stockpiles to the hardest-hit regions of Nepal.

In addition, on April 27, 2015, the Government of Canada launched the Nepal Earthquake Relief Fund to engage the Canadian public and support humanitarian, recovery and reconstruction efforts. The Government of Canada committed to allocate an equivalent amount in response to the crisis.

On April 25, 2016, Minister Bibeau announces total amount of Canada's support in response to Nepalese earthquake crisis.

The Government of Canada has provided a total of $27 million in humanitarian assistance funding in response to the crisis, which has been directed to experienced and trusted humanitarian partners, including UN humanitarian agencies such as the World Food Programme, the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO), Canadian and international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC).

Canada’s humanitarian assistance funding helped achieve important results in 14 of the most affected districts, including:

Canada’s support for the deployment of the Canadian Red Cross basic emergency health care unit in Dhunche (Rasuwa District) helped provide basic health care to 4,517 patients in the three months following the April 25, 2105 earthquake.

In addition, between May 5 and May 13, a total of four planes loads of supplies were deployed to Nepal to support the relief efforts of experienced humanitarian partners in meeting the needs of approximately 4,000 earthquake-affected families.

Disaster Assistance Response Team

On May 2, Canada deployed elements of the Canadian Forces’ Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) in Sindhupalchok District, one of the most severely affected regions. Canada’s DART provided significant support to relief efforts led by the Government of Nepal. DART personnel, along with civilian, political and humanitarian personnel from Global Affairs Canada, provided medical assistance, coordination and liaison support to local and international humanitarian partners.

The DART ceased its operations on May 29 and have since redeployed to Canada. By the end of its mission, the DART had:

Date Modified:

Réponse du Canada à la suite des tremblements de terre au Népal

Liens connexes

Le 25 avril 2015, un tremblement de terre de magnitude 7,8 est survenu près de Katmandou, au Népal, et il a été suivi d’une série de répliques sismiques d’envergure, notamment un autre tremblement de terre de magnitude 7,3 le 12 mai. La catastrophe, qui a touché plus de 8 millions de personnes, causé près de 9 000 décès et entraîné le déplacement temporaire de 2,8 millions de personnes, a résulté en  une intervention importante de la communauté internationale.

Le gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures rapides et diversifiées qui se sont soldées par une aide humanitaire essentielle offerte rapidement à la population touchée.

Aide humanitaire 

Le gouvernement du Canada a réagi rapidement à la crise au Népal. Dans les cinq jours qui ont suivi le tremblement de terre du 25 avril, le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé un financement de 10 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire pour répondre aux besoins les plus urgents des personnes touchées, notamment en déployant l’unité de soins de santé d’urgence de la Croix-Rouge canadienne. En outre, le 26 avril 2015, le gouvernement a approuvé le déploiement  de fournitures de secours de la réserve  d’urgence d’Affaires mondiales Canada dans les régions les plus durement touchées du Népal.

Par ailleurs, le 27 avril 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Fonds de secours aux victimes du séisme au Népal pour solliciter l’aide de la population canadienne et soutenir les efforts humanitaires, de rétablissement et de reconstruction. Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à verser un montant équivalent à celui versé par les Canadiens en réponse à la crise.

Le 25 avril 2016, la ministre Bibeau annonce le montant total de l'appui du Canada en réponse à la crise causée par les séismes au Népal.

Le gouvernement du Canada a versé un total de 27 millions de dollars pour financer l’aide humanitaire pour faire face à la crise, fonds qui ont été versés à des partenaires humanitaires de confiance et d’expérience, notamment des organismes humanitaires des Nations Unies comme le Programme alimentaire mondial, le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF), le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture, des organisations non-gouvernementales canadiennes et internationales et la Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge.

Le financement du Canada en aide humanitaire a permis d’obtenir des résultats importants dans 14 districts les plus durement touchés, entre autres :

L’aide apportée par le Canada en déployant l’unité de soins de santé d’urgence de la Croix-Rouge canadienne à Dhunche (district de Rasuwa) a permis de fournir des soins de santé essentiels à 4 517 patients dans les trois mois qui ont suivi le tremblement de terre du 25 avril 2015.

De plus, entre le 5 et le 13 mai, un total de quatre avions remplis de fournitures de secours ont été déployés au Népal pour soutenir les efforts de partenaires humanitaires chevronnés afin de répondre aux besoins de quelque 4 000 familles touchées par le tremblement de terre.

Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe

Le 2 mai, le Canada a déployé des membres de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) des Forces armées canadiennes dans le district de Sindhupalchok, l’une des régions les plus gravement touchées par le tremblement de terre. L’EICC du Canada a fourni un soutien important aux efforts de secours dirigés par le gouvernement népalais. Le personnel de l’EICC, accompagné de conseillers civils, politiques et humanitaires d’Affaires mondiales Canada, a fourni une aide médicale et un soutien en matière de coordination et de liaison aux partenaires humanitaires locaux et internationaux.

L’EICC a cessé ses activités le 29 mai et est revenue au. Pendant sa mission, l’EICC a :

Date de modification: