Canada is investing $840 million over the next three years to support the basic needs of those hardest hit by the conflicts, including food, shelter, healthcare, water, sanitation and hygiene, as well as protection and emergency education.

Helping those most affected

To help address the protracted and tragic crises in the region, Canada is focusing on meeting the basic needs of those most impacted by the conflicts in Iraq and Syria, including refugees who have fled to neighbouring countries. We also work with international partners to build local capacity in communities and countries hosting large numbers of refugees, such as Lebanon and Jordan. Activities include helping partners: provide education, healthcare and sanitation; maintain and repair infrastructure; promote employment and economic growth; and foster good governance.

Canada is working with experienced Canadian, local and international partners to:

Depending on local circumstances, programming in Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq and Syria helps address:

On July 20, 2016, Canada co-hosted the Pledging Conference in Support of Iraq in Washington, D.C. During the conference, Minister Dion announced Canada’s pledge of $158 million over three years.

Diplomatic engagement

The solution to the crises in the region must be, first and foremost, political.  Another priority of Canada’s approach is increasing its diplomatic role in helping to find a political solution to the crisis in Syria, and assisting the efforts of the Iraqi government to foster reconciliation.

An increased presence on the ground in Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon will allow Canada to engage more effectively with local and international partners and actively contribute to finding solutions to the issues facing these countries and the region.

Date Modified:

Le Canada investira 840 millions de dollars d'aide humanitaire au cours des trois prochaines années pour répondre aux besoins de base des personnes les plus durement touchées par les conflits, dont des vivres, des abris, des soins de santé, de l'eau, des services d'assainissement et d'hygiène, une protection et des services d'éducation pour les situations d'urgence.

Aider les personnes les plus touchées

La situation humanitaire qui prévaut actuellement en Syrie, en Irak et dans la région est catastrophique. Pour aider les plus vulnérables, le Canada s’emploie à répondre aux besoins de base des personnes les plus durement touchées par les conflits en Irak et en Syrie, dont les réfugiés qui ont fui les pays voisins. Nous travaillons également avec nos partenaires internationaux pour renforcer la capacité locale dans les communautés et les pays qui accueillent un grand nombre de réfugiés. Entre autres activités, nous aidons les partenaires à offrir des services d’éducation, de santé et d’assainissement, à entretenir et à réparer les infrastructures, à promouvoir l’emploi et la croissance économique et à favoriser la bonne gouvernance.

Le Canada travaille avec des partenaires canadiens, locaux et internationaux d’expérience pour :

Selon les circonstances locales, les programmes menés en Jordanie, au Liban, en Irak et en Syrie aident à :

Le 20 juillet 2016, le Canada a coorganisé la Conférence des donateurs à l’appui de l’Irak à Washington. Pendant la conférence, le ministre Dion a annoncé l’engagement du Canada à verser 158 millions de dollars sur trois ans.

Action diplomatique

La résolution des crises dans la région doit d’abord et avant tout se faire par des moyens politiques. La nouvelle approche du Canada a également comme priorité d’accroître le rôle diplomatique du Canada pour aider à trouver une solution politique à la crise en Syrie et aider le gouvernement irakien à favoriser la réconciliation.

Grâce à la plus grande présence sur le terrain en Irak, en Jordanie et au Liban, le Canada peut collaborer plus efficacement avec ses partenaires locaux et internationaux et contribue activement à trouver des solutions aux problèmes que vivent ces pays et la région.

Date de modification: