Canada and Latvia relations

Latvia is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa. Latvia also has Honorary Consulates in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Quebec.

Bilateral Relations

Canada enjoys excellent relations with Latvia. Bilateral meetings and exchanges take place on a regular and ongoing basis. Canada did not recognize the Soviet annexation of the Baltic States and was the first G-7 country to recognize the restoration of Latvia's independence in 1991. The year 2016 marked the 25th anniversary of the re-establishment of diplomatic relations between Canada and Latvia. The presence of an active Latvian-Canadian community in Canada (estimated at about 28,000 individuals) underpins the countries’ bilateral relations. Canada and Latvia collaborate closely at the United Nations and in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).   

Military Cooperation

Canada was one of the first countries to ratify Latvia's accession to NATO in 2004, and Canada and Latvia have maintained positive and constructive defence relations since then.

Canada’s engagement in the Baltic region has been increasing in line with NATO’s strengthened assurance and deterrence measures in the region. The most visible element of this strengthened deterrence and defence posture is the establishment of NATO’s enhanced Forward Presence (eFP) in Central and Eastern Europe made up of multinational NATO battlegroups deployed in Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, and Poland. Canada is leading the deployment in Latvia as Framework Nation, and has contributed approximately 450 troops to the mission through Operation REASSURANCE. Other troop-contributing nations to the Latvian battlegroup include Albania, Italy, Poland, Slovenia, and Spain.

Bilateral military cooperation with Latvia has also been growing in recent years as a result of Canada’s contributions to NATO, through which the Canadian Armed Forces had a number of opportunities to train and exercise side-by-side with their Latvian counterparts. Canada contributed $1 million to the NATO Strategic Communications Centre of Excellence based in Riga, Latvia for the purpose of specialized programming. Canada also contributes Canadian Armed Forces personnel to the NATO Force Integration Unit in Latvia.

Trade and Investment

Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Latvia totaled more than $260.7 million at the end of 2016. For the same year, Canadian merchandise exports to Latvia reached $224.1 million. Exports included aircraft, machinery, precision and technical instruments, mineral fuels and oils (not crude) and electrical and electronic machinery and equipment. Canadian imports from Latvia reached $36.6 million in 2016, and included beverages and spirits, fertilizers, machinery, vegetable seeds and glassware.

Canada and the European Union signed the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) at the Canada-EU Summit on October 30, 2016. Provisional application of CETA started on September 21, 2017, at which time all economically significant parts of the Agreement entered into force. CETA is expected to generate new economic opportunities for both Canada and Latvia.

Latvia became the first EU Member State to ratify CETA, with the Latvian Parliament voting to approve the Agreement on February 23, 2017 in the presence of the Minister of International Trade, François-Phillipe Champagne, during his visit to Latvia.

Education Cooperation and Youth Mobility

Each year, Canada hosts a number of international students from Latvia. The International Experience Canada program functions under the Canada-Latvia Youth Mobility Agreement, and facilitates Canadian and Latvian youth (between the ages of 18 and 35) to obtain a work or residence permit to engage in short-term employment in the other country.

Entry Requirements

As of March 15, 2016, visa-exempt foreign nationals require an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to board their flight to Canada when transiting through Canada or coming to Canada for short-term stays to visit, do business, study or work. This includes Latvian citizens. Applying for an eTA is a simple, inexpensive ($7) online process that takes just minutes to complete. All travellers need are a valid passport, a credit or debit card, an email address and access to the Internet. Apply at Canada.ca/eTA.

Agreements

Canada and Latvia have several bilateral agreements and Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs), including: Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (2011); Youth Mobility Agreement (2007); Social Security Agreement (2006); Audio-Visual Co-Production Agreement (2003); and an Agreement on the Avoidance of Double Taxation (1995).

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et la Lettonie

La Lettonie est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. La Lettonie a aussi des consulats honoraires en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Ontario et au Québec.

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada entretient d’excellentes relations avec la Lettonie. Des rencontres et des échanges bilatéraux ont lieu régulièrement et de façon continue. Le Canada n’a pas reconnu l’annexion des États baltes par l’Union soviétique et a été le premier pays du G-7 à reconnaître le rétablissement de l’indépendance de la Lettonie, en 1991. L’année 2016 a marqué le 25e anniversaire du rétablissement des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Lettonie. La présence d’une communauté canado-lettonne active au Canada (environ 28 000 personnes) sous-tend les relations entre les deux pays. Le Canada et la Lettonie collaborent étroitement aux Nations Unies et à l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN).

Coopération militaire

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à ratifier l’adhésion de la Lettonie à l’OTAN en 2004. Depuis, le Canada et la Lettonie jouissent de relations harmonieuses et constructives dans le domaine de la défense.

Les mesures d’assurance et de dissuasion renforcées prises par l’OTAN dans la région intensifient l’engagement du Canada dans la région baltique. L’élément le plus visible de cette position de défense et de dissuasion renforcée est la mise sur pied du Groupement tactique de la présence avancée renforcée de l’OTAN en Europe centrale et de l’Est se composant de groupes tactiques multinationaux de l’OTAN déployés en Lettonie, Estonie, Lituanie et Pologne. Le Canada dirige le déploiement en Lettonie en tant que pays cadre et contribue à cette mission environ 450 militaires dans le cadre de l’Opération Reassurance. Les autres pays contribuant des contingents militaires au Groupement tactique en Lettonie sont l’Albanie, l’Italie, la Pologne, la Slovénie et l’Espagne.

La coopération militaire bilatérale avec la Lettonie s’est déjà accrue au cours des dernières années en raison des contributions du Canada à l’OTAN, grâce auxquelles les Forces armées canadiennes ont pu profiter de nombreuses occasions de s’entraîner et de s’exercer au côté de leurs homologues lettons. En outre, le Canada a versé un million de dollars canadiens auprès du Centre d’excellence pour la communication stratégique de l’OTAN, situé à Riga, en Lettonie aux fins de programmes spécialisés. Le Canada fournit également du personnel des Forces armées canadiennes à l’Unité d’intégration de la force de l’OTAN en Lettonie.

Commerce et investissement

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et la Lettonie se chiffrait à plus de 260,7 millions de dollars à la fin de 2016. Pour la même année, les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers la Lettonie ont atteint 224,1 millions de dollars. Les exportations comprenaient des aéronefs, de la machinerie, des instruments techniques et de précision, des huiles et des combustibles minéraux (pas de pétrole brut), ainsi que des machines et de l’équipement électriques et électroniques. Le Canada a importé pour 36,6 millions de dollars de la Lettonie en 2016, entre autres des boissons et spiritueux, de l’engrais, des machines, des semences potagères et des articles de verre.

Le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE) ont signé le 30 octobre 2016 l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG)lors du Sommet Canada-UE. L’application provisoire de l'AECG a débuté le 21 septembre 2017, date à laquelle sont entrés en vigueur tous les volets importants sur le plan économique de l’Accord. L’AECG devrait générer de nouvelles possibilités économiques pour le Canada et la Lettonie.

La Lettonie est devenue le premier État membre de l’UE à ratifier l’AECG, le Parlement letton ayant voté l’approbation de l’Accord le 23 février 2017, en présence du ministre du Commerce international, François-Philipe Champagne au cours de sa visite en Lettonie.

Coopération dans le secteur de l’éducation et mobilité des jeunes

Chaque année, le Canada accueille de nombreux étudiants internationaux provenant de Lettonie. Le programme Expérience internationale Canada relève de l’Accord sur la mobilité des jeunes Canada-Lettonie et facilite l’obtention par les jeunes Canadiens et Lettons (entre 18 et 35 ans) d’un permis de travail ou de résidence afin d’occuper un emploi à court terme dans le pays qu’ils visitent.

Conditions d’entrée

En date du 15 mars 2016, les étrangers dispensés de visa ont besoin d’une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) afin de prendre l’avion vers le Canada s’ils sont en transit au Canada ou viennent au Canada pour des séjours de courte durée pour visiter, faire des affaires, étudier ou travailler. Cette mesure touche les citoyens lettons. Demander une AVE en ligne est un processus simple et abordable (7 $CAN) qui s’effectue en ligne en quelques minutes. Les voyageurs n’ont besoin que d’un passeport valide, d’une carte de crédit ou de débit, d’une adresse de courriel et d’un accès à Internet. Pour soumettre une demande, visitez le Canada.ca/AVE.

Accords

Le Canada et la Lettonie ont signé plusieurs accords bilatéraux et protocoles d’entente, dont les suivants : l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (2011); l’Accord sur la mobilité des jeunes (2007); l’Accord sur la sécurité sociale (2006); l’Accord de coproduction audiovisuelle (2003); et l’Accord en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions (1995).

Date de modification: