The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, along with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Honourable Stéphane Dion (right), the Minister of National Defence, the Honourable Harjit S. Sajjan (furthest left), and the Minister of International Development and La Francophonie, the Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau (left), make an important announcement in Ottawa.

Canada’s response to Middle East crises and violent extremism

Canada remains deeply committed to responding to the needs of conflict-affected people in Iraq, Syria, Jordan and Lebanon and remains engaged in the fight against Daesh. Our plan is comprehensive, integrated, and sustained involving the pursuit of military, diplomatic, stabilization, and, separately, humanitarian and development lines of effort to invest in all aspects of a durable solution.

Prime Minister sets new course to address crises in Iraq and Syria and impacts on the region

“Our new policy in Iraq, Syria and the surrounding region reflects what Canada is all about: defending our interests alongside our allies, and working constructively with local partners to build real solutions that will last. We will work with allies to defeat ISIL and the terrorist threat it represents. At the same time, we will help address the needs of millions of vulnerable people while helping lay the foundations for improved governance, economic growth and longer-term stability.”

The Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Canada is focused on meeting the basic needs of those most impacted by the conflicts in Iraq and Syria

Helping those most affected

Canada is a top tier humanitarian donor to Iraq and Syria and has contributed generously to international efforts to aid the people in the region.

Canada will increase its diplomatic role in helping to find a political solution tot he crisis in Syria.

Promoting security and stability

Canada is delivering stabilization and development assistance in Iraq and the region, both to address short-term needs during the crisis and to support resiliency, stability and prosperity over the long term.

Canada has joined an international coalition to degrade and disrupt ISIL

Operation IMPACT

Operation IMPACT is the Canadian Armed Forces' (CAF) support to the Middle East Stabilization Force (MESF) – the multinational coalition against Daesh in the Republic of Iraq.

Global Coalition

The Global Coalition against Daesh

The Global Coalition against Daesh is unique in its membership, scope and commitment. The Coalition’s 66 members, which includes Canada, are committed to tackling Daesh on all fronts, to dismantling its networks and countering its global ambitions.

A meeting of the International Syria Support Group

International Syria Support Group

The ISSG was created in October 2015 to facilitate discussions and negotiations at the foreign minister level, to find a diplomatic solution to the conflict in Syria. The invitation to join the ISSG is a clear sign that Canada is making a difference in the region.

UN logo

Daesh atrocities in Iraq and Syria

Canada calls on United Nations Security Council (UNSC) to establish a mechanism to investigate reports of violations of international law by Daesh in Iraq and Syria.

Date Modified:

Le premier ministre, Justin Trudeau, ainsi que le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Stéphane Dion (à droite), le ministre de la Défense nationale, l’honorable Harjit S. Sajjan (à l’extrême gauche), et la ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie, l’honorable Marie-Claude Bibeau (à gauche), font une annonce importante à Ottawa.

La réponse du Canada aux crises du Moyen-Orient et à l'extrémisme violent

Le Canada demeure profondément engagé à répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées par le conflit en Iraq, en Syrie, en Jordanie et au Liban et demeure engagé dans la lutte contre l'EIIL/ Daesh. Notre plan est complet, intégré, durable et envisage des efforts militaires, diplomatiques, de stabilisation, et, séparément, des efforts humanitaires et de développement afin d'investir dans tous les aspects d'une solution durable.

Le premier ministre établit les nouvelles orientations pour faire face aux crises en Iraq et en Syrie et atténuer les répercussions sur la région

« Notre nouvelle politique en Iraq, en Syrie et dans la région environnante reflète les principes du Canada : la défense de nos intérêts aux côtés de nos alliés et un travail constructif auprès de nos partenaires locaux pour trouver de vraies solutions durables. Nous travaillerons avec nos alliés pour vaincre l’EIIL et la menace terroriste qu’il représente. Au même moment, nous aiderons à répondre aux besoins de millions de personnes vulnérables tout en aidant à établir les fondements d’une meilleure gouvernance, de la croissance économique et de la stabilité à long terme. »

Le très hon. Justin Trudeau, Premier ministre du Canada

Le Canada s'emploie à répondre aux besoins de base des personnes les plus durement touchées par les conflits en Iraq et en Syrie.

Aider les personnes les plus touchées

Le Canada figure parmi les principaux donateurs humanitaires en Iraq et en Syrie, et a contribué généreusement aux efforts internationaux pour venir en aide à la population de la région.

Le Canada vise à accroître ses efforts diplomatiques dans le but d'aider à trouver une solution politique à la crise en Syrie.

Promouvoir la sécurité et la stabilité

Le Canada contribue à la stabilisation et au développement en Iraq et dans la région, à la fois pour répondre aux besoins à court terme, pendant la crise, et pour soutenir la résilience, la stabilité et la prospérité à long terme.

Le Canada s'est joint à une coalition internationale afin d'affaiblir et de déstabiliser l'EIIL.

Opération IMPACT

L’opération Impact constitue la contribution des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) à la Force de stabilisation au Moyen-Orient (FSMO), soit la coalition multinationale contre l’EIIL en République d’Iraq.

Coalition mondiale

La Coalition mondiale contre Daesh

La Coalition mondiale contre Daesh est unique de par ses membres, son envergure et son engagement. Les 66 membres de la Coalition, dont le Canada est membre, sont déterminés à attaquer Daesh sur tous les fronts, à démanteler ses réseaux et à combattre ses ambitions au niveau mondial.

Une réunion du Groupe international de soutien à la Syrie

Groupe international de soutien à la Syrie

Le GISS a été créé en octobre 2015 pour faciliter les discussions et les négociations, entre les ministres des Affaires étrangères, en vue de trouver une solution diplomatique au conflit en Syrie. L’invitation à se joindre au GISS constitue un signe clair que le Canada contribue à changer les choses dans la région.

Logo de l'ONU

Atrocités commises par l’EIIL en Iraq et en Syrie

Le Canada demande au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies d’établir un mécanisme permettant d’enquêter sur les allégations de violations du droit international par le soi-disant État islamique en Iraq et au Levant (EIIL) en Iraq et en Syrie.

Date de modification: