Canada and Jordan relations

Jordan is a valued partner for Canada.

Canada and Jordan share common interests and values in promoting regional stability and in enhancing responsible government. Our shared interests include:

Jordan was one of the first parties to the Ottawa Convention banning anti-personnel mines and with Canada’s support became the first country in the region to achieve mine-free status in 2012.

Canada and Jordan also share strong people to people links through a large Jordanian-Canadian community in Canada, Jordanian students studying in Canada, and Canadians living and working in Jordan.

Commerce and investment

Trade between Canada and Jordan is modest but increasing. In 2016, Canadian exports to Jordan were valued at $81.4 million and imports from Jordan were valued at $91.7 million. Canada’s top merchandise exports to Jordan were vehicles, pulses, electric machinery, wood, paper and paperboard. Our main merchandise import was knitted or woven apparel. The largest Canadian investment in Jordan is in Jordan’s potash mining sector.

The Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement, Canada’s first FTA with an Arab country, is a goods-only trade agreement that entered into force on October 1, 2012. The Canada-Jordan Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) entered into force in 2009. Canada has also signed with Jordan a convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion, an Air Transport Agreement, a Nuclear Cooperation Agreement and an Audiovisual Coproduction Treaty.

Canada’s commercial priorities for Jordan include:

Canada’s international assistance

Canada’s aid programs in Jordan focus on helping those most affected by the crises in Syria and Iraq, particularly the over 650,000 Syrian and thousands of other refugees living in Jordan and the communities that host them.

Canada also works on building local capacity to provide quality education for all girls and boys, to economically empower women and youth, and to involve communities in setting priorities and holding local governments accountable.

Another priority for Canada is ‎promoting security and stability through technical and non-lethal material support to security forces and law enforcement bodies to enhance Jordan's ability to prevent, detect and respond to national and regional security threats.

Resettlement of refugees

Every year, Canada works closely with Jordan to resettle people who flee to Jordan from their nearby war torn countries.  Jordan offers a safe environment from which families can be processed for resettlement in Canada.

Related links

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et la Jordanie

La Jordanie est un précieux partenaire pour le Canada.

Le Canada et la Jordanie ont des valeurs et des intérêts en commun relativement à la promotion de la stabilité régionale et à l’amélioration de la responsabilité gouvernementale. Les intérêts communs de ces deux pays comprennent :

La Jordanie a été l’une des premières nations parties à la Convention d’Ottawa sur l’interdiction des mines antipersonnel. Avec le soutien du Canada, elle est devenue, en 2012, le premier pays de la région déclaré exempt de mines.

De solides liens interpersonnels existent aussi entre les deux pays. Il y a une importante collectivité jordano-canadienne au Canada de même que des étudiants jordaniens, et des Canadiens vivent et travaillent en Jordanie.

Commerce et investissement

Les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et la Jordanie sont modestes, mais en hausse. En 2016, les exportations canadiennes se sont chiffrées à 81,4 millions de dollars et les importations à 91,7 millions de dollars. Les principales exportations du Canada en Jordanie sont les véhicules, les légumineuses à grain, les machines électriques, le bois, le papier et le carton, et les principales importations sont les vêtements tissés ou tricotés. Le plus important investissement canadien en Jordanie vise le secteur de l’extraction de la potasse.

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie, le premier accord en son genre conclu avec un pays arabe, porte uniquement sur le commerce des marchandises. Il est entré en vigueur le 1er octobre 2012. Quant à l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers Canada-Jordanie, il est entré en vigueur en 2009. Le Canada et la Jordanie ont aussi signé un accord en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l’évasion fiscale, une entente sur le transport aérien, un accord de coopération nucléaire et un traité de coproduction audiovisuelle.

Les priorités commerciales du Canada en Jordanie sont, notamment :

L’aide internationale du Canada

Les programmes d’aide du Canada en Jordanie sont axés sur le soutien des personnes les plus touchées par les crises en Syrie et en Iraq, particulièrement les quelque 650 000 Syriens et les milliers d’autres réfugiés vivant en Jordanie, et des collectivités qui les accueillent.

Le Canada tente aussi de renforcer les capacités locales pour fournir une éducation de qualité aux garçons et aux filles, favoriser l’autonomisation économique des femmes et des jeunes, et mobiliser les collectivités relativement à l’établissement de priorités et à la demande de compte aux gouvernements locaux.

Une autre des priorités canadiennes est de promouvoir la sécurité et la stabilité avec du matériel technique non létal dans le but de soutenir les forces de sécurité et les organismes d’application de la loi afin d’améliorer la capacité de la Jordanie à prévenir, à détecter et à réagir aux menaces à la sécurité régionale et nationale.

Réinstallation des réfugiés

Chaque année, le Canada collabore étroitement avec la Jordanie pour réinstaller les personnes qui quittent les pays voisins déchirés par la guerre pour aller se réfugier en Jordanie. Ce pays offre un environnement sûr où l’on peut traiter les demandes des familles à des fins de réinstallation au Canada.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: