Canada and Lebanon relations

Canada and Lebanon have strong ties. Canada’s Lebanese-Canadian community is the largest ethnic Arab group in Canada, and a large number of Canadians live in Lebanon. Our relationship is strengthened by close cultural ties and participation in La Francophonie.

Commerce and investment

Trade in merchandise between Lebanon and Canada totalled more than $142.1 million Canadian dollars in 2015. Canadian exports to Lebanon amounted to $114.1 million, and imports totalled around $28.0 million.

Canada’s top exports to Lebanon in 2015 were vehicles and parts, pharmaceutical products, aircraft and parts, vegetables, machinery, paper and wood. Lebanon’s main exports to Canada were preserved food, beverages, coffee and spices, olive oil and sugar and confectionary.

Canadian companies and institutions, either directly or through agents, franchises or partnerships, participate in numerous sectors of Lebanon’s economy:  information and communication technologies, consumer products, education, agrifood, building products, sustainable technologies, and life sciences.

A Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA) between Canada and Lebanon came into force on 1999, and an Air Transport Agreement was signed in 2000. In 2013, the Canadian Commercial Corporation and the Lebanese Ministry of Finance signed a Memorandum of Understanding to strengthen trade and investment cooperation between the two countries.

Canada’s international assistance

Canada’s aid programs in Lebanon focus on helping those most affected by the crises in Syria and Iraq, particularly the many thousands of refugees living in Lebanon and the communities that host them.

Canada also supports a variety of developmental initiatives in Lebanon, including funding for the National Poverty Targeting Program and the Lebanese education system.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) supports projects proposed and implemented by local civil society organizations in Lebanon. In 2014-15 the CFLI funded initiatives that work to protect vulnerable groups and advocate for human rights, including preventing sex and gender-based violence and early and forced marriage.

Special Tribunal for Lebanon

Under United Nations Security Council Resolution 1757, the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) was established at the Hague to investigate the 2005 assassination of former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri and other victims. Canada has contributed more than $6.5 million to the STL, including secondments of Canadian police officers. The STL’s first two prosecutors were Canadians, and Canada is the vice-chair of the STL Management Committee.

Resettlement of refugees        

Every year, Canada works closely with Lebanon to resettle people who flee to Lebanon from their nearby war torn countries. Lebanon offers a safe environment from which families can be processed for resettlement in Canada.

Related links

Date Modified:

Les relations entre le Canada et le Liban

Les liens entre le Canada et le Liban sont solides. La communauté libano-canadienne est le plus important groupe ethnique arabe au Canada, et un grand nombre de Canadiens vivent au Liban. Nos relations sont renforcées par des liens culturels étroits et notre participation commune à l’Organisation internationale de la francophonie.

Commerce et investissements

Le commerce de marchandises entre le Liban et le Canada a totalisé 142,1 millions de dollars canadiens en 2015. Les exportations canadiennes vers le Liban totalisaient environ 114,1 millions de dollars, et les importations s’élevaient à 28,0 millions de dollars.

En 2015, les plus importantes exportations canadiennes au Liban étaient des véhicules et des pièces automobiles, des produits pharmaceutiques, des aéronefs et des pièces d’aéronef, des légumes, de la machinerie, du papier et du bois. Les exportations principales du Liban vers le Canada étaient des aliments en conserve, des boissons, du café, des épices, de l’huile d’olive, du sucre et des produits de confiserie.

Les entreprises et les institutions canadiennes, que ce soit directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'agents, de représentants, de franchises ou de partenariats, sont présentes dans de nombreux secteurs de l’économie libanaise : la technologie de l'information et des communications, les produits de consommation, l'éducation, l'agro-alimentaire, les matériaux de construction, les technologies durables et sciences de la vie.

Un accord sur la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre le Canada et le Liban est entré en vigueur en 1999, et un accord de transport aérien a été signé en 2000. En 2013, la Corporation commerciale canadienne et le ministère libanais des Finances ont signé un protocole d'entente pour renforcer la coopération commerciale et les investissements entre les deux pays.

Aide internationale canadienne

Les programmes canadiens d’aide au Liban se concentrent sur les personnes le plus touchées par les conflits en Irak et en Syrie, notamment les milliers de réfugiés vivant au Liban et les communautés qui les accueillent.

Le Canada soutient diverses initiatives de développement au Liban, notamment le financement du Programme national de ciblage de la pauvreté et du système éducatif libanais.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) vise à appuyer des projets proposés et mis en œuvre par des organisations de la société civile au Liban. En 2014-2015, le FCIL a financé des enjeux consacrés à la protection de groupes vulnérables et à la sensibilisation aux droits de la personne, y comprennent prévenir les violences sexuelles et basées sur le genre et les mariages précoces.

Tribunal spécial pour le Liban 

Selon la Résolution 1757 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le Tribunal spécial pour le Liban (TSL) a été établi à La Haye afin d’enquêter sur l’assassinat de l’ancien Premier ministre Rafiq Hariri en 2005 et d’autres victimes. Le Canada a contribué plus de 6,5 millions de dollars au TSL ainsi que des détachements de policiers. Les deux premiers procureurs du TSL étaient canadiens et le Canada assure la vice-présidence du Comité de gestion du TSL.

Réinstallation de réfugiés

Chaque année, le Canada collabore avec le Liban pour réinstaller les gens qui fuient les pays ravagés par la guerre vers le Liban. Le Liban offre un climat de sécurité où les familles peuvent être traitées en vue d’une réinstallation au Canada.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: